All parent member reviews for Toy Story (1995)

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 60 reviews)
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 October 16, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

toy story 1995

Families can talk about friendships, loyalty, and rivalry. Young kids are exploring all these issues, and the movie has great models. Andy seems to spend more time playing with his beloved toys than watching TV or playing video games. Kids: What's great about playtime over TV time? Kids: Do you really think that toys become "real" when humans leave the room? Why is imagination such an important part of playtime?
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent Written bySa7ar September 26, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Toy story

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byWilliam8 June 24, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Fun, violent, sexist adventure for older kids

This movie was not as much for little kids as I had heard; in fact I would give it only a mildly positive recommendation for older (6+) kids. Language includes "shut up" and other mild ones I'd rather my kids didn't say. More significant to me was the violence-- that neighbor kid is a sociopath and a horrible influence to any younger viewers. I also didn't care for the sexism-- the only female character (other than the kid's mother) is basically just there to flirt with the cowboy. All that said, there is some fun adventure in the movie and the characters' hearts seem to be in the right place.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byJLFM May 11, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Scary for the youngest, wonderful for everyone else.

What other families should know
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byd's mom May 7, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

A good movie, but not for preschoolers

I am surprised that CSM gives this movie a green light for 4-year-olds. My son was very upset by Sid who mutilates his toys and straps Buzz to a rocket. And I agree with others that some of the language is concerning as well. It is a good movie with wonderful characters and animation. But definitely not appropriate for preschool aged children.
Parent of a 2, 4, and 7 year old Written bynewgirl1993 April 15, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Not for Young Kids.

This is another movie i think is really good but thire is a few parts that is scary for young kids and they say a few words thats not good for littel kids to hear but all and all not a bad movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Adult Written byChuck Reid March 26, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

A classic!

This movie was GREAT! The animation was colorful.The jokes were pretty funny as well.
Parent Written byFrankinf March 24, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Family approved

This movie is cute and funny
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 6 year old Written bylsdbird September 3, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

superb for even adults

This movie is so good you can't just see it once.
Parent of a 4 and 8 year old Written bymagrat May 21, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great for the whole family

We love Toy Story. The story is really timeless. Even the "scary" parts aren't really scary compared to some other movies out there. It truly captures how kids feel about their toys (and wished that their toys could feel about them). It just shows how hard work and ingenuity can pay off (defeating Sid & getting back to Andy) and how even those you don't like (Woody's feelings about Buzz) can later become special to you. I've had to watch this move over and over and over with both of my kids and still enjoy it.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educator and Parent of a 5 and 7 year old Written bycelinac January 25, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
As entertaining as it is innovative. Kicked off Pixar's unprecedented run of quality pictures. Reinvigorated animated film in the process.
Adult Written byrockmonster January 23, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

totally

excellent family movie! kids will love it! some kisses by toys and a toy in a bikini, some scariness caused by the reckless neighbor boy. kids will eat it alive! :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2 and 4 year old Written byMartinC August 25, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Scary Toys!

My son no longer wants to watch it... He is really scared of those mutant disfigured toys at the end of the movie... So he keeps watching "Toy Story 2" instead.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2 and 3 year old Written bypaulbroadie August 9, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byDexterSmith April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Toy Story

Sexual Content (Not an Issue): None. Violence (Not an Issue): None. Language (Not an Issue): None. Social Behavior (On): Two enemies become friends and help each other. Commercialism (Pause): Barbie, Mr. Potatohead, etc. Drug/Alcohol/Tobacco (Not an Issue): None.

Pages