All member reviews for West Side Story

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Musical masterpiece tackles race, with some violence.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 32 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 8 years old September 24, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Phenomenal movie, soundtrack and script.

Kinda violent, profane, sexual....but great lessons about race and a well-written script. one of the best films i’ve ever seen.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old March 30, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

WATCH THIS!!

I love this play/movie. Well I did, but then I got cast as Maria in our school play and Kai's (who plays tony) breath smells terrible! It is so hard to sing duets with him!! I wanted to be a jet, maybe chino (even though I'm a girl) This movie is great! Watch it, or you will be missing out on an amazing movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old March 12, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Awesomeness!

One of the best movies of all time. I am currently in a play of "West Side Story", starring as Maria, and so I've watched it many times. The stabbing and rumble scene is kind of violent. Girls might feel sad about the Jets taunting Anita (I did!). Overall, one of the best movies (and musicals!).
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byEquestrian.Samantha March 9, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Absolutely Spectacular

West Side Story, I believe, is a classis for all ages. It is based on Shakespeare's Romeo & Juliet. You really feel for the characters by the end, as if you know them. A must see.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 26, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Musical

I love this movie, it's really good. The only thing to look out for is the violence, because of the gangs.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old October 13, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

cool songs but very sad

i love this movie its got some great songs in but maybe a little too sad.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byRubberSoul August 17, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great and Brilliant

We saw this in school, and it was really cool. Really nice, and everyone should see it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written bycopperzinc May 29, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byrmgondella April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

High Art But Not For Children

We thought we'd let our 9 and 6 year olds see this one... Boy what a mistake! The violence is visceral, there's a great deal of hate language to explain, and at the end of the day, a musical in this context is hard to explain... Like, why are they singing and dancing when they're killing and beating each other up? A pretty good bet for a high school junior or senior, when prefaced with the proper sociological background. But no matter how good the movie is (and it's one of the best ever) it is definitely NOT suitable for children 16 or under.
Teen, 14 years old Written bykidreviewer April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A powerful story

West Side Story is one of the most moving and powerful movies you will ever see. It brings up very important issues about the lines between races and cultures, and what can happen if people think those lines shouldn't be crossed. It really made me think about how horribly people will act if they refuse to accept people from other cultures. I loved this movie, and thought it had very good music, but this is not a good movie for younger children.
Teen, 13 years old Written bySportGirl548@aol.com April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byKeds43@aol.com April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

GREAT MUSIC!

I LOOOOOOOOVE West Side Story. It was really entertaining and the songs were outstanding! My favorite is probably America. Some of the lyrics to that are really funny like the character Bernardo says, "I think I go back to San Juan," and his girlfriend Anita says, "I know a boat you can get on!" Bernardo: "Uh-huh! Everyone there will give big cheer!" Anita: "Everyone there will have moved here!" I also like the dance at the gym. The dancing is amazing. I think some really emotional people will cry at the end of this movie. If they ever make a re-make, Vanessa Anne Hudgens and Zac Efron should play the leading roles of Maria and Tony.
Teen, 14 years old Written bybookfriend1993 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Pages