All member reviews for Tropic Thunder

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Showbiz satire is witty, violent, controversial.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 79 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 15 and 15 year old Written byxmasterxofxmyxd... June 30, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

The Funniest movie of 2008

Tropic Thunder is an ironic, witty, satirical, and downright hilarious movie that makes fun of everthing from prima donnas in hollywood, overuse of sequels, and just the movie business itself. This movie is also filled with perfect writing, and it is probably one of the most quotable movies i have ever seen. Every character in this movie is also hilarious from RDJ's performance as Kirk Lazarus who won't drop out of character, Ben Stiller as the actor who just can't stop acting in flops, Jack Black as the slapstick comedy star with drug problems, Brandon T. Jackson as Alpa Chino, who has an energy drink called 'booty sweat' and an energy bar called 'bust a nut", and Jay Baruchel as Kevin Sandusky, he has some funny lines but he doesn't really stand out as a huge, rich character, he just knows a lot about blu-ray vs hd dvd. Anyways, Tropic Thunder is simply hilarious from the main performances and even Danny MCbride, and Tom Cruise are hilarious in their small roles, and you are going to laugh no matter what.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byzysilveria June 28, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

F the R rating

This movie is MEANT for kids. Adults don't get or appreciate half the movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byDBarto June 7, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

This film needs to clean up its act

This is the dirtiest film (outside of Team America World Police) I have ever seen. Is it funny? Sort of. It is Clever? Sometimes. Is it appropriate for anyone under the age of 17? NO! If you can think of a cuss word, in the first ten minutes of the film they probably use it. Is there nudity, yes, Stillers agent flips through a pornographic book while talking to stiller, and quite a few other things. Even I felt dirty after watching it. Personally, this film shouldn't be seen by anyone under the age of 21. A 2 out of 5
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6, 10, and 12 year old Written byjjmmwgdp May 20, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Not appropriate at any age

Positive was send-up of Hollywood. Other than that it is too violent, crude and too much drugs. I'd say it's not appropriate at any age. One of the few films I'm truly sorry I watched - and I didn't even pay anything to see it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byuhya May 31, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

HILARIOUS

some intense funny violence, crude sexual humor (i love tha p***y), non-stop profanity (next to 8 Mile, the most f-words i've ever heard in a movie(100+)), and drug content (Jack Black is a drug addict, you can see cocaine and heroin, but no one does them). However, i LOVE this movie and it's one of my favorite movies ever. Great for teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bysomeone141 August 7, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Funny movie suggest it to anyone 12+

Doesn't matter about profanity anymore kids swear all the time, in school. everywhere even behind your back sometimes great movie. As long as you can laugh you can watch this Gore & Blood - Plenty but this ain't as bad as what you see in the news, that's the real stuff.. Profanity - Like I said before profanity Isn't a concern anymore Sexual Content - None except a guy talking about a vagina and another talking about oral sex Rating - I'd give it a 17 out of a 20
Adult Written by4Spice October 22, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

funny only for teens and adults 15 and over

i loved the movie but the truth is that for you familys out there with smaller kids dont let them see the movie 15 and over
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byMovie Man August 7, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Hilarious, Graphic Fun!

I love this movie. It's hilarious. The preformances were awesome (especially Downey Jr.; well done; and I would've rated it the best preformance of 2008 if it weren't for Ledger's Joker) and the humor was hysterical! Perants: the violence is surpisingly graphic for a comedy; lots of blood, guts, and people being blown up/apart. A man's head is seen, a character's guts are spilled out, etc. Very funny, very raunchy, and very violent; I loved it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old October 1, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Hilarious movie, definetely not for young teens e.g 10-13. Great how they made Tom Cruise actually act well in this movie, and I love how they changed Downey Junior into a black guy, I couldn't recognise him! Good film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byNico9000 March 29, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

So Funny

Not for under a certain age.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old March 26, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Tropic Thunder

Sexual humor, constant language, bloody violence, illegal drugs, all sorts of lying, and forgiving others: head in this movie about a movie, "Tropic Thunder".
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byHennex December 30, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Funny movie, know your kid

Very toungue in cheek film where the point is to be mocking self-absorbed actors. Violence is mainly done in a humerous sense. Sex isn't really a problem, aside from the booty shaking in the initial scene of the movie, which is an advertisement for the drink "booty sweat". Only major problem is swearing. Hilarious movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bydrummer66 December 16, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
it was very funny, lots of language, should be rated PG13, nothing bad
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 1 year old Written byShandabutt101 March 31, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Misunderstood Movie

I think this movie was Hilarious! I watched it 5 times and still fell off my seat laughing eachtime. I think this film would be innapropiate for children under the age 16. There is alot of graphic viloence and there is also alot of cursing. I would deffinitly remmomend this to anyone with a sick sense of humor. I also feel that everyone made a big deal out of nothing with the whole "retard" situation. I was iffy about watching this movie because I have a disabled child,but I was not offended at all. It is a great movie to sit down and watch to get a good hard laugh!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bywhitesoxbuff March 9, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Tropic Thunder is NOT A KIDS MOVIE

Tom Cruise and Robert Downey Jr. made this movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byBestPicture1996 November 8, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Stupid, very funny movie for older teens

Yes there was very strong lanugage throughout, but the movie made me laugh hysterically. The opening is genius, and the plot itself is a little confusing, but if you talk it over with a friend, you're good. RDJ was excellent, and Ben Stiller and Jack Black were great too. NOT....FOR...KIDS. I'd just like to make that clear.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byFrogster March 23, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Crass, dumb, and unfunny

The CM review sure nailed it on the language part: Pretty much every sentence has an R-rated word with very few exceptions. Undoubtedly F*** is every characters favorite word. It is used as an adjective, a verb, a noun, and a adverb; sometimes all in the same line. Someone wishing to conduct a study on the word F*** would probably find this movie very helpful--not only would it give them hundreds of chances to hear it spoken by several different caricatures, but it might numb their minds so much that even after the movie ends F*** continues ringing in their ears until they fall asleep, then they dream about it until the next morning when they wake up and continue. I can normally forgive profanity if it is justified or funny, but here it is neither. After the positive response from critics I was surprised to watch this and find how very unfunny it was. The fake commercials at the beginning weren't amusing in the slightest-why does everyone think they're clever? LOL THEY MAKE FUN OF OTHER MOVIES. So? I've seen that before, without the profanity. The CM missed something in the sex/nudity area. One of the contacts briefly looks through a porn book while talking on the phone, and you get close-up on it as he flips through it. It was disgusting and unnecessary. I am convinced this movie is for 10 year-olds. That is the only thing I can make of it. Why put juvenile flatulence humor in a movie for "adults"? To make the 10 year-olds who will watch laugh. Who will giggle everytime they hear the F*** word? 10 year-olds who watch this movie and think they're cool. There are a few laughs to be had but I think this is a dumb and crass movie and will not recommend it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13 and 19 year old Written by191719591995 December 17, 2008
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

THE WORST MOVIE EVER---TRASH, APPROPRIATE FOR NO HUMAN BEING

Parent of a 1, 8, 9, and 14 year old Written bythejokerspencil January 10, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

It got better and better each tiem I watched it.

Tropic Thunder was a kind of funny movie with a pointless hour. A waste of meny in theaters. I rent it and rewatch it 6 times in 2 weeks and fell in love. It is smart,violent,mouthy, and overall hilarious the humor in this is incredible and the best Comedy of 2008.
Adult Written byFiggy66 July 26, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Ok for 14 plus

Soooooooo funny but for older kids lots of disscussions about sex, at least one swear word every thirty seconds and its violent. My favorite part was the booty sweat
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages