All member reviews for Abbey Road

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kid, 11 years old June 3, 2011
age 7+
 

Great Music

This has to be the best music ever. I just got the album yesterday. My favorite is Something. This album has really good music. Come Together has little drug reference, though. Overall, this album is a legend.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byLord of Sushi February 17, 2010
age 2+
 

One of the greatest albums ever made...

This is a really classic album that was made before the final Beatles album (Let it Be). Content isn't really anything to worry about, although the song Maxwell's Silver Hammer has some violence and John Lennon is smoking on the cover.
Teen, 13 years old Written byBlake_Slaughter October 27, 2014
age 2+
 

Very clean and talented rock for any age

What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byandilovethebeatles March 3, 2014
age 10+
 

Timeless...But may be iffy for some

Abbey Road is an iconic musical masterpiece cholk full of positive messages of love and peace... however the review did forget to mention a few things such as the violent imagery that is strongly present in the song Maxwells Silver Hammer that is about a homocidal killer who murders all his peers and mentions of a crossdresser in the song Polythene Pam
Teen, 15 years old Written byPeter Parker July 16, 2013
age 6+
 

Amazing Album!

This album is the best! But what I really hate is the fact that if you go on top picks on this website, click best music lists, you'll see that One Direction music is on top of the Beatles 60's album! This album deserves more recognition towards the younger tweens and teens of our generation. Great Album though!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byWell17 February 15, 2013
age 2+
 

Clever and Uplifting

Very uplifting music that just makes you happy. Younger kids may not get all the irony and other good stuff in the lyrics yet, but they'll still appreciate it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bymoviewannabe February 2, 2013
age 2+
 

Great album for all ages

I love Beatles music. Two words: Listen to it. "Fool"is used in "Maxwell's Silver Hammer". Coca-Cola is referenced in "Come Together". There are death references in this song. On the album art, Paul is shown with a cigarette in his hand and the song "Her Majesty" contains these lyrics: Her Majesty's a pretty nice girl / But she doesn't have a lot to say / Her Majesty's a pretty nice girl / But she changes from day to day / I want to tell I love her a lot / But I got to get a bellyful of wine / Her Majesty's a pretty nice girl / Someday I'm going to make her mine, oh yeah / Someday I'm going to make her mine
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byThe Euphoric User January 27, 2013
age 8+
 

THIS, is real music

No autotune and machines that produce random sounds and whatever. This just contains plain ol' instruments and real talent to make a wonderful album and band. Abbey Road is their most successful, and it is one I will treasure by heart for many, many years.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 July 6, 2012
age 4+
 

abbey road

Families can talk about how The Beatles' music transcends generations and how, through games like Rock Band, the songs can be enjoyed by the whole family. Families can talk about how music comes from so many easily accessed venues now and why it's important to choose songs without degrading lyrics, preview new artists in advance, and not download illegally.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old May 15, 2012
age 5+
 

Good

It''s a good album.... and I like the cover.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old March 20, 2012
age 2+
 

BEST ALBUM EVER

THE BEATLES ARE AMAZING!!!! I REALLY, REALLY WIDH MY FRIENDS WOULD LISTEN TO THIS AWESOME MUSIC INSTEAD OF "LMFAO" OR "NIKI MINAJ"!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old September 4, 2011
age 5+
 

worth it drugs... no surprise

ok i now understand come together thanks for makin the song sound all druggy and prob is bbuuuttttt im still singin it lol well im sad to tell you the beatles took drugs (gasps) omg i didnt know that yeah even though all of them got charged for havin drugs multiples of times know one knew they got high...lol i mean at my dance studio we danced to the song and i SANG IT great album great beats i personally think that it isnt even noticable to kids my age it was the 60s people give the beatles a break all you hear me talk about is the beatles and i get strait a's it dosnt affect me great band worth the buy
Kid, 9 years old June 13, 2011
age 7+
 

BEST ALBUM EVER

This is a great album there is mild violence in Maxwell 's silver hammer. though it's a great album people should buy this!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bymongofa May 21, 2011
age 6+
 

A classic for everybody

What can I say, it's a classic! Listen to it! 'nuff said!
Teen, 13 years old Written byPEMDAS May 16, 2011
age 2+
 

Great for anyone who wants to listen.

The Beatles are amazing for anyone. Period.
Kid, 11 years old May 12, 2011
age 8+
 
Why do you think my name had Abbey Road?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byled zeppelin rocks April 30, 2011
age 6+
 

abby road the best!!

well i love oh darling and come together and somthing, the beatles are amazing!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old April 18, 2011
age 6+
 

Beatles ARE THE BEST!

OMG! THE BEATLES HAVE LOTS OF GOOD MUSIC.THIS BEATS TODAY'S CRAPPY POP
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byOldSchoolReviews April 2, 2011
age 7+
 

Timeless Classic That Will Live On Forever :O)

This is purely classic music! If only people appreciated music like this. Some people just don't understand good music when they hear it. Who doesn't like the Beatles?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byAlphaZK93 March 19, 2011
age 9+
 

A few sketchy songs

I am only going to talk about the ones I feel are a tad sketchy, because the rest are AWESOME (especially Here Comes The Sun and Oh, Darling!) COME TOGETHER- The entire song is about drugs, and it's about a guy asking his friends to help him get high. Some lyrics are "Shoot me [with a needle, presumably]", "Toejam Football (jamming a needle into your toe so the cops won't know you got high)", "Monkey Finger (same as the previous, but in your finger)", and more. This would be a five-circle drug song. MAXWELL'S SILVER HAMMER- The song is about a psychotic murderer who murders a girlfriend, doctor, and judge with a hammer. The song is actually very funny. The Beatles themselves said it was "a happy song about murder". POLYTHENE PAM- Some trans-sexuality is mentioned "she looks so good, but she looks like a man" The song was inspired by a girl who ate saran wrap and when people would "do it" with polythene wrapped around them (said by The Beatles themselves in a biography). MEAN MR. MUSTARD-Well, this song is actually pretty funny. It's about a grumpy guy that lives in the road with money up his nose and who curses at the queen. It's not a song I'd let a little kid listen to, but it's fine otherwise. "Mean Mr. Mustard sleeps in the park, shaves in the dark, trying to save paper. Sleeps in a hole in the road. Keeps a ten-bob note up his nose. Savin' up to buy him some clothes. Such a dirty old man." XD ALL IN ALL!!!! Great for older kids, but please, listen to the songs and DO REASEARCH. :D *****THE BEATLES ARE AMAZING******
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages

Pages