All member reviews for Watchmen

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Not a superhero movie; a dark, gory, complex morality tale.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 147 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bymetalheadsouthpark July 30, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Easter Eggs you don't need...

This movie was tougher to rate overall than most, while specific characters were never good role models, the overall message of the movie was positive (the lessons good, the way they were learned, not so good). I loved this movie, especially considering I saw it in theaters, and am somewhat familiar with the novel (I have a copy I need to finish 100%!)... I would say this movie could have earned a NC-17, but because of the overall message, I would allow an average 16 year-old to watch it. The more inappropriate content is actually harder to find, I recently bought the "Director's Cut" Blu-Ray with digital copy; strangely the digital copy is the theatrical version, however, this time while watching, I noticed things I hadn't in theaters; The Comedian begins watching a movie, that looked as though it was setting up for pornographic content, and has a dirty magazine on his coffee table. During the scene where Adrian Veidt catches Rorschach and Night Owl treading in the snow, the movie the comedian was watching re-appears on the top monitor to the right of Veidt's head, and there are explicitly pornographic films playing on two other monitors, one visible fairly long. Another potentially offensive monitor showed a crucifix with Jesus' head replaced by that of a goat (this could be considered Satanic.) Veidt's monitors are shown often, but are only that clearly visible, at least with highly offensive content for that sequence. Other than these scenes the offensive content was fairly blatant. Good movie, fun to watch, and if your 13-15 year old kids aren't observant, you could let them watch, as long you will be there, and you may make it a one time deal, so that they don't find the offensive material!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Adult Written bybetsfio July 30, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Over the top violence

I found this movie so over the top violent, that I left halfway through the movie. I would never want my kids to see this movie, at any age!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bydemontre March 6, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

MY AWSOME REVIEW

IT WAS A REAL GOOD MOVIE & I WANT TO WATCH IT AGAIN!!!!
Adult Written byBroDude May 15, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Faithful to Source

I read the Graphic Novel, which I enjoyed, and the movie was faithful, in spirit and message, to the novel. The Cinematography was beautiful, the acting and actor selection was nearly perfect, character development was good too. This movie, like the novel, begs the watcher to ask themselves about human nature and good versus evil. Like the book it made me feel uneasy and it affected me on a gut level in a strange way. This movie is as good as your going to get in an adaption of a comic book. Yes, there were moments of brilliance but something was lacking. Maybe to slow at times, cheesy at others, and it felt inconsistent with itself (if that makes sense). I was rated R, so I expected violence, language, and some nudity (This was the director of 300). I did have a problem with one sex scene that was attune to a skin-a-max late night movie; it was over the top and not necessary. Definately not for kids under 16. Not a popcorn movie or date movie, but is a make you think movie. Ps. I am thirty, the review options would not allow me to go past 17.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byIronZombie75 November 4, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Amazing super-hero/morality tale for Mature older teens: 14-15+

This is an amazing movie! Warning parnets, this movie is VERY dark, violent, and adult. Contains Graphic Bloody Violence, including, a guy getting both his arms sawed off with a circular saw, brutal hand-to-hand violence, with graphically breaking bones and blood squirting, and people exploding from the inside out with gory details. Also contains some full male nudty, female nudity, graphic sex, and some language, as well as adult themes. But its an amazing movie i would recomend it! :P
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bydaniel.nicholas... July 22, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Horrible movie, way too long.

Saw this movie at the midnight release and wasted my time with it. I also have read the book, and hated it as well. It's just a boring and really roundabout was of telling a simple story. Very violent slow motion fight scenes and pointless sex scenes make this inappropriate for 15/16 and under.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byilikemusik23 July 23, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

A diffrent kind of superhero movie, but a great one!

I have to say that for 2009 Watchmen is deffintly one of my favorite films that has been released this year! It had everything that i was expecting! A dark story line, good action sequances etc etc. However im pretty sure most people know it's a superhero movie and a lot of kids like those kind of movies. Parents! TAKE THE R RATING SERIOUSLY ON THIS MOVIE!!! THIS IS NOT FOR ANY KIDS UNDER 16! There is lots of graphic violence throught the movie and some of it is rather disturbing, one character who isnt human is naked throught most of the film and his cgi penis is visable quite often, there is also a bit of swearing and a somewhat explicit sex scene. I read the graphic novel before seeing the movie and it followed the book which was also great very well. It's one of the ebst movie's ive seen this year but it's deffintly not for kids!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byShinigami1994 October 22, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Dark, complex, and f*****g wonderful.

This is an in-freaking-credible movie based off of an in-freaking-credible book. There are copious amounts of sex and violence, but still a good movie. And as a response to EmmaGirly89's review, let me make this perfectly clear. YOU ARE A TEN-YEAR-OLD. You shouldn't even be watching R-rated movies, let alone morality tales. The story made perfect sense to me, it's just too complex for young kids. Let me give you the rundown. This takes place in an alternate 1985, where vigilantes walk among regular people. Russia is fighting with the US during the Cold War at the time, and they have acquired nuclear weapons. Ozymandias prevents world war 3 by blowing up New York by forcing Dr. Manhattan to do so. Rorschach and Nite Owl attempt to stop him, but are too late. Now, the US and Russia are forced to team up to stop Dr. Manhattan. Rorschach is killed because he would have told everyone what had really happened, thus ruining the peace between US and Russia. Still don't follow? That's because this is not a good versus evil superhero movie. This is a dark, complex morality tale that should not be viewed by anyone under the age of fifteen. In other words, if you are under the age of fifteen, you will not understand this movie. It is simply too adult. Read into these things next time before you make a faulty movie review. ;D
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byEntropy October 19, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great movie, but pretty graphic!

This is one of my favorite movies! Great plot, and awesome action sequences! However there is some pretty bad nudity, Dr.Manhatten walks around totally naked for a good portion of the movie... And there is some female frontal nudity as well. And one of the main female characters is almost raped. Other than that its a great movie!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byluvanger October 11, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Dark, violent, apocalyptic, and... thought-provoking.

First of all, while this film is great, it's not a normal superhero film or even a normal action film. The "heroes" in it are usually just as bad as the villains. There's not a whole lot of action in it; its appeal relies mostly on the philosophy and politics of the storyline. There is a message about good and evil, but whether its positive or not depends on how you interpret it (the movie gives no clear answers). There's a lot of thought-provoking scenes and heavy subjects, including items about nuclear war, human extinction, the morality of killing people who have done wrong, revenge, the existence of God, and the necessity of violence in certain situations. Not stuff that you want your two year-old hearing about, or at least not on this level. And despite the fact that it's a great discussion piece for older teens who can understand the meanings of the complex situations within the film, it's really not for youngsters. Violence is frequent and extremely explicit, showing a man's face get dissolved with hot french fry oil, people's limbs being broken into pieces with an audible crack, a pedophile's head being sliced and struck over and over again with a meat cleaver, a man's arms getting sawed off, and two dogs fighting over the last bone of a murdered young girl. Your typical R-rated language is used occasionally, and there are several sex scenes, a couple of which are quite steamy, plus some nudity (mostly a humanoid but godlike character who is colored blue). As you can see, everything in this movie is heavy to the extreme. There is no reason in the world that a child should see this movie, but every reason in the world that older teens should see it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 17 year old Written bymikeabc123 October 12, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
am 14 and i love it its a great movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bystew February 5, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

perfect for mature kids and audiences

I loved this movie i mean after i read the book or graphic novel if you will i dressed up as the comedian when we went to see it in theaters.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byRobag October 30, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great movie

Honstly anyone who can understand that behind the gore and blood is a eep and intertwing story line..but most people, Espically mothers cant se past it wirch amazes me all in all a good movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 14 year old Written byMr. Boxbox September 23, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
not nearly as extreme as people say it is. contains suprisingly very few violent or sexual scenes. its a bit too long and gets kinda boring, but its stylish with great effects. the opening sequence with the comedian was excellent. ON for teens and even tweens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byTiredofSexScenes July 23, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

don't recommend it at all actually

boring, but yet very violent in parts, sex scenes really unnecessary, seemed like they didn't have anything better to do so they dragged it out with that garbage... big disappointment overall, wish I had read this first, wouldn't have bothered.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byktmae March 10, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Parent's, what are you thinking?

Anyone who says this movie is ok for kids to watch is obviously too imature themselves to understand why it isn't. As if there isn't enough nudity and sex not to mention violence on TV, kids are being exposed to it through comic book characters. Please parents, you shouldn't be allowing your kids to watch these types of movies. If you didn't know the content until it was too late, do your homework first. I'm not comfortable watching graphic sex scenes so I can imagine what a kid is thinking. Film makers need to tone down what's on the screen. There is a separate industry for porn.
Adult Written byPoint_Particle April 14, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Appropriate for a 13 y/o for a 15/16yo who can analytically look at the story.

This movie, along with the comic, is one of the best stories of my generation. It is very gritty and graphic story line, but that is not always a bad thing. The movie highlights many of the less favorable traits of humanity, and it shows throughout the story how some characters become "horrid" and how others view the negative human traits. This film, for me is a philosophical adventure and i think if you want to watch it with your younger children, you should discuss what the point of the film was on a philosophical level. Talk about what the author and director wanted the audience to get out of the movie. P.S.: Some people really hate this movie, which i can understand, it was written by a semi insane(in my opinion) genius author. The story is very deep and everything from why Dr. Manhattan is naked to the horrible things the comedian commits has a reason. Go into this movie with an open mind.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byJoker15 July 2, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great plot, but very dark and vulgar

Watchmen is one of the most violent superhero films made so far along with Marvel's Punisher movies. the plot involves Ozymandias, the former founder of a group of superheros called Watchmen which includes Nite Owl II, Dr. Manhattan, Silk Spectre II and Rorscach, carrying out a devious plan to involves killing the Comedian (another Watchmen hero), framing Rorscach and destroying cities worldwide to end the Cold War which President Richard Nixon is failing to do. The plot was intresting and rewarding enough, but the film was bogged down, mostly in the second half, but un-needed, gory violence, racous sex and strong profanity. To start off with the violence, it was very strong and very bloody. Examples include a scene where a man has his arm fractured (the bone sticks out and blood spurts), gangsters are blown up (their blood and bones fly everywhere) and a man has his arms cut off by a buzzsaw (his bones are sticking out and blood pours from his former arms). Kids aged 15 and over could handle the graphic violence but may be disturbed by it. The sex and nudity is un called for as well. Dr. Manhattan is almost always nude, and we see his big blue penis. Nite Owl II and Silk Spectre II have sex in two scenes, where see his butt and (briefly) penis, and we see her nipples. Also, the Comedian almost rapes Silk Spectre I, but the only sexual thing we see is when he begins to unfasten his pants, and he is stopped. We also see a stripper's nipples, however, they are darkened. It is also implied that two couples are gay lovers. Kids under 16 or 17 should not watch the sex scenes. The language is very strong. F*** is said nearly 20 times, and BS, AH and SoB are also said. The role models are definitely not inspiring. These superheros are not heroic, they are vulgar, brutal and curse. The worst example is the Comedian, who uses guns as his weapons of choice, drinks and smokes frequently, almost always says the f-word, attempts to rape Silk Spectre I and shoots and kills a woman whom he had sex with. Basically, a strong theme of the film is that humans are vicious. Overall, kids under 15 should never see this film. It is even iffy with ages 15-16 and is age appropriate for 17 and up. The plot and acting were very well done, but if you haven't read the comic book, you'll be almost completely lost. As I said before, the gratuitous violence, sex and profanity bogg the film done. the storyling is also very dark and complex, and may disturb some. Overall, I give it three out of five.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 3, 5, 7, and 12 year old Written byram2989 July 19, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Be very aware!!!

My husband and I saw this movie because we had arrived too late to see the movie we originally had planned for. This movie is just shocking and horrible. I'm not even very picky and was just mortified at this show. I felt terrible for the parents in the movie who had kids with them (they appeared to be about 12-14 yrs old). They had to walk out. My husband and I did after about and hour. We had just had too much. I would not recommend this movie for anyone under 18. It is shocking that it was even rated R. It seems like rated X would be more appropriate. Please do not let your children see this!! You will regret it!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 12 year old Written bybobdylan June 15, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great adaptation of comic book but VERY violent

Many people are killed in violent and gruesome ways. The "heroes" do many unheroic acts, such as breaking the bones of robbers, attempting to rape a fellow heroin, gorily murdering a pedophile and killing/disabling dozens of inmates in a prison. There is also one extremely overdone sex scene which proves that Zach Snyder has issues. Also many bad words (one person says the F-word almost every other second). Good story but too much violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages