All member reviews for Turbo

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Speedy snail dreams big in fun animated comedy.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 42 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byFriendlyReviewer April 8, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Awesome Animated Movie

Better Than Movies Like Planes Which Does Not Contain Any Moral Values But This Contains Messages Like "No Dream Is Too Big, Nor Any Dreamer is Too Small.." Which Provokes Confidence..
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Written byAnonymous February 28, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Typical Underdog Story

Wasn't too excited by this movie. Although there were some great messages about finding who you are etc etc and there were some great one-liners, it wasn't anything original or surprising.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old January 12, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Funny!

This movie was not dumb like I thought it would be, and kids would love this hilarious movie! Adults might like this movie, too, but probably not as much as kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byLowe's man January 8, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Good movie but lacking in one area.

There are positive messages in this movie, like following your dreams and never giving up. The race is exciting as well. There is something in which the movie is lacking, though. After the Indianapolis 500 was over, the title character should've gone back to his garden-snail community, at which point the other snails should've accepted him. At that point Turbo should've gone back to his regular job in the garden while continuing to race a few times a year as a second job. The other snails should've then cheered him on when he raced, and should've also accepted him at his regular job in the garden.
Teen, 15 years old Written byStevie111 January 2, 2014
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Surprisingly good, amusing movie

It was cute and funny and just entertaining with no mature content really. It was very good
Teen, 13 years old Written bysmiles0325 November 29, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Super Cute!

I think Turbo is a suer cute movie that teaches kids to not give up on their dreams. My twins sisters loved it and thought it was funny.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byHaithamB November 20, 2013
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Moviegoer14: Turbo

Turbo is Really Entertaining and very funny.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byDoritos-6 November 16, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great Movie of Summer 2013

Some violence in it but it is a great movie.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byironkid21 November 12, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Animated comedy is loveable, charming, and has great messages...but not that funny and missing something...

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written bySnowyjoe November 3, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Turbo Review

It was a little violent, mostly at the end. Just stuff like explosions though. One of the worst movies of 2013.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old October 12, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

BEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Turbo is the best movie in the WORLD!!!!! ---------------
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byfandango 2001 August 9, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

creative movie

Sure son of a gun was used but I have heard worse words like son of a b***h.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bylilwhissy August 4, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

How is learning to fight for your dreams not educational?

Kids today and adults are basically being taught not to dream about anything except stopping global warming. Thankfully and refreshingly the liberals agenda has stayed out of this movie. My 6 yr old son loved this movie and we talked about it on the way home never giving up on your dream no matter how hard it is to accomplish. One has to work hard and that is ok. This is a great movie to inspire little entrepreneurs to dream big and fight for that dream.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old July 31, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

okay

its okay.you can see it once.worst movie
Teen, 14 years old Written byBatmanGuy1 July 28, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

A great movie for Kids

Surprisingly, I really liked Turbo. My little Nephew who is 5 also liked it. It was funny and just makes you smile when Turbo has his hopes and dreams come true. Michael Pena is in it and he does a good job playing the goofy guy at the taco stand. The movie is really unrealistic, but what can you expect from a movie about a snail racing in the Indie 500.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byStemma21 July 27, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Turbo

Turbo is a cute, positive movie with a lot of unexpected things that happen throughout. It's fine for kids at 4 and up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old July 26, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

snail+racing= sounds intresting

i liked this movie quite a bit, the animation looked amazing and good voice actors. there is one point of the movie where there drinking beer but no smoking or other drugs. the movie has a good moral and that is to never give up and to go for the goal and other stuff of that sort. there is a few point's where some of the characters are in danger or hurt. this moving at some point's i felt that the only point of this movie was to teach kids lessons about stuff like bullying, and that's not really a bad thing but Dreamworks does not usually do that kind of thing. Dreamworks movies are not as good as they used to be sometimes but that does not mean all the new ones are bad. i would not say this movie was terrible but it was not amazing like some Dreamworks movies are. overall I enjoyed this movie and got what i expected mostly, im also really glad that there's only one snail pun in the movie. unlike cloudy with a chance of meatballs and there food puns and im sure that there is tons more to come from what i saw in the trailer for the second one. well hope i helped you decide if your going to see this with or with out kids etc.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old July 26, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Amazing!

Awesome movie! Funny and makes me happy. Little sexuality. Some toilet humor. Turbo dreams to be in the Indie 500 and later falls into a car and is made super fast. Friends and family don't help Turbo, "crushing" his dreams. He keeps going and he comptes in he race. Good, clean message.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old July 26, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Turbo -- Movie Review

Fun film, not much of anything objectionable. Recommend fore a fun family outing
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 7 year old Written bybunnie911 July 25, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Never give up on your dreams

Asked my 7 yo. daughter what was the main idea of the movie. She said, "Never give up on your dreams". She was highly entertained and she got the uplifting message. For that I rate it highly.

Pages