All teen and kid member reviews for Tropic Thunder

Kid, 10 years old March 26, 2011
 

Tropic Thunder

Sexual humor, constant language, bloody violence, illegal drugs, all sorts of lying, and forgiving others: head in this movie about a movie, "Tropic Thunder".
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byzysilveria June 28, 2009
 

F the R rating

This movie is MEANT for kids. Adults don't get or appreciate half the movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 6, 2011
 

Very funny, Very dumb and stupid, an awesome film

Teen, 17 years old Written bydavyborn December 1, 2011
 

Controversial and very funny comedy is for adults and older teens only

Tropic Thunder debuted back in the late portion of the summer of 2008. Now, believe it or not, but I only watched it now. Yeah. I'm being absolutely 100% serious right now, while I am typing all of this down. Well, I actually only felt like watching it now, and after seeing it,I don't know if I could be able to forgive myself for a long time for waiting three years to watch it. Oh well. But, like i said, Tropic Thunder is a ingenious, very well acted, very funny and very smart action comedy that pokes fun at the tabloids, shameless marketing and at all the stupid summer movies and lame melodramas that we eat up vigorously every year. The cast is headlined, of course, by the great Ben Stiller, Jack Black and Robert Downey Jr. All of them are in the best roles of there lives, here. Also, extra credit must go to Ben Stiller, who also directed and co-wrote this little comic gem of a movie. But, the R Rating is extremely deserved: Because of frequent and very bloody war violence, with some of it being fake and with others times it being real, and with every time buckets of blood and gore showing up to do Stiller's bidding. Also, there is frequent strong profanity throughout the movie as well, including about 130 F-words and its derivatives, with more milder profanity scattered throughout, as well. Also, there is frequent crude and sexual dialog, with the worst of it coming from the main stars in several scenes near the end. Finally, we have some infrequent but crudely depicted drug use and a terrorists village being a source of heroin creation. Well, that's just about all of it, but seriously, if you really haven't seen this movie (I'm still embarrassed in myself), then what are you waiting for? Check it out now!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byYeah. February 27, 2011
 

Check my page for other great recommendations.

I'm not here to give a review because if it shows up on my page its a 5 star movie and so therefore you know what i think about it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byGabGab100000 November 1, 2010
 

An hilarious film that efr

This is an hilarious movie. It isn't approppraite for kids or early teens obviously because of the violence such as when the director steps on a land mine and blows up into pieces and Ben stiller holds the head up thinking it's props and just "rubber and latex" and the brains fall out and drop to the floor. The explicit language (which mind you is heard in numerous scenes) both swearing and of sexual acts. The movie is also offensive to disabled people (not physically but mentally disabled). Therefor tropic thunder is not approppraite for children under 15 although an exeption of a mature 13 year old who can handly swearing and violence and realizes that mentle conditions are serious and aren't a joke. Also many of the jokes in this film reference to other films, such as forest gump and rain man.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byilovefall10 October 28, 2010
 

funny for older teens but not kids

thought it was very funny. nothing to bad in it expect for some innuendos and language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bywhitesoxbuff March 9, 2010
 

Tropic Thunder is NOT A KIDS MOVIE

Tom Cruise and Robert Downey Jr. made this movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byoctober1985 July 17, 2009
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byTaqueli June 6, 2009
 

Didn't bother me

I'm 13 and I watched this movie on my last birthday with my dad and my friends. We all laughed at every joke, even the oral sex jokes. I really didn't feel uncomfortable because my dad already knew that I knew about that stuff. I hear bad words all the time, so I didn't mind the profainty one bit. If you honestly think your mature enough, and you understand drugs and sex and such, then its your choice to see this movie.
Teen, 14 years old Written byFrogster March 23, 2009
 

Crass, dumb, and unfunny

The CM review sure nailed it on the language part: Pretty much every sentence has an R-rated word with very few exceptions. Undoubtedly F*** is every characters favorite word. It is used as an adjective, a verb, a noun, and a adverb; sometimes all in the same line. Someone wishing to conduct a study on the word F*** would probably find this movie very helpful--not only would it give them hundreds of chances to hear it spoken by several different caricatures, but it might numb their minds so much that even after the movie ends F*** continues ringing in their ears until they fall asleep, then they dream about it until the next morning when they wake up and continue. I can normally forgive profanity if it is justified or funny, but here it is neither. After the positive response from critics I was surprised to watch this and find how very unfunny it was. The fake commercials at the beginning weren't amusing in the slightest-why does everyone think they're clever? LOL THEY MAKE FUN OF OTHER MOVIES. So? I've seen that before, without the profanity. The CM missed something in the sex/nudity area. One of the contacts briefly looks through a porn book while talking on the phone, and you get close-up on it as he flips through it. It was disgusting and unnecessary. I am convinced this movie is for 10 year-olds. That is the only thing I can make of it. Why put juvenile flatulence humor in a movie for "adults"? To make the 10 year-olds who will watch laugh. Who will giggle everytime they hear the F*** word? 10 year-olds who watch this movie and think they're cool. There are a few laughs to be had but I think this is a dumb and crass movie and will not recommend it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bydarknight45 March 13, 2009
 

Cool!

It was really cool!
Teen, 14 years old Written bybslrpl July 11, 2011
 

Funny movie fine for teens

This movie is really funny, and is mostly rated R because of the pervasive language. There are many f**ks and s**ts. The violence isn't too bad except in the beginning when a man's insides fall out. The sexual content is only references and the drygs include a heroin plant, and Jack Black's character has a drug problem. He is never shown doing drugs but looks really stoned when beign interviewed earlier in the movie. Funny movie fine for teens!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byuhya May 31, 2011
 

HILARIOUS

some intense funny violence, crude sexual humor (i love tha p***y), non-stop profanity (next to 8 Mile, the most f-words i've ever heard in a movie(100+)), and drug content (Jack Black is a drug addict, you can see cocaine and heroin, but no one does them). However, i LOVE this movie and it's one of my favorite movies ever. Great for teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byshooter guru March 14, 2011
 

Love this movie!

This is one of my favorite comedies of my teen years (probibly won't find it that great when I'm older) but the point is this a a older teen oriented movie, yes there are a whole ton of swearing and some obviously fake gore but mostly it's poking fun at Hollywood and all who work there. There is also a star studded cast with many of my favorite comedy actores and a few I didnt expect to be so funny, like Tom cruise playing the fowl mouthed, short tempered executive les grossman who completely steals any scene he's in. In short this is a fowl mouthed comedy that will have your older teen (15-18) laughing to death.
Teen, 13 years old Written byam1408 January 5, 2011
 

a great comedy for teens and up

AWSOME MOVIE !!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byEdco2010 January 1, 2011
 

Bring the Thuder

Many swears, Jack Black turns out to be a drug addict. Many people are killed and alot of violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byHennex December 30, 2010
 

Funny movie, know your kid

Very toungue in cheek film where the point is to be mocking self-absorbed actors. Violence is mainly done in a humerous sense. Sex isn't really a problem, aside from the booty shaking in the initial scene of the movie, which is an advertisement for the drink "booty sweat". Only major problem is swearing. Hilarious movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byBestPicture1996 November 8, 2009
 

Stupid, very funny movie for older teens

Yes there was very strong lanugage throughout, but the movie made me laugh hysterically. The opening is genius, and the plot itself is a little confusing, but if you talk it over with a friend, you're good. RDJ was excellent, and Ben Stiller and Jack Black were great too. NOT....FOR...KIDS. I'd just like to make that clear.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old October 1, 2009
 
Hilarious movie, definetely not for young teens e.g 10-13. Great how they made Tom Cruise actually act well in this movie, and I love how they changed Downey Junior into a black guy, I couldn't recognise him! Good film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages