All member reviews for Tropic Thunder

Common Sense Media says

Showbiz satire is witty, violent, controversial.

Users say

(out of 82 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Parent of a 15 and 15 year old Written byxmasterxofxmyxd... June 30, 2009

The Funniest movie of 2008

Tropic Thunder is an ironic, witty, satirical, and downright hilarious movie that makes fun of everthing from prima donnas in hollywood, overuse of sequels, and just the movie business itself. This movie is also filled with perfect writing, and it is probably one of the most quotable movies i have ever seen. Every character in this movie is also hilarious from RDJ's performance as Kirk Lazarus who won't drop out of character, Ben Stiller as the actor who just can't stop acting in flops, Jack Black as the slapstick comedy star with drug problems, Brandon T. Jackson as Alpa Chino, who has an energy drink called 'booty sweat' and an energy bar called 'bust a nut", and Jay Baruchel as Kevin Sandusky, he has some funny lines but he doesn't really stand out as a huge, rich character, he just knows a lot about blu-ray vs hd dvd. Anyways, Tropic Thunder is simply hilarious from the main performances and even Danny MCbride, and Tom Cruise are hilarious in their small roles, and you are going to laugh no matter what.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byDBarto June 7, 2009

This film needs to clean up its act

This is the dirtiest film (outside of Team America World Police) I have ever seen. Is it funny? Sort of. It is Clever? Sometimes. Is it appropriate for anyone under the age of 17? NO! If you can think of a cuss word, in the first ten minutes of the film they probably use it. Is there nudity, yes, Stillers agent flips through a pornographic book while talking to stiller, and quite a few other things. Even I felt dirty after watching it. Personally, this film shouldn't be seen by anyone under the age of 21. A 2 out of 5
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old March 26, 2011

Tropic Thunder

Sexual humor, constant language, bloody violence, illegal drugs, all sorts of lying, and forgiving others: head in this movie about a movie, "Tropic Thunder".
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byzysilveria June 28, 2009

F the R rating

This movie is MEANT for kids. Adults don't get or appreciate half the movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byMovie Man August 7, 2009

Hilarious, Graphic Fun!

I love this movie. It's hilarious. The preformances were awesome (especially Downey Jr.; well done; and I would've rated it the best preformance of 2008 if it weren't for Ledger's Joker) and the humor was hysterical! Perants: the violence is surpisingly graphic for a comedy; lots of blood, guts, and people being blown up/apart. A man's head is seen, a character's guts are spilled out, etc. Very funny, very raunchy, and very violent; I loved it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 1, 8, 9, and 14 year old Written bythejokerspencil January 10, 2009

It got better and better each tiem I watched it.

Tropic Thunder was a kind of funny movie with a pointless hour. A waste of meny in theaters. I rent it and rewatch it 6 times in 2 weeks and fell in love. It is smart,violent,mouthy, and overall hilarious the humor in this is incredible and the best Comedy of 2008.
Parent of a 13 and 18+ year old Written by191719591995 December 17, 2008

THE WORST MOVIE EVER---TRASH, APPROPRIATE FOR NO HUMAN BEING

Kid, 11 years old August 6, 2011

Very funny, Very dumb and stupid, an awesome film

Parent of an infant, 3, 4, 11, and 13 year old Written byMelaniEnoch December 23, 2008

Horrible!

I bought this movie for my son,thinking a little comedy violence would be o.k,but did not go any further with this movie than the opening (fake previews)because of the video at the beginning.The use of the word p***y and the butt shaking was ridiculous and I wouldn't let a 16yr old watch this movie.
Adult Written bydarthsitkur March 26, 2013

i was laughing nonstop lol

this is such a hysterical war comedy that had me laughing from start to finish, and it even had awesome shootouts too which was an instant plus for me, the humor was very off beat and random just like blazing saddles but ten times as hilarious lol
Adult Written bysomeone141 August 7, 2010

Funny movie suggest it to anyone 12+

Doesn't matter about profanity anymore kids swear all the time, in school. everywhere even behind your back sometimes great movie. As long as you can laugh you can watch this Gore & Blood - Plenty but this ain't as bad as what you see in the news, that's the real stuff.. Profanity - Like I said before profanity Isn't a concern anymore Sexual Content - None except a guy talking about a vagina and another talking about oral sex Rating - I'd give it a 17 out of a 20
Parent of a 1 year old Written byShandabutt101 March 31, 2009

Misunderstood Movie

I think this movie was Hilarious! I watched it 5 times and still fell off my seat laughing eachtime. I think this film would be innapropiate for children under the age 16. There is alot of graphic viloence and there is also alot of cursing. I would deffinitly remmomend this to anyone with a sick sense of humor. I also feel that everyone made a big deal out of nothing with the whole "retard" situation. I was iffy about watching this movie because I have a disabled child,but I was not offended at all. It is a great movie to sit down and watch to get a good hard laugh!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byKimberle September 23, 2013

Pause, there is nudity!

