All member reviews for Walking with Dinosaurs

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Top-notch education (and entertainment) for dino fans.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 13 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old April 12, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old April 10, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
I watched this documentary film and its a pretty good nature film about dinosaurs.
Teen, 17 years old Written byBlue-Bunny February 11, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Great family-friendly show!

Hghly educational, and very entertaining. I can see why it's an Emmy winner. BTW, every dinosaur documentary has blood, so it doesn't come to much surprise. I got to admit, it has the least blood in all the dinosaur documentaries I've seen. Animation is superb. However, it was made in 1999, so some of the facts are a bit dated, but it's still good to watch.
Parent Written bypbryden April 26, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Walking with Dinosaurs a true delight for the Dino-Crazed

This is such an amazing show, but might scare the little ones who are not head-over-heels dinosaur crazy. Our budding palaeontologist was only five when watching them for the first time and no nightmares to report. The violence is not gratuitous, and is only used to demonstrate scientific facts. If you are shielding your kids from the truth about how the food chain really works, both historically and today, then (shame on you) perhaps this isn't your cup of tea.
Teen, 15 years old Written byMavrah333 February 6, 2015
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

If time travel existed, then besides the outdated effects this could be real!

There is plenty of violence, and some blood, but most children should be OK with this series. Not funny, nor childish, but it appeals to all ages, children (cuz its dinosaurs) and adults (cuz its interesting). There are six episodes, which each discuss a different subject. We have the dinosaurs' origins in episode 1, the Jurassic's finest land and sea monsters in 2 and 3, flying reptiles in 4, the Antarctic dinosaurs in 5, and (spoiler alert) the most likely theory of the extinction in 6.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byravenr August 22, 2014
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

It's a documentary not a cartoon

This show is perfect for kids! It's got thrills sadness and it's very fascinating! Not for 2 yr olds though because they are too stupid to listen to what the narrator has to say and they are too stupid to realize these creatures are extinct
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 3 year old Written bybrandelyn May 7, 2014
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

My preschooler's favorite!

This is my dinosaur-obsessed three-year-old's very favorite show - she loves to watch them one episode at a time or to binge-watch them when sick. She definitely snuggles into us and we have to explain things in matter-of-fact language (the sauropods getting burned alive is a rough part for her, as is everytime a baby gets eaten), but she continues to request it and enjoys it. Know your kid - I certainly wouldn't show this to ANY three year old - but it works well for mine!
Kid, 12 years old April 2, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Good for everyone

One of the best show of all time sometimes they show mating other than that its the best
What other families should know
Great messages
Educator and Parent of a 3 and 7 year old Written bykitkat2 January 30, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Educational, informative and hugely entertaining

My 3 year old and 7 year old have watched the series over and over again. They have been fascinated by dinosaurs all their lives. The series are educational, have an intriguing story and the technical effects are amazing. If you children love this they will also love the Nigel Marvin series.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 8 years old December 14, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

For Teens

theres blood that may frighten little kids
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent Written byPlague December 18, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Walking With Dinosaurs

I loved this movie when I watched it. Fun and educational.
Parent of a 6, 7, and 9 year old Written bysmille June 8, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
While violent, this is "nature" violence, in a documentary style, that has captured my kids' imaginations for years.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bySaqr April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY