All member reviews for The Wolf of Wall Street

Common Sense Media says

Intoxicating rise-and-fall story is full of sex and drugs.

Users say

(out of 123 reviews)
age 16+
Review this title!
Parent of a 3 year old Written byregassert6 January 17, 2014

Disappointing.

I always appreciated Roger Ebert's ability to view a film for its intended purpose and audience and then review it accordingly. So here we go: this film is sublimely acted, directed and shot. It's a quick feeling 3 hours of jokes, sex, drugs and near slapstick antics. It was entertaining and I laughed a lot. However, the story is empty. It's Scarface meets Wall Street, however, the bad guy wins in the end and you never see any consequences of the deeds. While Scorcese has defended the film's lack of ANY acknowledgement of the victims of the stock frauds, I think it's an awful omission. This film was all glamour and gloss with no substance. I can't believe that Ben Younger did more with this idea in Boiler Room than an all time great did with it in "Wolf." Stratton Oakmont ruined people's lives. Making it into a comedy, even a dark comedy, is just wrong. You wouldn't have made "Flight 93" into a musical; some subjects tone is not up for debate. I was disappointed in Martin Scorcese.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byMerlinFan December 30, 2013

Incredible Acting, but Most Profane Thing I've Ever Seen

This movie was full of nonstop, abusive drug use. There were many full frontal nudity shots of women, and intense, extensive sex scenes (one seen was a room full of gay men having all kinds of sex). The profanity was through the roof; this movie won 5th place of movies to use the most F words, according to Wikipedia. I'm 16, and the nudity bothered me most, the drug use bothered my dad most. But overall, the movie was well made, HILARIOUS!!!!, and the most incredible acting job I've seen DiCaprio do. Worth the watch if you're prepared for lots of nudity, but definitely not for kids. Someone brought their 5 year old when I saw it! I can't believe how irresponsible some parents are...
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byjacobburns December 29, 2013

Wow.

Incredible movie, but with incredible amounts of sex, cocaine, and language. However, it is truly captivating and hilarious, with memorable scenes and insanely good performances from the whole cast, particularly DiCaprio, Hill, and McConaughey. It's fresh and unexpected and a truthful exploitation of the modern corruption of Wall Street.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent Written byjosh fernandez January 16, 2014

best film out for 2013 a must see

the wolf of wall street is a very funny black comedy.Its not for kids it has extensive amounts of graphic nudity including multiple orgies strong graphic sex scenes graphic nudity nonstop swearing .the film is defintely not for kdis but its a scorsese film depicting what happened to jordon belfort and i think its a msut see film its great i personally gave it a 10 but its for the adults
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byesoccer7 January 1, 2014

Great film, but one of the few that are really not for kids.

As a parent you might be wondering, my 13-16 year old child has seen a lot of R rated movies and he is mature. Can he see this? This time, the answer is no. Coming from a 15 year old who thinks that kids should be allowed to watch R rated movies, this movie was a bit to extreme. There was one thing that really stood out for me. That was the drug use. Yes there was tons of sex and swearing but kids hear swearing everywhere and sex is just sex it wont hurt anyone. the drugs are over the top. They are almost encouraged. In almost every scene characters are snorting cocaine or taking some sort of drug. The characters show no side effects of these drugs. The movie makes the drugs look cool and that they will make you hyper. I kinda started to think that taking the drugs looked cool and fun but then my conscience reminded me that I can't do drugs. For teenagers its best that they don't see this movie. Besides all that, the movie is pretty good. Its funny and crazy.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byJamecs January 20, 2014

Great Movie

This was a great movie. I am 15 and my parents were reluctant with letting me watch this movie because they read the reviews that said there was a lot of sex. They did let me and a group of my friends watch it and it turned out to be a great movie. I don't understand where all these people are coming from saying that it is shameless and an awful movie, I loved it. It was hilarious and a great movie to spend money on. There was some sex and nudity, but the film was so long, you don't even realize there is that much. The movie is three hours long, there is one big scene with nudity, but other than that, there is just some scattered here and there. If your child is mature, 14 and up is probably fine. If I was a parent, I would be more concerned with the drug use than the sex, there was a lot of drug use, that in the beginning portrayed it (the drugs) as good things that are fun, but towards the end, show how they ruin the characters life. All in all, a fantastic movie that you should go see.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13 year old Written bynixter933 January 2, 2014

Great movie, but DO NOT take the kids!

This is a great movie, but should be NC-35! Full of nudity, sex and drugs. It is extremely entertaining, though, and great performances by the entire cast. Best movie I saw in 2013!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byBestPicture1996 December 29, 2013

What's wrong with debauchery?

This is the most profane movie I've ever seen, with over 500 uses of the f-word! It's astonishing, and that alone gives you a hint of what's to come in this epic, bananas true-ish story of Jordan Belfort. DiCaprio is mesmerizing as always, but Hill really shone through in this picture as his second in command. I won't spoil the fun by telling you all of Belfort's shenanigans, but I will say it involves dwarf dartboards, financial corruption, fake teeth, Quaaludes and "Scarface"-envying amounts of cocaine. This is an adults only joyride, and even though it's bloated, the time (for the most part) flies.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byStevie111 December 29, 2013

Fantastic

Terrific acting and story, definitely has my vote for best picture. Though, it does have frequent and graphic drug use, language, sex and nudity, including a brief glimpse of Jonah Hill's penis. Very entertaining though and a great overall movie
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 and 10 year old Written byDevanBrie June 8, 2014

They Just Went Too Far

This was entertaining at times but too crude, to lewd, I felt embarassed for them. This movie was a hot mess. It makes you want to shower and repent for watching it once it's over.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bySakka February 1, 2014

Another Scorsese masterpiece!

