All member reviews for White House Down

Common Sense Media says

Patriotic thriller is ridiculous, violent, and entertaining.
 

Users say

(out of 43 reviews)
age 12+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byswimgirl28 June 29, 2013
 

Highly Recommended

I really enjoy this movie. The whole thing ket me on the edge of my seat. My heart wouldn't stop pounding. I also enjoyed the humor they added in. Just don't go to this movie if you are just looking for humor. Just be warned there are gun battles, hand to hand combat, and explosions. There are frequent uses of s***. Overall my movie ticket was definitely worth it.
Kid, 12 years old June 28, 2013
 

Great Message

Really good! Kept me at the edge of my seat. Can be good for kids if they think positive or make jokes through out the movie. Has an overall wonderful message and countless role models anyone could learn from. There WAS hostages, airplanes falling out of the sky, loud bangs, explosives, highly powerful weapons (and A LOT of them, basically at least 4 in each scene) and fire.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byMadbananas June 28, 2013
 

Great movie! Violence is a issue.

There is a lot of violence. Lots of blowing up too. Language is also a issue. Over all its a great movie. Good for 11, or 12 year olds and up.
Kid, 10 years old February 20, 2014
 

Excellent movie avoids gore!

Olympus Has Fallen without blood and gore, and extremely strong language is what this movie is except better! Honestly, this movie rocks and is one of my favorite movies ever! The violence is pretty strong but avoids gore. There is strong but not extremely strong language. The sex is mild although there is a scene of a thermal scope aiming in on a couple having sex (not graphic, meant for laughs). A man is seen on a plane holding a drink and drinking it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Parent Written byteddymom July 31, 2013
 

Ridiculous move

Ridiculous movie - too much violence, too much language, too little believability.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byAngelbb July 9, 2013
 

I Love God, hearing the 3rd commandment hurts my heart. The movie is out

This movie uses a lot of "G D". Taking the lords name in vain. It's time we state our opinions on how we'd like to go to a movie without having GD jammed down our throats. It appears those who make these types of movies only care about one type of audience. Vin Diezel said he could make a movie without using a lot of swear words or GD & proved it, The movies are: Chronicles of Riddick & XXX. The f bomb we kinda understand sometimes, come on every 4th word. The D word is another word we understand, but every 10th word. Are the now producers really choking for words, that "nothing" will fit but a swear word. Total brilliance! NOT! Change the swear words from GD to something less offensive to all that love GOD. Then watch the lines grow at the box offices. Remember, many cultures believe in God. Once a believer hears the GD word; we leave & a notice to our church is sent. From there it goes viral all across the country. We must not forget those who just hate swearing.
Written byAnonymous October 10, 2014
 

