All member reviews for Tropic Thunder

Common Sense Media says

Showbiz satire is witty, violent, controversial.
 

Users say

(out of 80 reviews)
age 14+
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byDBarto June 7, 2009
age 17+
 

This film needs to clean up its act

This is the dirtiest film (outside of Team America World Police) I have ever seen. Is it funny? Sort of. It is Clever? Sometimes. Is it appropriate for anyone under the age of 17? NO! If you can think of a cuss word, in the first ten minutes of the film they probably use it. Is there nudity, yes, Stillers agent flips through a pornographic book while talking to stiller, and quite a few other things. Even I felt dirty after watching it. Personally, this film shouldn't be seen by anyone under the age of 21. A 2 out of 5
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 15 and 15 year old Written byxmasterxofxmyxd... June 30, 2009
age 15+
 

The Funniest movie of 2008

Tropic Thunder is an ironic, witty, satirical, and downright hilarious movie that makes fun of everthing from prima donnas in hollywood, overuse of sequels, and just the movie business itself. This movie is also filled with perfect writing, and it is probably one of the most quotable movies i have ever seen. Every character in this movie is also hilarious from RDJ's performance as Kirk Lazarus who won't drop out of character, Ben Stiller as the actor who just can't stop acting in flops, Jack Black as the slapstick comedy star with drug problems, Brandon T. Jackson as Alpa Chino, who has an energy drink called 'booty sweat' and an energy bar called 'bust a nut", and Jay Baruchel as Kevin Sandusky, he has some funny lines but he doesn't really stand out as a huge, rich character, he just knows a lot about blu-ray vs hd dvd. Anyways, Tropic Thunder is simply hilarious from the main performances and even Danny MCbride, and Tom Cruise are hilarious in their small roles, and you are going to laugh no matter what.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old March 26, 2011
age 15+
 

Tropic Thunder

Sexual humor, constant language, bloody violence, illegal drugs, all sorts of lying, and forgiving others: head in this movie about a movie, "Tropic Thunder".
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byzysilveria June 28, 2009
age 9+
 

F the R rating

This movie is MEANT for kids. Adults don't get or appreciate half the movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 6, 2011
age 11+
 

Very funny, Very dumb and stupid, an awesome film

Adult Written byMovie Man August 7, 2009
age 16+
 

Hilarious, Graphic Fun!

I love this movie. It's hilarious. The preformances were awesome (especially Downey Jr.; well done; and I would've rated it the best preformance of 2008 if it weren't for Ledger's Joker) and the humor was hysterical! Perants: the violence is surpisingly graphic for a comedy; lots of blood, guts, and people being blown up/apart. A man's head is seen, a character's guts are spilled out, etc. Very funny, very raunchy, and very violent; I loved it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of an infant, 3, 4, 11, and 13 year old Written byMelaniEnoch December 23, 2008
age 17+
 

Horrible!

I bought this movie for my son,thinking a little comedy violence would be o.k,but did not go any further with this movie than the opening (fake previews)because of the video at the beginning.The use of the word p***y and the butt shaking was ridiculous and I wouldn't let a 16yr old watch this movie.
Parent of a 13 and 19 year old Written by191719591995 December 17, 2008
age 17+
 

THE WORST MOVIE EVER---TRASH, APPROPRIATE FOR NO HUMAN BEING

Adult Written byKimberle September 23, 2013
age 17+
 

Pause, there is nudity!

I was about ten minutes into the movie and my husband and I always make sure to avoid nudity and sexual content at all costs but there was a pornographic magazine that a man is looking at and that it shows completely naked women for only a few seconds but it is definitely there. We turned the movie off right then and there. Commonsense media you may want to place this in the reviews!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written bydarthsitkur March 26, 2013
age 15+
 

i was laughing nonstop lol

this is such a hysterical war comedy that had me laughing from start to finish, and it even had awesome shootouts too which was an instant plus for me, the humor was very off beat and random just like blazing saddles but ten times as hilarious lol
Teen, 17 years old Written bydavyborn December 1, 2011
age 17+
 

Controversial and very funny comedy is for adults and older teens only

Tropic Thunder debuted back in the late portion of the summer of 2008. Now, believe it or not, but I only watched it now. Yeah. I'm being absolutely 100% serious right now, while I am typing all of this down. Well, I actually only felt like watching it now, and after seeing it,I don't know if I could be able to forgive myself for a long time for waiting three years to watch it. Oh well. But, like i said, Tropic Thunder is a ingenious, very well acted, very funny and very smart action comedy that pokes fun at the tabloids, shameless marketing and at all the stupid summer movies and lame melodramas that we eat up vigorously every year. The cast is headlined, of course, by the great Ben Stiller, Jack Black and Robert Downey Jr. All of them are in the best roles of there lives, here. Also, extra credit must go to Ben Stiller, who also directed and co-wrote this little comic gem of a movie. But, the R Rating is extremely deserved: Because of frequent and very bloody war violence, with some of it being fake and with others times it being real, and with every time buckets of blood and gore showing up to do Stiller's bidding. Also, there is frequent strong profanity throughout the movie as well, including about 130 F-words and its derivatives, with more milder profanity scattered throughout, as well. Also, there is frequent crude and sexual dialog, with the worst of it coming from the main stars in several scenes near the end. Finally, we have some infrequent but crudely depicted drug use and a terrorists village being a source of heroin creation. Well, that's just about all of it, but seriously, if you really haven't seen this movie (I'm still embarrassed in myself), then what are you waiting for? Check it out now!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byYeah. February 27, 2011
age 13+
 

Check my page for other great recommendations.

I'm not here to give a review because if it shows up on my page its a 5 star movie and so therefore you know what i think about it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 year old Written bymikeisawesome123 February 3, 2011
age 15+
 

A little iffy

Great Movie!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byGabGab100000 November 1, 2010
age 15+
 

An hilarious film that efr

This is an hilarious movie. It isn't approppraite for kids or early teens obviously because of the violence such as when the director steps on a land mine and blows up into pieces and Ben stiller holds the head up thinking it's props and just "rubber and latex" and the brains fall out and drop to the floor. The explicit language (which mind you is heard in numerous scenes) both swearing and of sexual acts. The movie is also offensive to disabled people (not physically but mentally disabled). Therefor tropic thunder is not approppraite for children under 15 although an exeption of a mature 13 year old who can handly swearing and violence and realizes that mentle conditions are serious and aren't a joke. Also many of the jokes in this film reference to other films, such as forest gump and rain man.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byilovefall10 October 28, 2010
age 15+
 

funny for older teens but not kids

thought it was very funny. nothing to bad in it expect for some innuendos and language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byRiley3664 July 29, 2010
age 14+
 

Ridiculous

ok i dont understand this site. so a game like assassins creed where the f-word is said once is said not for kids, but a movie that says the f-word every five seconds is rated 16+? ridiculous.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byFiggy66 July 26, 2010
age 14+
 

Ok for 14 plus

Soooooooo funny but for older kids lots of disscussions about sex, at least one swear word every thirty seconds and its violent. My favorite part was the booty sweat
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bywhitesoxbuff March 9, 2010
age 15+
 

Tropic Thunder is NOT A KIDS MOVIE

Tom Cruise and Robert Downey Jr. made this movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bydrummer66 December 16, 2009
age 13+
 
it was very funny, lots of language, should be rated PG13, nothing bad
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written bygamenerd323 November 19, 2009
age 13+
 

Great actors, great laughs

This movie is really funny!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism

Pages