Common Sense Media says

Not a superhero movie; a dark, gory, complex morality tale.

Users say

(out of 164 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bydemontre March 6, 2009

MY AWSOME REVIEW

IT WAS A REAL GOOD MOVIE & I WANT TO WATCH IT AGAIN!!!!
Adult Written bymetalheadsouthpark July 30, 2009

Easter Eggs you don't need...

This movie was tougher to rate overall than most, while specific characters were never good role models, the overall message of the movie was positive (the lessons good, the way they were learned, not so good). I loved this movie, especially considering I saw it in theaters, and am somewhat familiar with the novel (I have a copy I need to finish 100%!)... I would say this movie could have earned a NC-17, but because of the overall message, I would allow an average 16 year-old to watch it. The more inappropriate content is actually harder to find, I recently bought the "Director's Cut" Blu-Ray with digital copy; strangely the digital copy is the theatrical version, however, this time while watching, I noticed things I hadn't in theaters; The Comedian begins watching a movie, that looked as though it was setting up for pornographic content, and has a dirty magazine on his coffee table. During the scene where Adrian Veidt catches Rorschach and Night Owl treading in the snow, the movie the comedian was watching re-appears on the top monitor to the right of Veidt's head, and there are explicitly pornographic films playing on two other monitors, one visible fairly long. Another potentially offensive monitor showed a crucifix with Jesus' head replaced by that of a goat (this could be considered Satanic.) Veidt's monitors are shown often, but are only that clearly visible, at least with highly offensive content for that sequence. Other than these scenes the offensive content was fairly blatant. Good movie, fun to watch, and if your 13-15 year old kids aren't observant, you could let them watch, as long you will be there, and you may make it a one time deal, so that they don't find the offensive material!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Adult Written bybetsfio July 30, 2009

Over the top violence

I found this movie so over the top violent, that I left halfway through the movie. I would never want my kids to see this movie, at any age!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byawesomesauce52 October 24, 2013

watchmen, great movie

great SUPERHERO movie common sense got it WRONG. probably because they didnt even pay attention 2 the actual story.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byRobag October 30, 2009

Great movie

Honstly anyone who can understand that behind the gore and blood is a eep and intertwing story line..but most people, Espically mothers cant se past it wirch amazes me all in all a good movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byXtreme101 November 5, 2015

Fantastic Superhero Film Is One Of The Best Of The Decade

Actual Rating: 4.5 stars. Anyways, Watchmen was an intensely underrated movie when first released. But seeing the 3 hour 7 minute Director's Cut today, I honestly can't see why it got all the hate. I have not read the graphic Novel, so I can't compare them, but after seeing this, I really want it. Most people hate Zach Snyder for style over substance and being a little too faithful to the source material he's working with. Even going shot for shot in some scenes. But I found a lot of restraint in this movie, and I think he really tried to respect the characters to truly do justice to the Graphic Novel. Watchmen has an A-Game cast, with the big standout being Jackie Earl Haley as Rorshach. It's a little hard to explain, but he is dark, but can still convey a lot of emotion. He also has the coolest mask in comic book history. The other actor worth mentioning is Billy Crudup as Dr. Manhattan. From the trailer, I would've never guessed that he sounds like a regular dude. It was really weird hearing some godly man sound like a calmer version of that guy from Almost Famous (Yes, I know it's the same guy.) But one of the best things about Watchmen was the screenplay. Although the ending is a bit iffy and glossing over some important things, the rest of the movie nearly perfectly juggles every character and gives the right amount of time to every one of the Watchmen. A funny thing about this movie is that the best scene in the whole 3 hour plus shebang is the opening credits scene. I don't want to spoil it, but it's probably the best one I've ever seen in a movie (excluding most of David Fincher's work.) The rest of the movie, while still fantastic, isn't as good, so it may serve as a disappointment for some. The worst thing about it, though, are the fight scenes. They are at once awesome, and out of place. While I said that Zach Snyder focused much more on characters this time, it dosen't mean that he didn't totally amp the action. Butg all of these minor at best quibbles are irrelevant when viewed because this movie is an amazing experience. Visually and emotionally.(Edit: The visuals are great, especially Dr. Manhattan himself, but they mostly serve just to tell the story.) As for inappropriate stuff, there is a lot. The worst, a scene where one of the old Minute Men (It's complicated, just go with it.) tries to rape another. Luckily, he fails, and even dies if you're not satisfied:) A graphic sex scene, with breasts shown but no penis. Dr. Manhattan is naked most of the movie, and his underparts are shown, but there are no close-ups. For language, the F-Word is occasionally used, but it's nothing compared to the graphic sex and stuff. Also, none of the Watchmen, the main characters, are good role models. There's some social drinking and smoking, but nothing you couldn't show a 6 year old (not saying that's the target audience.) Overall, Watchmen is an essential Superhero film with great characters, screenplay, direction, and acting.
Teen, 15 years old Written byJoker15 July 2, 2009

