All member reviews for Tommy Boy

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Raunchy, funny, and not for younger kids.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 14 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bymcmovie123 July 13, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

common sense does not know wat there talkin about on this one.

you got to be kidding me i saw that movie when i was 9.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byrugbyrules September 5, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Hilarious and fine if mature

Really funny. I love this movie. And yes there is a fair amount of language as long as your mature and know not to talk like that enjoy yourself watching it. There's only one scene my mom doesn't like, it when there on the boat and tells the kid he's gonna shove the oar up his @$$.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byG3 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Parent Written byOT88 October 18, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The most inappropriate thing about the movie....

Is, hilariously enough, that a movie called "Tommy Boy" is set in a town called "Sandusky." Not kidding. Other than that, the edited TV version is fine and about what you would expect from a Farley movie. Idiotic time killer that has some laughs for kids. My 11 year old got bored enough that he went outside after 20 minutes of it, so perhaps it's not that engaging for some children. 3/5 for a (edited) kid comedy, 2/5 for adults....
Parent of a 5, 7, 10, and 12 year old Written byplurpypotato8u July 7, 2014
Kid, 12 years old December 13, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

really common sense media??

so not 15+!! just skip the skinny dipping scene i did you'l see it coming! other than that it's fine language is not a problem so 12+
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old May 28, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Funny Movie

Although this is a funny movie, it has some nudity, sexual references, scenes featuring drunk characters, and some foul language. There is one fight scene. But above all this is a very funny movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old May 4, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byerica921 February 6, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

laughter out loud

My mom thinks dat dis movie is 1 of the best comedy movies ever made!
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 September 11, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

tommy boy

Families can talk about some of the positive social messages included in the film such as loyalty to friendships and family bonds. Parents might discuss what characteristics of Chris Farley's character are considered vices and which can be commended. Parents could highlight his allegiance to both his family and friends despite the his risky lifestyle. Another topic is the role of large vs. small businesses. Much of this movie focuses on business ethics and continuously relays a positive message about standing up for "the little people."
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old November 27, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

i agree with mcmovie123

i saw this when i was about four and nothing was wrong with it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old September 4, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

GREAT, FUNNY MOVIE!! MUST WATCH IT

I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!! It's so hilarious! I loved Chris Farley in the movie, he was really good. I must warn parents that it does contain a lot of language and drinking. Also, there is some sex-related stuff, but that's pretty much the bad stuff of it. EVERYONE SHOULD WATCH THIS MOVIE, IT'S SO GOOD AND FUNNY!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old September 16, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
really funny movie.good family comedy
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byBonky94 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I laughed my head off!

Chris Farley is a comedic genius. There was a few scenes that are innapropriate for my age, but, my dad cut that scene out. Language really isn't an issue, as common sense has portrayed it to be. Serves a good message of respect, trust, and determination.A must see for the family! (but not for younger children!) ♥