All member reviews for X-Men: First Class

Common Sense Media says

Superhero film has action, thrills, tough moral questions.

Users say

(out of 128 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Parent Written bySuperhero Sci Fi Fan June 6, 2011

Love the previous movies, but this one really put me off.

I should qualify my review by telling you I left after 30 minutes or so. The movie seems to revolve around the sexualization and degradation of women (prostitutes, strippers, many many women in next to nothing). I was so disappointed in this. A friend brought her son and walked out of the movie for this reason. Since she was upset about it, I decided to preview the movie before bringing my son. Glad I did. I saw enough in the first half hour to know I won't be bringing my son. We LOVE the previous X-men movies, so I'm highly disappointed and annoyed with how they did this one.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byBeanBrain June 6, 2011

Families like superheros too, so quit trying to turn us away.

The movie plot and special effects were great. Character development was well-done and story line matched my memories of comic books as a kid. BUT once again movie producers worked hard to pander to the natural man as best they could. There was no real reason for underwear-clad prostitutes or several of the other scenes. Don't go thinking that it's just a few innuendos: the director does his best to make me and my family uncomfortable while staying just under the rated-R line.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 11 and 14 year old Written byCSM Screen Name... June 7, 2011

Degradation of women

I'm surprised the reviewer didn't give more detail about the scantily-clad women in this movie. It's not just that they are in lingerie--- it's that the majority of women in this movie are portrayed as prostitutes/hookers. I don't have a problem, necessarily, with my 14 yo son seeing women in lingerie when they are portrayed in positive, healthy relationships-- but these women in the movie were not. Pop culture is rife with this, and I hope we can begin to address the sexualization, degradation, and violence against women in our culture. I think it's silly that we get excited about the F bomb but totally miss the boat on healthy vs unhealthy sexuality.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written bygarythe June 3, 2014

topless stripper

There is a topless stripper/entertainer everyone failed to mention, in the middle of all the other strippers, and that is unacceptable.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written bySezzastar October 27, 2011

x-men porno.

My partner went to see this film and walked out half an hour later! The most uncomfortable innapropriate film due to its exploitation of women, certainly wouldn't want to take children. Having complained to bbfc here in the UK (as it was rated a 12A here) they explained it was set in the 60s along with various other reasons. Still no excuse in my mind though.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byNorthwest Mom June 18, 2011

Disgusted

I'm about ready to give up on commonsense reviews. The parents' reviews are more accurate than the official reviews. Several parents have already noted the excessive violence, the bad language, and probably the most outrageous for our family, the scenes where women are portrayed as hookers. What kid should be watching a movie where sex for sale is part of the script? Give me a break -- enough already!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old June 14, 2011

The bad words

I think this movie is really good, but if you want your child to be very mature, I think you should not let your child watch this if he or she is younger than ten. I got to watch this movie because my mom says I'm mature for my age and it honestly seemed pretty cool. There is a couple of bad words, worst on is f..k. But if you really think your kids won't repeat any inappropriate language, this is a great choice for you.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old June 4, 2011

X-Men: First Class

This X-Men was a WHOLE lot better than Wolverine. There was deaths, and tons of action. Wolverine (cameo) slips an f*** word. Emma Frost creates an image to have sex with a Russian general. You see the general and the image having sex, and the real Emma sitting on the side. Mystique (as in the original) is naked, though has a reptilian blue skin. Angel also works as a stripper. This was a fun, entertaining film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byTruthRevolution June 24, 2011

Just watch the Dark Knight again instead

First off, there were some really great uses of super powers, and not just one or two times. They really experimented with them and we got to see lots of great action. Excellent acting from the to leads and Kevin Bacon turned out in full force as the main villain. That being said, I would not watch this movie again, and in fact I didn't watch almost a full quarter of it because of the over-the-top sexuality. I don't know how this movie got away with anything less than an R rating, but between strip clubs (not just one; several) characters walking around in lingerie, or completely naked with some blue body pain on, fully naked female mannequins getting groped, and one character fully naked under the covers changing her appearance to become specifically more sexually attractive to another character, there weren't many scenes in this movie that was actually watchable, let alone palatable. It's pretty bad when the 'modestly-clad' women are wearing mini skirts, low-cut shirts and go-go boots. And what's worse, all the sexuality is taken as normal and acceptable. One character says she doesn't mind people men looking at her naked, and even the movie's ultimate moral protagonist uses his super powers more than once to pick up women in bars, and enjoys his visit to a strip club. This kind of overt sexuality role modeling is appalling, and I have no intention of recommending this movie to anyone for any reason.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 7, 14, and 17 year old Written bycareful mom too June 19, 2011

Can't recommend this one to anyone, especially not to children.

This movie could have been good, but was ruined by the constant portrayal of women wearing next-to-nothing, as playthings for men. When are women going to get tired of this continual representation of them as only having value for their appearance or sexual appeal? In other words, grandmotherly or highly intelligent women who keep their clothes on aren't worth much. I found it highly offensive and frankly, extremely trashy. The language was terrible, as well. I wish we had never seen any of it---it wasn't worth wading through the sleaze to get to the actual story. Yet another sad movie made with a junior-high school boy mentality.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byJWMQuan June 4, 2011

Language and Behavior

The one memorable use of the F word sticks with you for days. It may come out as funny but it is extremely inappropriate in the sense of the use of the word. There are many girls who are dressed with very little clothing. They are in Las Vegas so there are plenty of Hookers, and Strippers and Call girls. It's not something I'd take my little ones to see. My 15 year old probably but none under that.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byzombieface August 9, 2015

Awesome movie

This is a great movie, however it's pretty intense. One scene shows a man getting stabbed in the hand and shows the knife sticking out, another scene shows a coin going through a man's head with a little blood and the coin comes out red. There is a lot of superpower combat and two scenes take place in strip clubs but with no stripping. The way women are portrayed is strange, sometimes it's good sometimes it's not. I personally love this movie and it is in my top ten, and I would recommend it to anyone who isn't to disturbed by some brutal violence.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bymoviewatcherII December 21, 2014

Great prequel

The movie has regular X-Men violence. @$$ and fu©k are used. Mystique is naked with scales covering her groin and breasts, while we see her bare fundament.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byScreennameGirl September 10, 2011

Not For Younger Kids

This movie has rude words, violence, sexual behavior, and drinking. A good movie for older kids, but not for younger kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byRosebud95 August 4, 2011

Good prequel

I liked this movie. It's a bit violent, but I enjoyed it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old June 30, 2011

X-men The worst class

My family had to leave like 15 min.But we got to exchange our tickets, and saw Mr. Popper's Peguins i Highly Recommend that movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bysky65z June 6, 2011

decent prequel

i enjoyed this movie. The is plenty of positive mesages. the movie is very action packed and the sexual content is not bad. The language is average for a pg-13. the worst part is one use of the f-word
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 8 years old April 2, 2016
Teen, 14 years old Written byrebo344 December 14, 2015

How to do a prequel right here.

X-Men: First Class is an excellent prequel. James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender were phenomenal and they have excellent chemistry and so did the rest of the cast (Jennifer Lawrence, Nicholas Hoult, Rose Byrne , January Jones, Kevin Bacon etc), the action sequences were great and so was the musical score. Grade: A.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byEscape.the.maze October 11, 2015

Good but scary

It was a little scary if you get scared easily don't even bother there was some language including s--t f--k ass and more some drinking in the beginning you could see a mans butt there are some role models
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages