All parent member reviews for Toy Story (1995)

Parents say

(out of 69 reviews)
age 5+
Review this title!
Parent Written bybobby_johnson November 25, 2014

oh goodness gracious

Hello cutie pies. This movie was absolutely disgusting!!! Buzz and Woody werent wearing clothes!!!! I mean it was crazy. WOodow was swearing and Bud Lightyear didnt even fly!!! I mean idk if they were on acid or what. Okay i suggest do not watch. God bless honey bunns.
Parent of a 2 year old Written byjinx-wolf March 21, 2014
Adult Written bydstoner1222 March 18, 2014

Disturbed by suicide reference

I have a toddler and noticed a lot of these children's movies refer to suicide. In Toy Story they said "It's not a suicide mission". Being a suicide survivor that disturbs me on many levels.
Parent Written bygangabhavani June 2, 2013

Best Movie Reviews

i like this movie a lot, i also find this site interesting, check this movie review website
What other families should know
Educational value
Adult Written byWill loves movies June 1, 2013

You've got a friend in me.

Toy Story is one of my favorite movies of all time. I have always loved Pixar's movies but Toy Story is my favorite. Friendship and loyalty are the positve messages in this movie. By the way, Common Sense did not put drinking in their review but Buzz does act like he is drunk after finding out he is not a space ranger. With that aside, this movie is for everybody. Thanks for reading.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 October 16, 2012

toy story 1995

Families can talk about friendships, loyalty, and rivalry. Young kids are exploring all these issues, and the movie has great models. Andy seems to spend more time playing with his beloved toys than watching TV or playing video games. Kids: What's great about playtime over TV time? Kids: Do you really think that toys become "real" when humans leave the room? Why is imagination such an important part of playtime?
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent Written bySa7ar September 26, 2012

Toy story

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byFrankinf March 24, 2012

Family approved

This movie is cute and funny
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byJeffroy9 March 31, 2011

Classic Toy Story, But Scariest of the Three

This was a good movie, but I would caution anybody who tries to show this to very young pre-schoolers. There are some scary and disturbing images that could cause younger viewers to become afraid.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 3 and 6 year old Written bykatz1409 January 10, 2011

great

we all loved it!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written bySteve and Liz October 15, 2010

Too violent for 4 year olds

What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 6 year old Written bylsdbird September 3, 2010

superb for even adults

This movie is so good you can't just see it once.
Parent of a 4, 4, and 7 year old Written bymagasalee July 30, 2010
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 7 and 9 year old Written byKunmingMom July 1, 2010
Parent Written byStepMomSterToo June 23, 2010

A little scary, but overall a great family movie

This is a great movie. Can't really say anything bad about it. Woody is more likeable in the last two movies, however the overall message is good for kids. I think it deals well with feelings of selfishness and jealousy. Some toys seems a little scary, as is the bad kid.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 13 year old Written bymeismeisme June 14, 2010

Great

See it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bysignbrat04 May 28, 2010
LOVE IT!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 4 year old Written bymather May 20, 2010
research papers
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written byrockmonster January 23, 2010

totally

excellent family movie! kids will love it! some kisses by toys and a toy in a bikini, some scariness caused by the reckless neighbor boy. kids will eat it alive! :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2 and 4 year old Written byMartinC August 25, 2009

Scary Toys!

My son no longer wants to watch it... He is really scared of those mutant disfigured toys at the end of the movie... So he keeps watching "Toy Story 2" instead.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models

Pages