White House Down review

========================================================= Sex/Nudity: An infrared scan is made through a sniper rifle scope of a suspicious apartment near the White House. But it turns out to show a couple having sex missionary style (we just see their heat signatures in human body form, but the view is from a distance and very brief). A woman John knows tell him he must promise her dinner and that he'll try to get to second base with her. Carol shows a tiny bit of cleavage. 4/10. ========================================================= Violence: We see that a terrorist acting as a janitor has a bomb. He then wheels that into the Capitol rotunda and leaves it there as its timer ticks down. That's followed by a massive explosion that presumably kills many people and wounds more, while also blowing out the glass panels on the Capitol Dome via a huge fireball. We later see the dome on fire, followed by it collapsing in an even later scene. We see a painting of the British burning of the White House in 1812, along with armed soldiers standing around. We see some explosions on a film playing in the White House theater. Stenz repeatedly shoots a person in the White House followed by him and his team doing the same to others (shooting and killing many people -- but with no viewed bloody results). Some of Stenz's team shoots and kills Secret Service snipers atop the White House and then use their sniper rifles to shoot some people down on the ground. Emily hides as she sees the terrorists shoot various people with machine guns inside the White House. Killick shoots people with a machine gun and then tries shooting John who runs for cover, barely avoiding the bullets. A bad guy fires a large machine gun at a news helicopter. A bad guy shoots a machine gun at John who then shoots that man with his handgun (the terrorist's machine gun fires wildly but hits no one), followed by John kicking that man's body in anger. Walker shoots and kills many of his own men, followed by John firing at him so that President Sawyer can escape (while Walker also fires back at John). John hits one bad guy, uses the machine gun of a second to shoot a third, and then hits another bad guy. John and various bad guys engage in a machine gun battle. Stenz shoots and kills the Secretary of Defense. Killick spots Emily and she hides in a closet where she tries to upload a photo she's taken of him and other bad guys. He then threatens to shoot into that closet, prompting her to come out. He then grabs her and takes her into another room of hostages where he throws her to the floor. Donnie tries to ask Killick to be careful around the priceless pieces of art in the White House, prompting Killick to break a vase on purpose. John shoots two bad guys and gets into a hard fight with another in a kitchen in the White House (with lots of blows and smashing into things while John also avoids being shot with a machine gun and handgun), all while President Sawyer kicks another bad guy in the face to get his machine gun. President Sawyer then aims that at John and the bad guy, and riddles the latter after John elbows the villain in the face and gets away from him. Stenz hits Emily on the head and then holds a handgun on her and Donnie. Walker hears President Sawyer and John who are hiding in a dumbwaiter. John fires up at Walker when he peers down into that shaft. President Sawyer and John discover a way out through a tunnel has been wired with explosives, with the bad guys alerted to their location. The latter run that way, all while John shoots at them as he and President Sawyer try to get through another locked door. President Sawyer and John blast out of the White House in an armored limo, with the bad guys shooting at them with machine guns and then giving chase in other vehicles, resulting in lots of driving around in circles on the White House grounds. One vehicles smacks into their limo, while a huge machine gun blasts it from another. During the chase, one vehicle has a severe crash, while a nearby Army tank is called into service and fires at those on the roof of the White House. They then fire back with an RPG that hits the tank and explodes, disabling it. Another RPG is fired at the limo, barely missing it, while President Sawyer retries a rocket launcher from inside the limo and shoots one of the White House gates. But another RPG hits the limo and flips it over into a swimming pool where it sinks. President Sawyer and John get out (with the latter holding a gun on the President to keep the villains at bay), with President Sawyer then throwing a grenade at the bad guys who flee to avoid the explosion. President Sawyer and John run back inside the White House, with the bad guys then riddling that room with machine gun fire, not realizing a large propane (or similar) tank is inside. It's hit, resulting in a massive explosion that blows back Walker and Stenz. Delta Force choppers approach the White House, but one is shot and crashes. A second is also hit and crashes, while Killick fires his machine gun at a third. John shoots several bad guys atop the White House and has a hard fight with Stenz, but the third chopper is hit and crashes into the roof, with its rotor slicing down through the ceiling of the room where hostages are being held, and it stops right up against Donnie (he's unharmed). John and Stenz continue to fight, including John hitting Stenz on the head with a brick (or similar), followed by both falling through a glass roof/ceiling and landing hard on a piano. That's followed by more blows, Stenz firing a machine gun at John who runs and jumps/crashes through a closed window, and then doing the same at John who's landed in the shrubs below and runs for cover. Skip fires a missile that hits Air Force One in midair, resulting in an explosion that tears the plane apart, resulting in the unseen deaths of the Vice President and others. Stenz shoots one guy and then violently grabs Emily. Walker holds a handgun under Emily's chin and then to the side of her head, threatening to shoot her if President Sawyer doesn't give him nuclear launch codes. John sets fire to the White House living quarters as a distraction. John slices and presumably kills two bad guys. John throws a grenade at Killick who kicks it back at him, prompting John to dive for cover as it explodes. Killick then goes up to kill John, but Donnie hits Killick with something heavy, downing him. He then proceeds to pummel him with that (we don't see the presumably fatal blows). Skip goes to escape, but a previously rigged fence in a tunnel explodes, killing him. Walker kills one person. President Sawyer stabs Walker in the back with a pen, but Walker then hits President Sawyer several times, incapacitating him. Stenz hits and kicks John several times. SPOILER ALERT: President Sawyer hits Walker and avoids being shot during the fight. But Walker manages to shoot President Sawyer in the chest, seemingly killing him (we later learn that the bullet was deflected). SPOILER ALERT: Stenz beats up John and prepares to stab him, but John stabs Stenz instead. He then wraps a line of grenades around Stenz's neck and takes cover as they explode. SPOILER ALERT: To stop Walker from launching nuclear missiles, John drives a car through the wall and into Walker. He then gets out and blasts Walker dead with machine gun fire. 7.5/10. ========================================================= Blood/Gore: One man has a slightly blood-soaked bandage on his hand. Two men are stabbed. (no blood) Stenz has some blood from his nose. We see a small pool of blood next to a downed villain. We see some blood on President Sawyer's shirt around a glass shard sticking out of his torso. One person has a bloody face. Stenz has blood on his face following a fight with John. John has a bloody nose. President Sawyer's face is bloody. 5.5/10. ========================================================= Profanity: At least 1 "f" word (and another possible one), 27 "s" words, 1 slang term using male genitals ("pr*ck"), 8 hells, 6 damns, 5 asses (all used with "hole"), 5 S.O.B.'s, 3 bitches, and 12 uses of "G-damn," 10 of "Oh my God," 4 of "Jesus," 2 of "Jesus Christ," and 1 use each of "God," "Oh Jesus" and "Swear to God" as exclamations. 5.5/10. ========================================================= Alcohol/Drugs: Walker has a drink. 0.5/10. ========================================================= Smoking: Skip might have a lit cigarette near him in two scenes (we see smoke wafting up near him from something unseen). We see smoking cessation gum in a drawer in President Sawyer's living quarters and he chomps on some vigorously, asking John if he smokes. John says no, with President Sawyer saying he doesn't either. We see a past photo of one villain who has a cigarette. 1/10. ========================================================= White House Down is an entertaining (but ridiculous) Die Hard-type action film and is worth a watch for fans of the genre. I give it 6.5/10. =========================================================
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 14 year old Written byMovielover02 January 28, 2014
 

One of my favorite movies!

Great movie with lots of action but pretty fine for kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old January 5, 2014
 

Movie of the Year

Perfect. Patriotic, paced and plotted. I loved it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written bySam Donder December 14, 2013
 

WHD is violent, funny, and a great ride

WHD is a good thriller with lots of action, and laughs. There is a high body count and many white house guards are shot by intruders and civilians including a little girl, are held hostage by armed men. There is also many explosions that kill several people. Though some of this violence is played for laughs. The bad guys intentions behind their actions in this movie are more believable than some action movies. Overall this movie this movie has a high body count, but is fun and action fans will enjoy it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byJacktheCool August 13, 2013
 

Nice Film

if you count this movie violent, then you are wrong. If you take a closer look, there are almost no blood when a man got shot! Nice movie! But still, some part of this movie is not suitable for little kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byEmma80slover July 9, 2013
 

AWESOME

Awesome movie!!! Very violent and action-packed! Some bad language though. Overall, amazing!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old July 3, 2013
 

Wonderful movie!!! Not to be missed!

This was a great movie. There was, however, a lot of violence. There are several explosions/grenades, and more shooting/gunfire scenes that I can count. There is also a swear word about every 5 minutes. There is a lot of product placement of Kleenex and well known car brands. Even with this, it was a fantastic movie. :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 8 years old May 15, 2015
 

Extremely violent, crazy ride is way to graphic for kids.

My rating R for: strong gruesome violence, language, drug reference, including gory images.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byAwesomeness142 February 25, 2015
 

Best movie ever!!!

It is an intense thriller with a lot of violence and language
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Written byAnonymous December 26, 2014
 

Pretty awkward movie has violent situations and sex scenes

My rating:PG-13 for violent situations,sex scenes,brief strong language,smoking and drug refrences
Kid, 12 years old December 24, 2014
 

One of the BEST FILMS I've ever watched

I have to say, this is one of the best film I've watched in ages - the length of the film is just perfect and it's straight action-packed from the very second you start watching. I love how much courage the characters themselves have - they're determined to win this 'battle'. For my age, I'm quite mature and I've put this as a 13, due to the fact there's quite a lot of violence, but it's weighted out with humour. To any parents wondering if there kid should watch this, I would say YES! It's one of them films where it's just mind-blowing and unique.
Kid, 12 years old April 27, 2014
 

Here is what i think

i really liked this movie! Now, i put ages 12+, but i was allowed to see it when i was eleven, but i didn't see it for a while, and i was 12 when i did see it. I loved the action violence. My 10 year old brother couldn't see it, but some people might. The action and violence wasn't gory it didn't bother me AT ALL. countless people are shot/killed in this movie, but it is not graphic and you don't see a whole lot of blood. over all, i thought this was a fantastic movie and the whole time channing tatum was very hot!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old April 27, 2014
 

Good.

White House Down was actually an entertaining film. It had non stop action with heavy gun violence and some profanity. The main character protected entire Washington at the end and also ended up being a patriot. That showed that he is a positive character since he saved the life of his daughter and the president's. All in all it was fun to watch.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 4, 2014
 
LEARNING

I Liked It

pretty good has humor and a lot of action some language though
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence

Pages