All member reviews for What's Up, Doc?

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

'70s screwball comedy is lot of fun for the whole family.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 8 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byZaphrodite September 7, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Love!

I loved this movie. I first watched it when I was 7 and I fell in love with it. I have always loved old movies. Common Sense didn't go into detail about this movie. There is plenty of sexual stuff and innuendos(it will not go over little kid's heads) but its pretty okay for all the other stuff they show on TV.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Adult Written byWhatdoIthink? April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Well this movie is kinda boring, but not awful, if you want to see Barbara Streisand @ her best, see For Pete's Sake.
Adult Written byrufusmom April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

a laugh a minute

This is one of my (and my kids) favorite movies. Some friends of ours got upset with the 2 or 3 episodes where there was alcohol served (champagne), and God's name was used flippantly a few times. Other than that, and a kiss between the two main characters at the end of the movie, this is one of the best movies ever made!
Adult Written byll2 November 17, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

For the Whole Family

I grew up watching this as a kid in the 70's and it made me fall in love with movies. So when I had kids, I knew I'd want to show it to them, too. We've watched it many times and it never stops being laugh out loud funny. Oh, how I WISH that there were more movies like this out in the world. And as far as kids being exposed to adult themes, romance, etc., this film is wonderfully benign -- I've seen much worse in the cartoons that are supposed to be geared for kids.
Parent of a 12 year old Written bycrankylibrarian January 3, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great screwball humor, with some dated sexual politics

Great screwball humor, with some dated sexual politics. See if your kids can keep straight who's got which suitcase, and watch for the marvelous chase scene down San Francisco's Lombard street. Concerns: Madeline Kahn's character is constantly mocked for her appearance and shrewishness, and there is a distasteful rape joke near the end.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 and 13 year old Written byWWR April 30, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Lots of fun

This movie is lots of fun and will have you laughing. There are some great characters in the film. My kids, 10 and 12, both enjoyed it and did us adults.
Parent of a 14 year old Written byChicagoan December 7, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Enjoyable by everyone

A funny, silly movie that we've enjoyed watching several times. I first saw it as a young adult, and I was afraid that it would be dated and boring for my teenager, and was gratified that she also found it hilarious. I'm not sure that it would engage the interest of really young kids.
Adult Written bymoviemadness February 10, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great Family Film

My sisters and I used to watch this almost every weekend when we were children. The story is funny, slightly predictable, and full of hilarious situations. There is no real sexuality, except for a makeout scene behind a piano and a little innuendo that will go over younger kids' heads. The violence is also minor, but there is shooting (no one is hurt) and some chase scenes that end up severely damaing other people's property. Bottom line: it's a great film, but not for kids under eight.