Great plot, but very dark and vulgar

Watchmen is one of the most violent superhero films made so far along with Marvel's Punisher movies. the plot involves Ozymandias, the former founder of a group of superheros called Watchmen which includes Nite Owl II, Dr. Manhattan, Silk Spectre II and Rorscach, carrying out a devious plan to involves killing the Comedian (another Watchmen hero), framing Rorscach and destroying cities worldwide to end the Cold War which President Richard Nixon is failing to do. The plot was intresting and rewarding enough, but the film was bogged down, mostly in the second half, but un-needed, gory violence, racous sex and strong profanity. To start off with the violence, it was very strong and very bloody. Examples include a scene where a man has his arm fractured (the bone sticks out and blood spurts), gangsters are blown up (their blood and bones fly everywhere) and a man has his arms cut off by a buzzsaw (his bones are sticking out and blood pours from his former arms). Kids aged 15 and over could handle the graphic violence but may be disturbed by it. The sex and nudity is un called for as well. Dr. Manhattan is almost always nude, and we see his big blue penis. Nite Owl II and Silk Spectre II have sex in two scenes, where see his butt and (briefly) penis, and we see her nipples. Also, the Comedian almost rapes Silk Spectre I, but the only sexual thing we see is when he begins to unfasten his pants, and he is stopped. We also see a stripper's nipples, however, they are darkened. It is also implied that two couples are gay lovers. Kids under 16 or 17 should not watch the sex scenes. The language is very strong. F*** is said nearly 20 times, and BS, AH and SoB are also said. The role models are definitely not inspiring. These superheros are not heroic, they are vulgar, brutal and curse. The worst example is the Comedian, who uses guns as his weapons of choice, drinks and smokes frequently, almost always says the f-word, attempts to rape Silk Spectre I and shoots and kills a woman whom he had sex with. Basically, a strong theme of the film is that humans are vicious. Overall, kids under 15 should never see this film. It is even iffy with ages 15-16 and is age appropriate for 17 and up. The plot and acting were very well done, but if you haven't read the comic book, you'll be almost completely lost. As I said before, the gratuitous violence, sex and profanity bogg the film done. the storyling is also very dark and complex, and may disturb some. Overall, I give it three out of five.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 1, 3, 12, and 16 year old Written byNikkiV March 24, 2009

Not for kids

This movie is definitely not for kids. It was a very aesthetically beautiful movie and had great characters, but definitely too much for kids (almost too much for me). The violence is very intense and there are very explicit sex scenes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bysunshinegirll12 March 15, 2009

Good

I saw this movie with a bunch of my friends, age ranging from 13-15. I wasn't disturbed at all. The only boderline disturbing thing was the dog with the little girls leg, but that's about it. Yeah, the violence was kind of graphic, but it wasn't too bad, I mean I've seen worse. My dad had no problem letting me see this, and I told him about the violence and sex in it and he agreed that it probably wasn't the worst thing I've see in a movie before. There is a lot of nudity, but I don't really see the big deal. If it was a woman who had complete nudity in the movie, people wouldn't even be talking.
Adult Written byDanny21 February 25, 2016

Not suitable for people under 17.

It has three nude scenes including a sex scene (about 30 seconds long) and strong violent sequences. (Including gore)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bybeastmode556 October 22, 2015

Great movie but a little too violent

What I think about this movie was that it's really good but all the fight scenes in the movie was very violent and the movie has very explicit sexual content. Other than that the movie was amazing and I love it
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byTHFP September 29, 2016
Nice adaptation of the comic characters. A lot of swearing and inappropriate content.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bymoviemaker201 June 13, 2013

Underrated at times, I liked it.

