All parent member reviews for Twilight

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 142 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent Written byRuth1959 April 13, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Appropriate

My daughter who is nine by the way loves this movie and so does my husband. Even thought there is the whole vampire thing going on it shows that abstinence is right and that is what Stephanie Myer intended
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 7 and 15 year old Written byParentReviewz January 23, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

The only some-what good twilight.

I Don't Really Enjoy Twilight, It's Just Not For Me, However, I Actually Liked This Movie. Should all Guys See it? No. But, this one is actually interesting because they try to make it like a some-what horror romance and it is entertaining at some parts.
Parent of a 6 and 10 year old Written byDobbie17 December 31, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Twilight - No 1

My daughter (aged 10 - mature aged 10) and I watched this film over the Christmas period. I watched it as a movie and nothing more - the acting was ok, the story was ok (come on vampires are not real!!) and to be honest the whole experience was ok. My daughter who is a mature 10 year old enjoyed it - what did she take away from it - nothing more then that she enjoyed it - she has not looked any deeper into the film or read between any lines!! If your child is a mature 10 year old + then I would recoment this film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written bymakuta December 2, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Twilight, lowering the age of sexual maturity

This movie is definitely not for kids, if anybody had closely read the book (not too closely, might lose brain cells), Stephanie Meyers is continuously pushing the notation that "sex before marriage while you are underage is okay"; the main character Bella is constantly trying to get into Edward's pants the whole series, but the only reason she doesn't is because she respects Edward's choice to get married first (what a saint, pedophilia and statutory rape averted). And what's with Jacob? The only nice guy in the entire book and movie that is trying to woo Bella, and not being a total jerk, but you know the saying: "Nice guys finish last"; it's only in the second half of the movie that Jacob finds true love...with a baby. As time goes by books and movies are getting more and more connotative towards sex, drugs, and rock and roll (don't tell me you don't notice the psychedelic euphoria the vampires go through after tasting a tiny bit of human blood), while plot holes just keep multiplying and growing (was I the only one who noticed Edward's special ability to sparkle in the daylight suddenly disappeared between the second and third book/movie?). This movement is definitely an age gap problem; when I was younger I loved Harry Potter, but now that I am older and much more educated in literature and subliminal media, I realize that Harry Potter is only slightly better than Twilight. The only difference is that directors tried much harder in the HP movies than the Twilight movies. If you have any problem with this review, look it up on the web before you decide that I am crazy for not loving a boring, bland, mentally-crooked, teenage girl for turning down a really nice, down-to-earth, half wolf-half body builder for a depressed, psycho-maniac, that spends half his time softly singing lullabies and killing wood-land critters for food. Tons of people have agreed that books and movies like Twilight are a factoring influence in this age's teenage psyche and mentality.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bykeeyan January 29, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

my favorate

this movie is so so so so so so so awesome
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Adult Written bykoujokakyuu January 9, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Poor Female Role Models

While the Twilight books and films are entertaining, adults need to consider their messaging to girls and young women. Bella's mother is a flake. Bella is a traditional girl who enjoys domesticity. Edward dictates all the terms of their relationship. When Edward does stalker-ish or manipulative things, it is portrayed as romantic although in real life such behavior would constitute red flags. Bella attaches her entire being and self-worth to Edward's presence and love. Also, author Stephenie Meyer has an agenda: she espouses courtship (not the biggest deal) and personhood (very problematic) through Edward and Bella's choices and actions. I urge anyone with a daughter who is smitten with this series to read "Feminism Doesn't Sparkle: What Twilight Teaches Young Girls" and discuss any points which seem questionable to you. I'd put a link, but CSM doesn't like those.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Adult Written bysilversatyr January 7, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

A lesson in what not to do AKA Fantasy Romance done WRONG.