This movie is my favorite movie of 2013. But parents should know that it are a lot of sex, drugs and swearing.
Parent Written byJGP6 January 9, 2014

Wolf on Wall Street will leave you Stunned

How this movie got a R rating I do t know. Very accurate description of this film here.
Parent Written byJenijumpo123654 April 5, 2014

I can't believe this garbage/scum/trash/filth/devilish/sin-filled-scum-ever got made!

I was watching TV and a trailer came on about this film and I thought: "Oh, I'd like to see this one"! When it was in theaters me and my friend went to see it. I was so embarrassed and shocked at what I saw I think I went half crazy! ABSOLUTELY the filthiest filthiest filthiest filthiest filthiest filthiest of movies ever!!!! You can't call this one a movie! I marched my shoes out of that theater within about thirty minutes and demanded my money back I am so thankful I didn't let my kids see it! If you other parents even get the idea this movie would have even a little good about it you're 1000000% WRONG!!! This ABSOLUTE FILTH! in my mind is rated XXX And is the #1 worst worst worst worst worst worst FILM EVER! do not see this one or waste your time! 3 hours could be spent doing a film that contains even a little less VULGAR/FILTHY/SCUMMY/TRASHY/ language/nudity/sex/gore/violence/and all-around Garbage!!!!! A message to parents/children/adults/and anyone else who get the idea in his/her head they want to see FILTH! Don't let your kids see it, and don't watch it yourself! don't waste 3 hours or $20 and even 30 seconds seeing the trailer!!! I you want to see this total scum you'd better see a psychiatrist or the surgeon general !!!! Not for anybody under 80! New rating NGU80 (no grown-up under 80) THANK YOU!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byThevelvetgambler February 16, 2014

excellent...if you know how life works

Even though I'm only 13, I loved it, and it's one of the movies I will remember, and that I will watch again, regardless of what's in it. It's actually a true story, and I believe it's something good to know about the "old" Wall Street. I mean, what will no longer happen (thankfully). I have to admit that it goes way overboard in terms of strong language and graphic content. And YES, it may shock kids my age or older, or even adults. So if you know you won't appreciate it or you won't handle it, don't go and watch it; It's completely understandable. However, I have my own philosophy of things and I believe that to really know how things happened, you have to experience them yourself. Indeed, Jordan was a jerk, if not a criminal. Indeed, he threw stripper parties every week and let cocaine get the best of him...but that's how his world was. If it happened, let's not deny it, shan't we? Overall, an excellent movie with memorable scenes. Scorcese made something pitiful into something funny.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byJavier Noyola February 9, 2014

disappointing

this movie has a great cast but, it's to long and there was to much sex and drugs that it gets boring of how much there is.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written byMovies4LifeYOLO February 4, 2014

Every kid is different

Good movie, i'm just a teen but i really liked it, alot of my friends disliked it but everyone's different.. My parents let me watch movies like The Wolf of Wall Street because they know i can understand it.. Alot of nudity and swearing didint really effect me i found the movie really fun. If you dont mind Nudity/Swearing go see it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byHoly Nun July 9, 2016

A masterpiece.

An extremely intelligently written movie with great acting. If you don't know, this film is about a group of young men exploiting people, taking alot of hard drugs and having sex with a lot of girls. It's hallarious, tense, and up there with the Tarantino's. Definitely for the older teens, as some scenes *MAY FIND THIS OFFENSIVE* include the main character taking drugs off women, walking in on a group of men having sex, completing sexual actions while driving, taking tonnes apon tonnes of cocaine and extacy, and money laundering. It may have gone a bit far, but I think this movies was made to push boundaries.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byJorgen July 9, 2014

Surprisingly explicit

This movie was great, but it was very tideous towards the end. It has over 1000 f-words, lots of sex and drugs. Not for people below 16 years. I watched it when I was 13, which i maybe shouldn't have done. Nevertheless, never watch this with your children, and don't let anyone under 16 watch it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byChe_likes_you July 5, 2014

Good movie for under 18s

The Wolf of Wall Street is very extreme in terms of drug use and nudity. But the story is great and listening to DiCaprio's voice narrate the story makes you feel as tho he's really talking to you and wants "you" to know what it's like. This movie is great for teenagers who love a bit of controversy added to their movies. Religious families probably wouldn't agree with this movie.
Teen, 13 years old Written byJohn Haugland April 15, 2014

Scorsese Delivers

This is not a bad movie. Martin Scorsese delivers a hilarious sex-filled romp, surely to entice anybody with eyes and ears. Children, do not watch this movie with your parents. Parents, do everything in your power to make sure your children never watch this movie. The movie is artsy, hilarious, completely vulgar, and insanely inappropriate. I had the misfortune to watch the first three minutes in theaters with my mother before she pulled me out angrily after Leonardo DiCaprio snorted cocaine out of a prostitutes anus. I recently watched it on a babysitting job (after the kids had gone to bed) and loved it. Leo stepped into uncharted territory with this one. Softcore pornography is one of the better ways to describe it. That said, it almost tops the list of my favorite movies due to one thing: delivery. In one scene, he is getting hot wax dripped on his back and getting sexually tortured my a dominatrix, and in subsequent scenes he is a caring father and worthy friend. The funny thing is, it focuses on sex and drugs so much, it has no time for violence or stock market mumbo-jumbo. Definitely a picture to watch before you die. Or read the book. I hear it's good too.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages