All member reviews for This Is the End

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Language, drugs, death in very funny doomsday movie.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 37 reviews)
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent Written bymovie lover252423 June 15, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Very good!

very funny! this would be for teens 13+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bySean Broucek June 11, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Hilarious, clever, violent, crude, and star-studded flick too mature for teens.

Parents, your kids and teens will be eager to watch this new star-studded violent comedy from the director of "Pineapple Express", but the sexual content and violence and language makes it best for adults. Violence is comical, but strong. There are explosions, many comedic deaths, bloody images, people possessed by demons, stabbings, crushed bones, characters impaled by large objects including telephone poles and flying debris, a scene where a man's head is ripped off and bloody spills all over the floor, fighting, arguments, and Emma Watson killing fellow actors for beer and cereal. The plot is not circled around sex, but has plently of it. There are references to rape, incest, sexual intercourse, anal and oral sex, constant sex talk, graphic nudity (female genitals, male bare bottoms, female bare breasts, nipples), and a porn magazine is briefly shown. There is casual drinking and drug use, but there are some intense and crude drug references. Violence and sex in this movie may be strong, bu the language is the worst. Includes s--t, p---y, c--t, c--k (and the related c--ksucker), c--t, b-tch, a--hole, t-ts, d--k, b-stard, and 171 uses of f--k (the most of any film made in 2013 so far). In the end, this clever, crude, comedic, violent movie is entertaining and brilliant, but way too mature for teens and kids. Adults only. Rated R For Some Strong Bloody Violence, Language Throughout, Crude Material & Sexuaity, Graphic Nudity & Drug And Alcohol Use.
Kid, 12 years old June 12, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great Hilarious Movie. Most Parents Would Probably Not Want Their Kid To See

This Is The End was laugh out loud hilarious! I loved it! It was entertaining and a fun ride. It was though VERY innappropiate. I mean it was nothing that I hadn't already learned from school. It didn't bother me. But you should know you're child before taking them to see this movie.There is TONS of drugs, like every drug you could think of they smoke or have in that movie. They're is pretty much only one very sexual scene in the beginning where two girls are in the bathroom with a guy where they show the guy's butt. But throughout the movie a porn magazine is shown briefly. Penises on fake monsters are shown but no human ones. Breasts and nipples are briefly shown. LANGUAGE!!! Tons! Every single cuss word you can think of is said at least once. And the F word/F bomb is used over 100 times in different ways, and i'm not exaggerating! Tons of violence and some scary scenes, a scene where a mans head gets chopped off and squirts blood, a scene where a man gets eaten by cannibals, a scene where a man has a exorcism. But in the end there is some positive messages. I really didn't mind anything in the movie. It was definetly not the worst movie I'd ever seen. I have already been exposed to everything in the movie before. I already knew about everything that happened, so it wasn't too innappropiate for me and I'm 12. But PAUSE! Know you're child! Many parents will definetly not want their child to see this movie, thinking that they don't want their kids to be exposed to these kinds of things, but then again I'm pretty sure ALOT of kids have already been exposed to things in this movie but they're parents don't know it... I saw this movie with my friend at the movies, and not with an adult. If I went into the theatre with my parents they definetly wouldn't let me finish the movie...but I already knew and learned about everything shown in the movie. Overall it was a really funny and really great film!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byArtmom71 July 3, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Embarrassing to watch

My husband and I are dumber for having watched this all the way through. This movie is stupid and offensive. Not much more to say, other than please don't waste your money or even free redbox rental on this junk. And don't let it anywhere near your children.
Parent Written bystaceydfla July 1, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Obscene and idiotic

Two unrelenting hours of jokes about pot, penises and poo. I can't even begin to count how many times the "f" word was uttered. It was so foul-mouthed, obscene and idiotic I feel like my brain was violated. I wish I had walked out. If this is what qualifies as a funny movie in America these days, that's a tragedy.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old November 29, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

DONT TAKE YOUR KIDS, MY DAD LEARNED THAT THE HARD WAY.

NO JUST NO THIS IS EXTREMLY INAPPORPITe. My mom suggested this movie so my dad and I saw it and it was so inapporpite and not funny. We didn't laugh once. I wish I could give this film no stars but I have to give it at least one.
Teen, 13 years old Written byRarui July 3, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Funny for adults, funny for children, but no one under 13!

I'm 13 years old, and me and my friend went to see this movie today. I personally LOVED it. My friend did too. Though, I would not think a good parent should let their kid see this unless you know you're child is fine with the following things. There is some nudity, just two penises and two bare butts (male). Language? If you are fine with your kid hearing every curse word known to man, and trust your kid won't use it, go ahead. 5 minutes in, drugs are mentioned. Many kids know about weed, but if you don't trust your kids with drugs and don't want them to think it's good, don't let them see it. Violence is there, and there's loads of it, but it's in a funny way and if you're not letting your kids see it just because of violence, you are sheltering them. Most of this crap is in movies, TV shows, and video games. There were references to masturbation, sex, and drugs. Don't bring your kid just because they know part of the cast, which they will. If your kid is a mature and can handle it, go ahead, but do not bring them if you cannot trust them with these kinds of things. Don't bring someone who is not in middle school. Otherwise, go ahead!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byNo Name, for real. March 26, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Meh.

usually a movie like this I wouldn't even consider going to. But come on, when its got such a funny ensemble of people in it I had too. Well i have mixed feelings, first off there are defiantly some funny scenes. Although this movie is so not for kids. There is a lot of sex jokes and swearing and nudity that make it all but inappropriate. I like Seth Rogen, and I his and Evan's movie, its really funny and some parts. But also really pushing it most of the time, like the whole Chaning Tatum thing? Come on, really? Overall its good, but be warned of what your going into, cause your gonna come out a tad bit traumatized if you don't know. (Sighs...) Chaning Tatum? Really?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13 and 15 year old Written byIsenanao January 2, 2014
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

NOT for kids!

I like some of Seth Rogans work but I do not know how the reviewer could give this movie 4 stars. This was terrible... there were some funny spots but overall the humor is "potty" and childish and at the expense of others. I don't mind some gross humor, language or violence (I loved Zombieland) but this movie is just one cringe-worthy scene after another. And any kind of implied moral message this movie gets really WRONG WRONG WRONG, and I *can* put up with some ridicule. Typical Hollywood garbage perpetuating the idea that "being a good person gets you into heaven" and anyways HOW is it "learning to be a good person" if your choice is to "sacrifice" yourself for your friend and "go to heaven" or die some horrible death. Not much of a choice, can't see that as a lesson learned.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byStevie111 September 28, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Hysterical apocalypse comedy has very bad language and crude jokes, with demons and comedic yet bloody violence

What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 18, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

THIS IS THE END Best movie ever

This is the end is a really funny movie and its my favourite movie but it is very raunchy. F--k is used 200+ times, c--t is used once and sh-t is used uncountable times. Despite language there is also violence and sex, in one scene a mans head is sliced off and there is lots of blood, another man gets stabbed in the back with spurting blood and there are many other violent scenes. For sex there is quite a lot a man is shown from behind with his pants down and girls that appear to be licking his genitals and his anus, a giant sculpture of a penis is shown, the devil is shown with a penis and giant monsters have penises, there is also heavy discussion of masturbation and jerking off on porn magazines. Drugs are also heavily present they go over having magic mushrooms, sour diesel and weed, a man blows cocaine In another mans face, Seth Rogen and jay baruchel smoke weed while playing video games in the end a character smokes a cigar after the apocalypse.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written byniecy2013 June 29, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

disturbing and dis respectful

I was completely caught off guard and disturbed by the messages that were being sent in this movie . Some parts created good to the movie like real life lessons but it just seemed to me like this movie was making a joke of a real very serious part of why we are living ! GOD !!!! you know its sickening that the world see the things that are going on but instead of making a difference we choose to make fun of it and let it continue on ! wow .... im completely appalled that this movie is so popular and that so many other people are not disturbed by this movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byKatL June 16, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Thoroughly enjoyable

This Is the End is a great Meta-movie, it is full of the usual crude hilarity that actors like Seth Rogen and James Franco have become famed for. I would recommend this film to anyone age fifteen plus, it is totally unpredictable and thoroughly enjoyable to watch. In terms of censorship it references weed and magic mushrooms, it also has the predictable swearing (the usual suspects like f*ck and sh*t) and sexual innuendos. However, this is all in good humour which I assure you, you will enjoy. It has self reverential moments and great cameos from people like Rhianna to Emma Watson (Hermione Granger of the Harry Potter series). If you enjoy watching witty crude comedies along the lines of films like Knocked Up, Superbad or Goon you will love watching this. Nonetheless this is not a film for children it may to appeal with the explosion and fast-paced style , I assure you this film is not for them.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bylouisa1 February 10, 2015
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

funny doomsday movie apropriate for older teens

this a very good movie but is definatly NOT FOR KIDS there is violence not to mention blood, swearing, sexaul refrences, in fact there is actually a scene where the devil has sex with a man, the actual sex is unseen, but there is a lot of cleavage onscreen. and there are quita a few refrences to weed and alcahole too. great movie but definatly not for kids or young teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byWhitelr January 5, 2015
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Seth Rogen's Finest

I think this movie would be best left for the high schoolers.Too raunchy for younger teens. Best left for mature audience. sorry.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byYoYo Bhowseman January 2, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great movie

It really just depends on what movies you like your kids to watch. I'm age 13 and watched it with out permission because I'm a thug lol. It was really funny but there are some inappropriate moments. At one point it the movie someone grabs a porn mag and shows the cover and ends up jizzing on it, That leads to two characters talking about jizzing on each other. Lather one character is sleeping when a black monster comes in to the room and get a two second look at a big black penis. Other then that no nudity but lots of talk about sex. But is a great movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew December 26, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Funny,drug-filled,potty mouthed movie is for adults only. Period.

My rating:R for comic bloody violence,graphic nudity,sexuality,non-stop language and drug use
Teen, 14 years old Written byeazy__breezy November 16, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Pretty much an adult only movie

Decent movie, entertaining and has some good comedy. If your a Christian like me you may not want to watch it because of mixed religious ideas. Besides that it has pretty much everything you try to avoid, tons of language (f-ck, c-nt, godd-mn, sh-t) and the cursing is often used in sexual sentences. Also a lot of sexual talk, about raping, masturbation, gay sex you name it. The violence is also bad, with a good amount of blood at the beginning. And the characters defeiantly drink. If you have seen Pineapple Express or 21 Jump Street this isn't much different. Best for adults
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bychubbybunny12 September 8, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator Written bygraveling April 30, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

funny

very crude humour and references and some nudity (male demon genitals) and violence is stong along with very strong language hard and soft drug use
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages