All member reviews for A Year Without Rain

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

More clean-yet-predictable bubblegum pop from Disney star.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 24 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byrebma97 April 10, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Really good music

Selena Gomez isn't my favorite singer - I think she's better at acting and her vocals aren't as strong as some singers - but I really like her music. My favorite songs are "Round & Round", "A Year Without Rain", "Rock God", "Off The Chain", "Intuition", and "Sick of You". Most of the songs are about relationships but don't mention sex.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old August 28, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

On for seven and up!

The song is clean and good for seven year olds. And I love it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bybianca7788 May 16, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Love it!

Great album!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byratingpeepsshows69 April 26, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good

She is really good and her song rock god has a real good message
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bystripesanddots April 5, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Not Bad

It wasn't quite as good as I thought it would be, but it was still pretty good.
Teen, 13 years old Written byAli J March 16, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Bad

Another one of disney stars tries on singing, and like the rest of them... TERRIBLE. I don't get why people love her so much, she is like every other disney star out there, nothing makes her stand out. Plus, she can't sing well live.
Kid, 11 years old March 15, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

It's fine for kids

I love this album! So good!! There aren't any messages or role models, I just love it because Sel sounds great!!!
Teen, 14 years old Written bybel8910 February 17, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

The best

Selena Gomez is the best female Disney has had! I love her music and acting. I have this cd and I love it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old February 5, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

For any age

Its the best cd. I love the song rock god.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 8, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Rock On!

Usually Selena Gomez has clean stricken videos. She did it again! Not only are they clean but it's really good. It sends great messages and not only that, but she's a good ro-model. She's one of the best teenage singers. Rock on Selena!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 1, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Nice Music but talentless singer

I'm not really into Disney channel anymore, I'll be honest, because they keep making lame shows with the same plot. Selena Gomez, I believe she is a good singer, but on this album, the voice you are hearing is basically all edited to sound good, as when she has performed live recently, she only sounds mediocre, sometimes less (i.e. You Belong With Me Cover). I guess kids can listen to it, but I prefer real talent.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old December 26, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Love it

Love every song on it except for Rock God. I love Selena Gomez. She makes great music and she is very talented.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old December 18, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Awesome Album, Sel

I <3 this album!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is awesome. ANYONE can relate to it! I know I can! Selwna Goomez is the 2nd best actress ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old December 10, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

My Favorite Song, My Favorite Singer / Actress

First of all, I love Selena Gomez. She's a very talented girl, and an amazing role model, despite her age. Unlike Miley Cyrus, she doesn't act all 'sexy' off screen. A YEAR WITHOUT RAIN :: This song has a good message... but I can't really explain. Selena said anybody can relate to this song. Take out the romance, and it could be like a friend that moved or something. DO buy this single.. or the whole album! A very, very good song. ---- Other songs are very good. I love Off The Chain very much... but it's more soft and lovey dovey then the others. I plan on buying this album ASAP. If not, I'll cry myself to sleep every night. ;)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old November 28, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

BAD BAD BAD

not good
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old November 25, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

She's very talented!

I think that Selena Gomez is a very talented young woman. She has acomplished so much at such a young age! Also she has kept on the right track, not going crazy like some other pop icons.
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written byLMonero November 18, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Fun music, great for kids.

The music is a lot of fun to dance around to. Selena Gomez is a great influence and role model for the younger bunch. All around, great buy.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byZarah November 12, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Fun to sing and dance to!

Selena's music is not only catchy but also clean. I especially like her song "Round and Round" and the music video for it. Unlike Lady Gaga or Miley Cyrus music videos, she makes great music videos safe for all ages!
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byabdullah.semary November 12, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Kid, 9 years old November 8, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Good song

I am a big Selena Gomez fan. I like this song, nice tune to it. I think it is a little better then Round and Round. Once again, has maintained a clean lifestyle. That is one of the things I love about her. She's not like Lady Gaga, wearing little clothing, seriously weird outfits, or with bad lyrics. Clean song about when you are missing someone. It can be anyone. Your Mom, Dad, Friend, or Sibling. It doesn't have to be your boyfriend or love life.
What other families should know
Great role models

Pages