All member reviews for Where the Wild Things Are

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Sometimes-dark adaptation focuses on friendship, loneliness.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 293 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byBrandon4News April 13, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Iffy stuff, Very Good

Thins movie is quite the wild thing. It is actually quite dark and contains some disturbing stuff. Young viewers will surely be shocked by the wild things using some mild language and a boy's terrible treatment of others. This is a brilliantly shot and scored film, worthy of praise and maybe a Blu-Ray purchase for the amazing visual ride.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byKryslawlor April 12, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Do not buy it, rent it or watch it

Despised it. It was awful- I usually pre-screen movies I think might be questionable for my kids. Unfortunately I didn't with this one. It was awful, depressing, brooding, disturbing, dark and weird. I would not recommend this movie for anyone, ever. I wish I could get it out of my head, and even more so my children's! Do not buy it, rent it or watch it. Seriously.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old April 12, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

:-(

it is vary SAD:(
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byperfectionist April 11, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

I like this movie.

Cool movie! I was so excited when I heard that Where The Wild Things Are was being made into a movie because it was my favorite book when I was younger. If you read the book you have to see this movie!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old April 7, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Not appropriate for ages 6 and under.

This movie was okay in my opinoun. For some reason my mom just loves the movie. I give it four stars, which is pretty good. This movie have a bit of scariness in one of the parts, which made me a bit frightned. The movie is good for another reason because it teaches you a big lesson. Also, KW is a very huge role-model. She loves her friends even if she is friends with owls, she is caring, and I just don't know, she has nice characteristics. Good movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 17 year old Written byMovie Critic April 5, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Definitely not?

How did this movie make it into theaters? This is the worst movie I've ever seen in my life. I reccomend you dont see this movie unless you feel like wasting your time.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old April 3, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

I rate this bad for for people 2 +

No ones happy despite being advertised as a happy movie carol is flat out confusing mostly every one acts anti social , kind of disturbing .over all bad
Educator and Parent of a 8 and 11 year old Written bykfogarty March 30, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Pick a different flick.

I thought this was one of the worst films I've ever seen. It was dark, cryptic, disturbing -- and neither one of my children liked it at all. Almost all of the characters needed some sort of mental health therapy and we were left guessing what the director was trying to communicate. A very bizarre adaption....
Parent of a 4 year old Written byMoondee March 30, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Maybe rent it, but definitely do not buy it.

The movie dragged on. The positive message that the movie had was strongly overshadowed by bad role model issues.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old March 25, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Not a good movie dull but at least it showed a good message.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old March 24, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great film for kids.

A bit funny. Really funny when the main character (I forgot, it's been a while since I watched it) is really funny when he has a tantrum and goes to that islands full of some mental monsters!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 9 year old Written byOregon momma March 21, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Aghast......

I was so disappointed by this movie. It was not advertised as an "older" child or adult movie. I found the arm being ripped off of a character a bit much. As well as the talk about cutting out intruders' brains... I was disturbed by this stinking movie and I'm 27. The only good part was when Max went home.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old March 20, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

BADDDDDDDD!!!!!!

this was a REALLY BAD movie the people in it were REALLY freaky especially carol and the max guy has spazz attacks i didn't like the part where KW put max in her stomach that was gross....
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old March 19, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 3 and 5 year old Written bycatht March 19, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old March 16, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Max and K.W.'s relationship

What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 2 and 3 year old Written byrickylynne76 March 16, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Now there's two hours I'll never get back...

In a child's book made into a full length movie, I expect plot events to be, you know, added. (Think, Polar Express, etc.) Here, it's just the events from the very short book, spread over time mixed with sleeping in a pile, throwing dirt, and many violent and petty arguments. Some have said it's all metaphorical, that each wild thing represents parts of Max or his family. However, I don't believe we know enough about his family to make any informed connections. We only see them at the very beginning, centered mostly around truly disturbing behavior in Max. Honestly, he needs evaluation and probably medication. Max looks to be about age 10 or 11, and my 3-year-old would be in trouble for behaving as immaturely as he does. So, if you are in a Child Psych 101 class, analyze it in your thesis paper, include which wild thing is who and why...knock yourself out. However, as a movie experience: dark, depressing, and so boring, even the mother character falls asleep at the end.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 9 year old Written byBill12345 March 15, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Don't waste your money on the DVD

I hated this movie. It is not for kids. It was like Woody Allen without being funny. Characters were neurotic, dark and sulking, and self-absorbed, like real people. This was a pitiful adaptation of a wonderful kids book. Don't take your kids; they will be bored. .
Kid, 11 years old March 14, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
wow from the comments this movie sucked
Kid, 10 years old March 14, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Why We Should Concider It An Age Apropriate For 5+

i think its a very good film and we should try concidering it for ages 5+
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages

Pages