While lauded by many a fangirl, this movie is rather questionable as a show for any immature person to watch. The romance in Twilight is decidedly unrealistic and sends a bad message to the audience - where if a boy likes you he is expected to be allowed access to your room at all hours (seeing Edward unknowingly watching her as she slept sent shivers down my spine - it's quite stalkerish in behaviour), that the girl can just toss aside her friendships for a boy that she only just met, that only the rich, handsome boys have a chance, that killing is alright if it's the bad guy that dies, wanting to end your life to be with the one you 'love' - et cetera. And this is just the first movie! Let's not mention that in the rest of the series there's unrealistic love triangles, suicide attempts (yes, more than one), unhealthy relationships, a lot of supernatural activity, violence galore, no responsibility for your actions, mentions of rape, sexual mentions, an horrific childbirth, 'ownership' of others, 'mild peadophilia' (Bella and Edward's child - who is a baby at the time - is bonded by Edward's rival for Bella's affections - Jake. This bond means that he is her 'guardian' with the intent to marry her when she's grown up - though apparently it's all up to her whether she wants it or not, but being brought up with the expectation would be hell on a childs psyche), subversion of major mythology (sparkling vampires? Try explaining that to any child with half a mind), people being eaten by vampires and major unrealistic expectations of female roles... just to name a few. To think that this is a good show for anyone whose mind is still developing and finding themselves is pure madness. The shallow characters show no actual emotions, and express their so-called love with a coldness that stuns. Add in the subversive themes of male dominance and lack of strength of any kind in the main female lead and you have a film that undermines many other more progressive shows with its pure blandness. I will admit that there are some good characters in the movie - Bella's father and the vampiress Alice among them, but alas, they are not enough to save this sham of a 'love story' from all its faults.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byMrA549 November 21, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

GAYNESS

ITS TRASH DONT EVER LET YOUR KIDS SEE THIS THEIR EYES WILL BE BURNING AND THEY WILL WANT TO COMMIT SUICIDE. IT HAS UNDERAGE SEX, BLASPHEMY, THEY TAKE COCAINE, NECROPHILIA AND BEASTIALITY WHO HAS SEX WITH FRICKIN VAMPIRES, SICK PERVERTS, BAN TWILIGHT!...
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bybianca7788 May 16, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

good

There is a scene that some parents might not like that is intense but besides that it is fine.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written by403-call-meee February 4, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

baddddddddd

this book is the worst book in the world
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 2 year old Written byLaLa25 November 8, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byTom_Gamer_Tom October 26, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Terrible Movie, but not that violent.

Twilight is like the teen nation at the moment, I personally think it is mindless drivel.. But here is my perspective. The violence, it involves vampires so there is going to be a little bit. A girl falls in love with a vampire, gets bitten. Its not really that bad at all. The film is but the content isn't.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 17 year old Written byjohnieb95 July 4, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Wonderful Movie that I got for Free

I love this movie, me and my family watch it every Friday night. We also get friends togethor and watch the whole Twilight series atleast once a month. I got this movie for free from www.prizerebel.com/index.php?r=1203929, which made me really happy that I didn't have to pay $20 for it.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 13 year old Written byErin6126 April 12, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great on DVD

Wasn't really that impressed. Although I hadn't read the series before seeing this movie. Enjoyed it several times on DVD since the reading.
Parent Written byPlague March 2, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Twilight

What is happening to vampire cenima? Seriously? Vampires are suppose to be blood-drunk contorted monsters. Not pale hormonal teenagers.
Parent of a 12 year old Written bychildrensrock February 24, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

twilight, bit to sexual....way to violent!!!!

my "little" 12 years old girl loves twilight but...i am just thin the movie is a little violent..i watched the movie with her once (she has seen twilight 6 times!) and i saw this part that was a bit sexual..and i don't think it is a good idea for kids under 13 years old to watch sexual stuff....and it was way too violent...but first my kiddo loves it....i will give it four stars
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 2, 4, and 4 year old Written byCourtneyB January 19, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 9 and 12 year old Written bywillowtrees November 20, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 11 year old Written byBrenda Jo November 20, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byTy3401 November 10, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Only for love drunk teenage girls.

Besides terrible directing... this movie definitely missed the mark. It had potential with good acting but the directing, again, ruined this movie. The only concern that I had is that at the end of the movie a 16 year old girl runs away with her boyfriend states away, and when found by her parents there where absolutely no consequences.

Pages