I was about ten minutes into the movie and my husband and I always make sure to avoid nudity and sexual content at all costs but there was a pornographic magazine that a man is looking at and that it shows completely naked women for only a few seconds but it is definitely there. We turned the movie off right then and there. Commonsense media you may want to place this in the reviews!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written bydavyborn December 1, 2011

Controversial and very funny comedy is for adults and older teens only

Tropic Thunder debuted back in the late portion of the summer of 2008. Now, believe it or not, but I only watched it now. Yeah. I'm being absolutely 100% serious right now, while I am typing all of this down. Well, I actually only felt like watching it now, and after seeing it,I don't know if I could be able to forgive myself for a long time for waiting three years to watch it. Oh well. But, like i said, Tropic Thunder is a ingenious, very well acted, very funny and very smart action comedy that pokes fun at the tabloids, shameless marketing and at all the stupid summer movies and lame melodramas that we eat up vigorously every year. The cast is headlined, of course, by the great Ben Stiller, Jack Black and Robert Downey Jr. All of them are in the best roles of there lives, here. Also, extra credit must go to Ben Stiller, who also directed and co-wrote this little comic gem of a movie. But, the R Rating is extremely deserved: Because of frequent and very bloody war violence, with some of it being fake and with others times it being real, and with every time buckets of blood and gore showing up to do Stiller's bidding. Also, there is frequent strong profanity throughout the movie as well, including about 130 F-words and its derivatives, with more milder profanity scattered throughout, as well. Also, there is frequent crude and sexual dialog, with the worst of it coming from the main stars in several scenes near the end. Finally, we have some infrequent but crudely depicted drug use and a terrorists village being a source of heroin creation. Well, that's just about all of it, but seriously, if you really haven't seen this movie (I'm still embarrassed in myself), then what are you waiting for? Check it out now!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byage 10+ October 16, 2011

not for kids under 14

This movie has swearing almost every minute. Plus some drug use/references and truckloads of violence and gore. This movie is NOT for anyone under 14.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byshooter guru March 14, 2011

Love this movie!

This is one of my favorite comedies of my teen years (probibly won't find it that great when I'm older) but the point is this a a older teen oriented movie, yes there are a whole ton of swearing and some obviously fake gore but mostly it's poking fun at Hollywood and all who work there. There is also a star studded cast with many of my favorite comedy actores and a few I didnt expect to be so funny, like Tom cruise playing the fowl mouthed, short tempered executive les grossman who completely steals any scene he's in. In short this is a fowl mouthed comedy that will have your older teen (15-18) laughing to death.
Teen, 13 years old Written byYeah. February 27, 2011

Check my page for other great recommendations.

I'm not here to give a review because if it shows up on my page its a 5 star movie and so therefore you know what i think about it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 year old Written bymikeisawesome123 February 3, 2011

A little iffy

Great Movie!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byGabGab100000 November 1, 2010

An hilarious film that efr

This is an hilarious movie. It isn't approppraite for kids or early teens obviously because of the violence such as when the director steps on a land mine and blows up into pieces and Ben stiller holds the head up thinking it's props and just "rubber and latex" and the brains fall out and drop to the floor. The explicit language (which mind you is heard in numerous scenes) both swearing and of sexual acts. The movie is also offensive to disabled people (not physically but mentally disabled). Therefor tropic thunder is not approppraite for children under 15 although an exeption of a mature 13 year old who can handly swearing and violence and realizes that mentle conditions are serious and aren't a joke. Also many of the jokes in this film reference to other films, such as forest gump and rain man.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byilovefall10 October 28, 2010

funny for older teens but not kids

thought it was very funny. nothing to bad in it expect for some innuendos and language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages