All member reviews for This Is Spinal Tap

Common Sense Media says

Hilarious, ribald, drug-filled rock send-up.

Users say

(out of 12 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Adult Written byMusicman23 April 9, 2008

A Great spoof of the Rock-n-Roll Life. I highly reccommend it!

Awesome movie! Most of the songs have sexual innuendo, but it is all stuff that you would only get if you are old enough to know about it. If you have a mature 13 year old its fine, but anyone younger probably shouldn't see this movie.
Teen, 16 years old Written bySynchronicity May 27, 2010

Takes the essen?ce of heavy metal and turns it up to eleven

Tufnel, St. Hubbins, and Smalls are some of the best people heavy metal has seen. Unfortunately...they're not real. This is one of the best mock-rockumentaries ever made. Of course, it's probably the only one. Spinal Tap - scratch that, Spin?al Tap - is England's loudest band, and you get to learn all about them in this amazing, amazing movie. When it was described that one of the drummers died from choking on someone else's vomit (as opposed to his own), I laughed until I cried. There are certainly many other parts in this film that are laugh-out-loud hilarity, including a famous scene involving a replica of Stonehenge used as a stage prop. Not to mention, it's fairly mild for an R-rated film. The songs have lots of innuendo, such as "Big Bottom", "Hell Hole" and "Sex Farm" (which [SPOILER ALERT] is a big hit in Japan). One of the band members is stopped by airport security for having a foil-wrapped pickle down his tight pants. Yeah, that's totally not suggestive. However, in a world where the sexual hijinks of, say, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen can get a PG-13, this is quite tame. The only major reason Spin?al Tap is rated R is because of the bad language. There are about 30 f-bombs throughout the film, and about half of them are used in an argument in a recording studio. Overall, if you want to be cheered up, This Is Spin?al Tap will do the job. Anyone over 12 could see this movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old September 29, 2011

Hilarious Film about life in a band

Make sure to know your child. some may not enjoy this film, but some, like me, will think its great.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 3, 6, and 8 year old Written byLiveYourLife March 27, 2012

It will give you a good laugh.

One of the best movies i ever saw,but i wouldn't double dog dare let my kids see it.Too much sex,and swearing.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byFILMCRITIC500 December 25, 2012

funny mockumentary follows fake band, has profanity

a hilarious, explicit, but truly funny fake documentary about a fake band has a lot of humor, but is too profane for little rock fans. there is no violence at all, except for a man breaking things with a cricket bat. but there is lots of F words and sexual innuendo in their songs. the members also smoke a bit.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byStevie111 July 17, 2015

Funny Music Comedy

This Funny Movie abut music has some dirty jokes and stronger sexual references, but is fairly tame for an R rated movie. It is a light, silly movie. I would definitely recommend this movie to music and rock and roll fans who want to laugh. Most teens should be just fine with this, as well as a mature 11-12 year old.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byBestPicture1996 June 22, 2015

Hilarious and groundbreaking

Try to avoid reading too much into this movie. I've had a lot of its gags spoiled for me, so try to see it (at 15) with a fresh face. Like mockumentaries that would follow, what makes "Spinal Tap" work so well is the commitment the "band" makes. The accents, the gum chewing, the ego trips. And they're all so dumb with just idiotic filthy lyrics, and everyone gets to be in on the joke. It's a fast trip, made me laugh fairly often, and even if it is a little predictable the excellent humor it presents overshadows it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byTripleL June 19, 2015

Goofy but harmless

There really was nothing inappropriate in this film other than one scene where the F-word is repeated countless times. There is barely any reference to sex or drugs and mainly it's just a very silly 80s rock comedy.
Teen, 13 years old Written bymisumi June 13, 2015

this is so funny!

This movie is really funny but it has a lot of bad language in it. There is no sex or violence.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old March 11, 2014

Lots Of Smoking, Language, and Sexual Innuendo

Amazing movie, and very hilarious. Sadly, there is they say the "f-word" at least 10 times which gives it the "R" rating. Also a lot of sexual innuendo in the lyrics of "Spinal Tap's" songs. Also, most of the characters smoke cigarettes. But, some kids can handle this and I think it deserves a "PG-13" rating.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byChambear May 6, 2009
This movie showing the funny side of heavy metal is first class! You get to know Nigel Tufnel, David St. Hubbins, and Derek Smalls, and every drummer that has lived and died for Spinal Tap also including all of Nigel Tufnel's favorite guitars. The only bad thing about this movie is the 23 f words, but they are short and infrequent usually execpt for a scene where they try to record in a studio and it has alot of f words so you can skip it. But all in all a hilarious movie from first to last for all 12 and up!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bywookiepie93 April 9, 2008

I love these types of movies!

The big problem in this movie is the language. There is a lot of cursing. However, if you are into music I recommend you see this. It is funny.