Common Sense Media says

Showbiz satire is witty, violent, controversial.

Users say

(out of 82 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Adult Written byRiley3664 July 29, 2010

Ridiculous

ok i dont understand this site. so a game like assassins creed where the f-word is said once is said not for kids, but a movie that says the f-word every five seconds is rated 16+? ridiculous.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byFiggy66 July 26, 2010

Ok for 14 plus

Soooooooo funny but for older kids lots of disscussions about sex, at least one swear word every thirty seconds and its violent. My favorite part was the booty sweat
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bywhitesoxbuff March 9, 2010

Tropic Thunder is NOT A KIDS MOVIE

Tom Cruise and Robert Downey Jr. made this movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bydrummer66 December 16, 2009
it was very funny, lots of language, should be rated PG13, nothing bad
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written byPlague December 14, 2009

Tropic Thunder

Awesome movie that will have you laughing till you pee, puke and pass out. I was never really a huge Ben Stiller or Black Jack fan until I watched this movie. Too hilarious.
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written bygamenerd323 November 19, 2009

Great actors, great laughs

This movie is really funny!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written by4Spice October 22, 2009

funny only for teens and adults 15 and over

i loved the movie but the truth is that for you familys out there with smaller kids dont let them see the movie 15 and over
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byoctober1985 July 17, 2009
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byTaqueli June 6, 2009

Didn't bother me

I'm 13 and I watched this movie on my last birthday with my dad and my friends. We all laughed at every joke, even the oral sex jokes. I really didn't feel uncomfortable because my dad already knew that I knew about that stuff. I hear bad words all the time, so I didn't mind the profainty one bit. If you honestly think your mature enough, and you understand drugs and sex and such, then its your choice to see this movie.
Adult Written byNico9000 March 29, 2009

So Funny

Not for under a certain age.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byFrogster March 23, 2009

Crass, dumb, and unfunny

The CM review sure nailed it on the language part: Pretty much every sentence has an R-rated word with very few exceptions. Undoubtedly F*** is every characters favorite word. It is used as an adjective, a verb, a noun, and a adverb; sometimes all in the same line. Someone wishing to conduct a study on the word F*** would probably find this movie very helpful--not only would it give them hundreds of chances to hear it spoken by several different caricatures, but it might numb their minds so much that even after the movie ends F*** continues ringing in their ears until they fall asleep, then they dream about it until the next morning when they wake up and continue. I can normally forgive profanity if it is justified or funny, but here it is neither. After the positive response from critics I was surprised to watch this and find how very unfunny it was. The fake commercials at the beginning weren't amusing in the slightest-why does everyone think they're clever? LOL THEY MAKE FUN OF OTHER MOVIES. So? I've seen that before, without the profanity. The CM missed something in the sex/nudity area. One of the contacts briefly looks through a porn book while talking on the phone, and you get close-up on it as he flips through it. It was disgusting and unnecessary. I am convinced this movie is for 10 year-olds. That is the only thing I can make of it. Why put juvenile flatulence humor in a movie for "adults"? To make the 10 year-olds who will watch laugh. Who will giggle everytime they hear the F*** word? 10 year-olds who watch this movie and think they're cool. There are a few laughs to be had but I think this is a dumb and crass movie and will not recommend it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bydarknight45 March 13, 2009

Cool!

It was really cool!
Teen, 14 years old Written bybslrpl July 11, 2011

Funny movie fine for teens

This movie is really funny, and is mostly rated R because of the pervasive language. There are many f**ks and s**ts. The violence isn't too bad except in the beginning when a man's insides fall out. The sexual content is only references and the drygs include a heroin plant, and Jack Black's character has a drug problem. He is never shown doing drugs but looks really stoned when beign interviewed earlier in the movie. Funny movie fine for teens!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byuhya May 31, 2011

HILARIOUS

some intense funny violence, crude sexual humor (i love tha p***y), non-stop profanity (next to 8 Mile, the most f-words i've ever heard in a movie(100+)), and drug content (Jack Black is a drug addict, you can see cocaine and heroin, but no one does them). However, i LOVE this movie and it's one of my favorite movies ever. Great for teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byam1408 January 5, 2011

a great comedy for teens and up

AWSOME MOVIE !!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byEdco2010 January 1, 2011

Bring the Thuder

Many swears, Jack Black turns out to be a drug addict. Many people are killed and alot of violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byHennex December 30, 2010

Funny movie, know your kid

Very toungue in cheek film where the point is to be mocking self-absorbed actors. Violence is mainly done in a humerous sense. Sex isn't really a problem, aside from the booty shaking in the initial scene of the movie, which is an advertisement for the drink "booty sweat". Only major problem is swearing. Hilarious movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6, 10, and 12 year old Written byjjmmwgdp May 20, 2010

Not appropriate at any age

Positive was send-up of Hollywood. Other than that it is too violent, crude and too much drugs. I'd say it's not appropriate at any age. One of the few films I'm truly sorry I watched - and I didn't even pay anything to see it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byBestPicture1996 November 8, 2009

Stupid, very funny movie for older teens

Yes there was very strong lanugage throughout, but the movie made me laugh hysterically. The opening is genius, and the plot itself is a little confusing, but if you talk it over with a friend, you're good. RDJ was excellent, and Ben Stiller and Jack Black were great too. NOT....FOR...KIDS. I'd just like to make that clear.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old October 1, 2009
Hilarious movie, definetely not for young teens e.g 10-13. Great how they made Tom Cruise actually act well in this movie, and I love how they changed Downey Junior into a black guy, I couldn't recognise him! Good film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages