All member reviews for X-Men: First Class

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Superhero film has action, thrills, tough moral questions.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 108 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent Written bySuperhero Sci Fi Fan June 6, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Love the previous movies, but this one really put me off.

I should qualify my review by telling you I left after 30 minutes or so. The movie seems to revolve around the sexualization and degradation of women (prostitutes, strippers, many many women in next to nothing). I was so disappointed in this. A friend brought her son and walked out of the movie for this reason. Since she was upset about it, I decided to preview the movie before bringing my son. Glad I did. I saw enough in the first half hour to know I won't be bringing my son. We LOVE the previous X-men movies, so I'm highly disappointed and annoyed with how they did this one.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byBeanBrain June 6, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Families like superheros too, so quit trying to turn us away.

The movie plot and special effects were great. Character development was well-done and story line matched my memories of comic books as a kid. BUT once again movie producers worked hard to pander to the natural man as best they could. There was no real reason for underwear-clad prostitutes or several of the other scenes. Don't go thinking that it's just a few innuendos: the director does his best to make me and my family uncomfortable while staying just under the rated-R line.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 11 and 14 year old Written byCSM Screen Name... June 7, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Degradation of women

I'm surprised the reviewer didn't give more detail about the scantily-clad women in this movie. It's not just that they are in lingerie--- it's that the majority of women in this movie are portrayed as prostitutes/hookers. I don't have a problem, necessarily, with my 14 yo son seeing women in lingerie when they are portrayed in positive, healthy relationships-- but these women in the movie were not. Pop culture is rife with this, and I hope we can begin to address the sexualization, degradation, and violence against women in our culture. I think it's silly that we get excited about the F bomb but totally miss the boat on healthy vs unhealthy sexuality.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written byThanksDad June 3, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Thought it was just fine

I started a tradition with my son (7 1/2) that my dad did with me. I pulled my son out of school at 11am we went to the first showing of a movie that opened today. It was X-men First Class. It was a good movie (saw it in 2D. not worth 3D but other than Avatar what is). The violence was nothing that he hasn't seen in cartoons or Star Wars cartoons or movies. That said here are the heads up that I love to get from other parents: 1) Approx 5% is in subtitles. Not an issue just a heads up. I chose to whisper what was going on to my son, but you can go either way. 2) Just one F-bomb. Actually appropirate for the character and the scene. I would love to say my son has never heard that but I would be lying. Only once, quick and scene moved on. My son never asked or even brought it up. 3) Don't bother staying till the end of the credits. A lot of Marvel movies have a 1 min film at the end (Iron Man, Thor). This one did not.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byNeil13 June 3, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

It lives up to it's name: First Class

It's quite a good movie, and I would have said it's OK for 9+, except for the one scene with a memorable and hilarious one use of the F-Bomb. Nothing too sexual, not that much violence and possibly the best movie of 2011 (except Paul, maybe)
Teen, 15 years old Written bysky65z June 6, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

decent prequel

i enjoyed this movie. The is plenty of positive mesages. the movie is very action packed and the sexual content is not bad. The language is average for a pg-13. the worst part is one use of the f-word
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old June 4, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

X-Men: First Class

This X-Men was a WHOLE lot better than Wolverine. There was deaths, and tons of action. Wolverine (cameo) slips an f*** word. Emma Frost creates an image to have sex with a Russian general. You see the general and the image having sex, and the real Emma sitting on the side. Mystique (as in the original) is naked, though has a reptilian blue skin. Angel also works as a stripper. This was a fun, entertaining film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byJWMQuan June 4, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Language and Behavior

The one memorable use of the F word sticks with you for days. It may come out as funny but it is extremely inappropriate in the sense of the use of the word. There are many girls who are dressed with very little clothing. They are in Las Vegas so there are plenty of Hookers, and Strippers and Call girls. It's not something I'd take my little ones to see. My 15 year old probably but none under that.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written bymrsteach June 5, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good Movie - Iffy Content

This movie provided great backstory info. for the other X-Men movies. However, there are several scenes with skimpily clad women and one use of the f-word along with other minor expletives.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bydudeman123 June 3, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great Superhero Flick

X-Men First Class isn't just a good superhero movie, it's a good movie, period. I thought the way they tied in actual history to the plot was brilliant. I really enjoyed the characters and the storyline. I wish we could have seen more of Xavier and Magneto's friendship though, I thought the scenes between the two of them were the best. And sure it is a superhero film so ya the dialogue is cheesy at times but thats about my only complaint. The ending also does a perfect job of setting up a sequel which I am totally on board for. While it is not quite on the level of X-Men 2, it's still a very good film
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old June 8, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

In my opinion, the best X-Men movie so far

If you've never seen the X-Men films, this is the best to start with. It has slick editing and art direction, and an entertaining story to boot.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old June 14, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The bad words

I think this movie is really good, but if you want your child to be very mature, I think you should not let your child watch this if he or she is younger than ten. I got to watch this movie because my mom says I'm mature for my age and it honestly seemed pretty cool. There is a couple of bad words, worst on is f..k. But if you really think your kids won't repeat any inappropriate language, this is a great choice for you.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byFangslash June 12, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

X-Men: First Class Is a Go!

TWO WORDS: MUST SEE! This was a fantastic movie that really illustrated how the X-Men began. It's not just for fans either. Awesome graphics, epic super powers, and a cool story-line that brings the X-Men mythos together. I just didn't like the sexual content. It made me a little uncomfortable with the girls in the underwear and bras during the Las Vegas scenes. Minor expletives here and there throughout and one get the f*** out by Wolverine, but I think that if your child understands that the language isn't appropriate this movie will be FANTASTIC!!! Best summer movie yet.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old June 13, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The Best!

Great for 12+. One of the best in the xmen series!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old June 15, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great movie. Must see!

This is one of my favorite movies. The story of two men both trying to gather fellow mutants to stop a conspiracy to rid the human race. But that's not the best part. It is so well done when they show how the mutants who don't know exactly how to use their powers train to become more powerful, and although the ending twist is predictable to those who know the story, it is interesting to see how it all happens. The sexual content is iffy for most PG-13, but it really isn't too bad. I highly recommend this film. It is also pretty funny.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old June 8, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Good movie, Violent

I came in to the movie with low expectations, but i was very surprised by how good it was I wound't recommend it for kids under 13 even though im 12. Though there is one graphic scene in which a coin goes through a mans head. There is only 1 f bomb but it is a very memorable one. overall it was a good movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 6 years old June 13, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

good movie for adults

Really good movie, especially if you are into comic books however there is some violence and I would not let my child watch it.
Teen, 13 years old Written byGlee rockz June 14, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

See it

Kevin Bacon excellent actor, better than X2, but not better than Spider-Man 2 (What superhero movie is?). Highly recommended. Note: No scene after credits
Adult Written byNorthwest Mom June 18, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Disgusted

I'm about ready to give up on commonsense reviews. The parents' reviews are more accurate than the official reviews. Several parents have already noted the excessive violence, the bad language, and probably the most outrageous for our family, the scenes where women are portrayed as hookers. What kid should be watching a movie where sex for sale is part of the script? Give me a break -- enough already!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 12 year old Written byGoodSSJ June 7, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

WTF Is Wrong With You People

People,There Is More Violence In The Movie Then Sex And Language!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!And This Movie Has As Much Violence As X2 X-Men United And X-Men Origins Wolverine
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages