Parent reviews for A Fever You Can't Sweat Out

Common Sense says

Wacky but weak debut from alt-emo-rock's darlings.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 27 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 124 reviews
Adult Written byamberg2 January 15, 2016

A FEVER I'LL NEVER SWEAT OUT

THIS IS THE BEST THING EVER SO SHUT YOUR FACEHOLE. GO BEEBO!!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byHiddlesSkittles January 1, 2015

Perfect

The person who wrote this article has no taste in music. This album is amazing, and so is the band. Sex is not a new concept if your child is over 12 so you really don't need to worry about that. The music is fun to listen too and Brendon is definitely a talent.
Adult Written bykhillier April 9, 2008

This CD is more complex than it seems

Okay, first of all, the members of Panic! At the Disco are kids themselves (18-20). The lyricist/guitarist Ryan Ross Has been writing for a while, sure they are young and with youth comes inexpereice. With the circus theme they used that to catch attention and they said they enjoyed getting to dress up. I think it comes down to this being their debute album they wanted to stir up a little controversy, and it worked! As far as the extreamly long song titles, they do compliment the song. "Build God, Then We'll Talk" the last song on the CD deals fake displays of affection/relationships.
Overall I enjoyed the variety of instrument and lyrical cliches.
Adult Written byG3 April 9, 2008
Adult Written byevaandcompany September 14, 2020
What's up with the 'expert review'? Didn't know this site was for music criticism.
Adult Written bymummyreviews April 25, 2020

Simply amazing to me.

Now i must say.. I am not normally one for adult themes! But this album takes the cake for me. My 13 and 8 year old daughters love this album and i can see why. It has wonderful singing and great instruments, unlike some silly music nowadays. I would much rather my children listen to this than auto tuned rubbish. The title 'weak debut album'.. is so incorrect! For a debut album this is spectacular and some may argue the best. They were only around age 19 at this time. The album only contains a few bad words, really not many, but as long as you teach your children just not to say them it is fine. One song contains many sexual themes but again, tell your children not to follow these themes. Many children won’t even realise or understand it. There is some mention of smoking and drinking also, but the standard rule applies: tell your children not to do it. If you think your children will fall for these themes, simply don’t allow them to listen to it. It’s as easy as that. Have fun listening to this album now! -Mummy Reviews

This title contains:

Positive role models
Adult Written bysonic123 December 14, 2018

This album is so good

This album is so good. Brendon Urie is such a good vocalist and the instrumentals are punchy and exciting. Some of my favorites are But its better if you do, I write sins not tragedies, and Build got then well talk. I also like Camisado, Time to dance and I constantly thank god for Esteban. The first two tracks "The only difference between Martydom and suicide is press coverage" and "London Beckoned Songs about money written by machines" are great openers (Despite the very long titles. Nails for breakfast, tacks for snacks however, is horrific. That song is so bad and the autotune is just ugly. Lying is the most fun a girl can have without taking her clothes is a pretty decent midpoint, while i dont love it, its not a bad song. Theres a good reasons these tables are numbered, honey, you just haven't thought of it yet is a pretty good song too, I love the vibe (Not because its positive), because it gives a heavy arrogant vibe off and its pretty funny to me (Plus it sounds good)

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byRydenAtTheDisco August 1, 2018

Wacky but weak, eh, your not making any progress.

A Fever You Can't Sweat Out is a musical masterpiece. The instruments range from cellos to keyboards and back again. Then Brendon's singing of Ryan's lyrics shake it up as you listen to mix it all together.

As good as the music may be, your child may hear language such as fu*k, g*dd*mn, and wh**e, as well as sexual themes in "Lying is the Most Fun".

Overall, it is worth a five star, you will not be disappointed.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Language
Adult Written byShannen B. June 12, 2018

Its good but,bad

My friend introduced me to this band 5 years ago in my senior year of high-school,I was addicted!But,it does say some things that anyone under eleven should not hear such as b*stard but its not like they've heard worse on the bus:)

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 15-year-old Written byOwensMusic G. April 13, 2018

I love this band, it is my favorite band

I'm turning 16 next month, and this is my favorite band. There are words like god***n and f**k so I would say 14+. Their clean albums are v&v and also Pretty. Odd.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 13-year-old Written byNona G. November 26, 2017

Good but inappropriate

The music is amazing it’s all I listen to but the videos are for more mature teens that have gotten the talk or just know. In “Build God, Then We’ll Talk” is all about a pornomime and should not be watched by anyone who haven’t had the talk or doesn’t know what anything means.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byAriel P. February 2, 2017
This is honestly my second favorite album of all time, with this band's third album, Vices and Virtues, being my number one. Whoever wrote that official review saying this album is terrible and gave it only two stars must be very biased against this type of music. If Panic!'s first album was so terrible, why has it gone double platinum? Why have they gone on to produce four more albums? Why are they still going on tour, still so popular? If this album was as terrible as the rating of two stars makes it seem, none of that would have happened.

As for an actual review, it does have the F word a few times in "Lying Is The Most Fun A Girl Can Have Without Taking Her Clothes Off" and the chorus of "I Write Sins, Not Tragedies" says goddamn. There is quite a lot of sex referenced and alluded to, but any child over the age of 12 should already know about that. There is violence and drinking mentioned throughout the album. This album contains nothing more offensive than what you would get by going through middle school or watching television. It's a wonderful album that anyone interested in "pop-punk" or "pop-rock" or "alt-rock" or "emo" or anything else similar to those genres would love. It has catchy songs and wonderful, intelligent lyrics. A+ album.
Parent of a 12-year-old Written byA Pet Named Steve T. August 10, 2016

I'm so disappointed

This is worse then all those chemical romancers!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byMetalHeadMum April 14, 2016

A Fever Even I Can't Sweat Out!

The original review of this album is absolutely ridiculous, yes there is reference to sex and a few sexually explicit lines, but if your child understands these then I think they are old enough to understand that sex isn't a game.
And compared to current mainstream artists the sexual content is minimal.
The "weirdness" of this band only adds character to the album. Better to stand out from the crowd than become another 1D.
Adult Written byheybrittany June 14, 2015

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bybeardfish January 27, 2015

An all-time classic.

From the lyrics to the themes to the entire execution of this album, everything is superb. Brendon Urie's vocals are often called ''whiny'' or ''annoying'' but they are neither and fit the music perfectly. This is a perfect example of how pop and rock can work together, and no, they're not an ''emo'' outfit. Go look up Texas Is The Reason if you want emo, this is just poprock.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 12-year-old Written by301TheAmazingSo... March 27, 2011

A good first effort.

As a more relaxed parent, I have no concern on the content. This band has made a good effort on their first album. It's not perfect (the singing comes off as a little bit whiny sometimes, and some of the song titles are very long and emberrasing to say), but it's a great effort. They've obviously put work in here. "Lying Is The Most Fun A Girl Can Have Without Taking Her Clothes Off" and "Build God, Then We'll Talk Kid" are very catchy. There is room for improvement, but this isn't a waste of time and money at all.
Parent of a 10 and 12-year-old Written byCaoimheMorana September 14, 2010

Fine for mature children

I'm a fan of this album as the songs are catchy and mostly upbeat. Both my 10 & 12 year olds like the songs. But do be aware that the language mentioned in the review above is not all. In the same song as the one that mentions the "groom's bride is a whore" also, repeatedly (it's in the chorus), says "haven't you people ever heard of/closing a g-d d*mn door..."

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 1, 12, and 14-year-old Written bymamaof3 May 31, 2010

Wondrous, appealing music...for those who can appreciate the fact that it's Pretty Odd :)

I am a colossal Fall Out Boy fan, so it was only a matter of time before I discovered the genius that is Panic! At the Disco. I listened to Pretty. Odd. before A Fever You Can't Sweat Out (big mistake; Fever is so much better.) I'm not sure what was being reviewed, 'cuz it sure wasn't this. "Over-processed and monotonous vocals, tedious special effects, songs that don't really work thematically or musically"? I think not! Yeah, they touched it up. No, it's not over-bearing or unpleasant! Brendon Urie's vocals are astounding and alluring. Most (not all) of the songs are strangely appealing. Here's a song by song breakdown:

Introduction- 1/5: Useless.

The Only Difference- 4/5 Pretty good. Had to grow on me, but
good.

London Beckoned Songs- 3/5 The s-bomb gets dropped twice; weird lyrics, even for Panic!, but not bad.

Nails for Breakfast- 3/5 It has an infectious beat, but I often skip this one...

Camisado- 2/5 Eh. -shrugs-

Time to Dance- 5/5 AWESOME song, one of my favorites. -Shotgun: wedding! Shotgun: wedding!!-

Lying is the Most Fun- 2/5 The f-bomb gets dropped, definitely the most, erm, sexually inappropriate song on the album. I don't care for it.

Intermission- 1/5 Again: useless.

But It's Better If You Do- 2/5 Eh. -shrugs-

I Write Sins Not Tragedies- 4/5 Yes! If you don't mind the swearing.

I Constantly Thank God- 2/5 Eh. -shrugs-

There's a Good Reason- 5/5 One of my favorites, it has irresistible flair and drama. The chorus is odd (Haven't you heard that I'm the new cancer, I've never looked better and you can't stand it) but the rest of it is EPIC!

Build God, Then We'll Talk- 4/5 No, I don't like the sexual part of it either, but it could be worse.

I'd recommend this album to anyone who has a good enough head on their shoulders not to take the lyrics seriously. Enjoy!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 17-year-old Written byR.J. Sweetstare January 30, 2010

MUSIC over LYRICS

it is only right to express their feelings through music, because that is what they are, and whatever they are, it is not our thing to discriminate(the band), because so many reviews here are just only take from the LYRICAL CONTENT of the album, even though there are so many topics on it that are malicious(for heaven's sake), are just natural for the people to see and hear, because these things are really happening in almost every community, let the kids get the picture and just advice them this: "whatever things you have been hearing through that album, let yourself not be like that" perhaps all things in this world can be a good example or bad, it's up to us on how we take the responsibility upon ourselves and to our kids...

I named it MUSIC over LYRICS because, in MUSIC the music comes first before it's meaning, just because of a simple answer "think how is music if it only have lyrics on it? can it be called music after all? music is the melody, event though modern music is full of songs that are with vocal and lyrics, the music comes first, try doing music with so much lyrical content and you and your kids mostly will not understand for the reason it will be so deep, and if you want it lyrics over music, just don't do music, just write an essay, don't sing, even the greatest musician of all time could not do that I religiously BET. so let free of your kids if they want to have a try on listening this album, the style is unique, in every ways you would come to hear it, dissect it and it's very rare in terms of sound, arrangement, phrasing, beats, effects, backdrops, leftover-pick up, and most of all the songs are driving, the circus effect will keep you imbalanced on your ears, the strong and powerful vocalization will give you the stunning effect, the bass lines are drawing a good post, the drums are very in tacked into the groove and over all, their music is very INTERESTING.... :P

This title contains:

Sexy stuff

Pages