Some people just don't like it. Either the reviews loved it or hated it. I personally think it was a good film. Although not as good as the book, I still don't hate it. The story follows a band of super heroes named the Watchmen, in an alternate 1985 in which costumed adventuring is outlawed and Richard Nixon is still president. Some have hung up the masks, but the brooding Rorschach (masterfully played by Jackie Earle Haley). When a former mask named Edward Blake, aka the Comedian gets murdered, Rorschach is on the case. His theory: someone is killing off masks. Nobody believes him, until former super hero Dr. Manhattan gets banished and a man granted super intelligence by the name of Adrian Veidt\Ozymandias is attempted to be assassinated. Is the sociopath Rorschach actually right?-----------------------Violence: 10\10 ----- Boy, if you thought the book was gory, wait till you see this! Lots of blood, beatings, implied butchery, and one particularly graphic though brief shot of a man's arm being crunched. (The skin rips, revealing bloody bone being crushed.) ---------- Sex: 7/10 ----- A sex scene or two, one definitely more graphic than the other. Thankfully, you only see the outline of sensitive parts. Dr. Manhattan wears no clothing, resulting in quite a bit of non-sexual nudity. ---------- Language: 9/10 ----- Comedian says a lot of F-Bombs when he's drunk. Some infrequent Sh-ts, H-lls, D-mns, and A words. --------- Drinking, Drugs, and Smoking: 6/10 ----- A woman is implied to have a drinking problem. Comedian and Silk Spectre smoke. Comedian is drunk sometimes. ---------- Overall, this is actually one of my favorite on the Zack Snyder catalogue, and I can't wait for Man of Steel. See you then!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old November 22, 2011

Watchmen is a good movie very long and very violent

This movie is very violent and good. The movies story line is very complicated to understand. I saw this movie when I was 9 and I had very bad violence and nudity. One character kind of looks scary but he aint scary. Buy this movie on blu-ray or DVD
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of an infant, 2, 4, 7, and 11 year old Written bylindsey678 January 29, 2011
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bygamenerd323 November 17, 2009

Second best superhero movie, best is and will be The Dark Knight

This movie is violent, but the violence is shown in an artistic manner, not just killing. There is explicit sex, but there is little nudity and it's not gross nor constant. I defintley liked watchmen, but like everyone else, I didn't like it as much as the dark knight.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byEntropy October 19, 2009

Great movie, but pretty graphic!

This is one of my favorite movies! Great plot, and awesome action sequences! However there is some pretty bad nudity, Dr.Manhatten walks around totally naked for a good portion of the movie... And there is some female frontal nudity as well. And one of the main female characters is almost raped. Other than that its a great movie!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great role models
Parent of a 8 year old Written byBuddyWeb August 22, 2009

Hard Edged Comic Book Mobie

For comic book fans, Watchmen represents one of the great story achievements for mature audiences. The film is as dark, scary, and brutal as the comic book, which means that it earns the Rated R rating. It's a long, but very good movie for adults. The violence is hard to watch, even for adults, but the story pays off. As an adult, I also recommend you check out the Watchmen comic series, but not with your children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byilikemusik23 July 23, 2009

A diffrent kind of superhero movie, but a great one!

I have to say that for 2009 Watchmen is deffintly one of my favorite films that has been released this year! It had everything that i was expecting! A dark story line, good action sequances etc etc. However im pretty sure most people know it's a superhero movie and a lot of kids like those kind of movies. Parents! TAKE THE R RATING SERIOUSLY ON THIS MOVIE!!! THIS IS NOT FOR ANY KIDS UNDER 16! There is lots of graphic violence throught the movie and some of it is rather disturbing, one character who isnt human is naked throught most of the film and his cgi penis is visable quite often, there is also a bit of swearing and a somewhat explicit sex scene. I read the graphic novel before seeing the movie and it followed the book which was also great very well. It's one of the ebst movie's ive seen this year but it's deffintly not for kids!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byBroDude May 15, 2009

Faithful to Source

I read the Graphic Novel, which I enjoyed, and the movie was faithful, in spirit and message, to the novel. The Cinematography was beautiful, the acting and actor selection was nearly perfect, character development was good too. This movie, like the novel, begs the watcher to ask themselves about human nature and good versus evil. Like the book it made me feel uneasy and it affected me on a gut level in a strange way. This movie is as good as your going to get in an adaption of a comic book. Yes, there were moments of brilliance but something was lacking. Maybe to slow at times, cheesy at others, and it felt inconsistent with itself (if that makes sense). I was rated R, so I expected violence, language, and some nudity (This was the director of 300). I did have a problem with one sex scene that was attune to a skin-a-max late night movie; it was over the top and not necessary. Definately not for kids under 16. Not a popcorn movie or date movie, but is a make you think movie. Ps. I am thirty, the review options would not allow me to go past 17.
What other families should know
Too much sex

Pages