All member reviews for All Hope Is Gone

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Hardcore, sometimes violent metal with a message.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 83 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bykuroyama1 December 18, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

my reasoning

i'm a metal fan have been since i first head my dad listening to black sabbath when i was 9 in his car i loved slipknot,system of a down and the like growing up and i never once caused trouble in school my grades stayed up in the A-Bs . Now personally I preferred their third albums "The Subliminal Verses" and "Idaho" but this album was extremely good in comparison to say any Nickelback album ever (no i do not enjoy nickelback in any way shape or form) Now if hypothetically i had a 10 year old boy or girl and he/she wanted to listen to this album? no not a chance if i had a 16 year old son or daughter yes i would let them now thats only if they were mentally as mature as i was when i was 16 of course
Teen, 13 years old Written by3choices December 9, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

A fab metal album

If your a parent whos child already listens to slipknot this is by far there least worrying album. Stuff like the album 'iowa' has swareing literally every sentence but this is quite tame in comparison. It has a few bad messages in but kids really dont notise this as they listen. They just hear the the quality music. The band does give off some bad imiges as role modles but its all for show.
Adult Written byJANDCBLOCHER@GM... December 5, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

PERFECT FOR ALL AGES

Freakin' awesome music, dude get your schlung to the store to buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bymichaelmyers21 December 4, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

NOT FOR KIDS

Good metal songs
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byPlague December 3, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

All Hope is Gone

Im a pretty big Slipknot fan, but this album just sucks. If you compare this album to there 1st (which IMO is the best) they sound nothing alike.
Kid, 11 years old November 22, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great Metal Album,sometimes raunchy,not for kids under 15

I love this album. It is one of my favorites. Its not that innapropriate, considering that people like me and other 11 year olds wont understand the lyrics and what they are trying to get across.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bythatkiduknow October 23, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

New material that address current issues

I love metal and I love Slipknot in addtion many other metal bands, Iron Maiden, Slayer, Metallica, just to name a few. I loved this album! Its a show of growth and development within the band. I love the self titled album and Iowa as much as any other maggot but I also love Vol. 3 and AHIG because Slipknot always does something new and different with each album and its great. The language is quite minimal espicially when compared to Iowa or the st album. The messages behind the songs are well thought out and get the listener to think about the issue being discussed. Metal and Slipknot aren't just noise! It's quality music that allows people to release anger, sad and frustration and gives them something positive to walk away with as long as the listener lets it effect them in that way. Stay sic!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byLongRangeShadow October 20, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

12+

No kids? Why? A great band for any lover of metal. Its just music, jeez. I mean, its not a video or movie.
Teen, 14 years old Written bygrayuzi October 18, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

NO Kids? WTF?

This album is definately on for ages 13 and up. It has a little language (not nearly as much as their first album) and some violence, but its just music, you cant see anything.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byluvanger October 10, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

A great album with a powerful message, but not for kids.

This album sounds amazing from start to finish, and even I have to admit that, despite the fact that I'm not into much mainstream metal. But beyond that, it's got a very powerful and positive social commentary. There are some violent lyrics in it, but the majority of them are used within context of their social commentary, and none of them are graphic, anyway. The f-word is used, but never in a sexual context and probably less than ten times on the entire album. There is a lot of death-related imagery (references to burials and such), but My Chemical Romance is probably more death-obsessed than these guys. This album obviously isn't good for children, but it should be fine for most teens. It should be a very positive influence on teens who don't usually care about the state of the world or political issues. This album is a big depart from most previous Slipknot recordings, which consisted entirely of hate-filled murder anthems.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byA screen name p... October 4, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Perfect for teens that think theyre hardcore

Slipknot just is bland and annoying...it's not metal, it's not brutal.Sure they say f__k and other stuff, doesn't make them brutal people. A band that crushes them would be All Shall Perish. They would be claassified as brutal. Complain all you want. All Shall Perish actually has amazing lyrics, riffs, and solos. Not to mention instumentals and drums.
Teen, 13 years old Written byGabrielStorm September 21, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

AAHH!!

I LOVE SLIPKNOT!!! MAGGOTS FOREVER!! =D
Adult Written byAllikSsab August 18, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Really?

This album has a message. After releasing the darker "iowa" and entirely clean "Vol3 The Subliminal verses" Slipnkot released their newest album "All Hope Is Gone" and on the front page of this page i see many of the lyrics taken out of context. Some of the stuff he says is repeating what parts of society says in a way to show how strange this thing called 'modern society' really is.(sic)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byDrew Cherry August 18, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Slipknot All Hope is Gone Review

Slipknot is now one of the most popular metal bands in the rock community. Slipknots new album All hope is Gone is not for kids and early teens, it has brutal and violent lyrics, and has some language, but has a message about politics that some people will agree with, such as the Iraq war. Slipknot may were masks, but they are know circus freaks, they deliver the metal goods with intense vocales, in your face percussion, and amazing riffs that will leave the listener wanting more.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Parent of a 7, 12, and 18 year old Written byToxicityKid August 12, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Sisters love it!

I'm 18, and have been listening to Slipknot since 1999. My 12 year old sister loves them, as well as my 7 year old sister. I say no music has age-limits. If it sounds good, listen to it.
Teen, 16 years old Written bykorn111 August 11, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

good cd

ive been listening to slipknot since 3rd grade and this cd is one of there best cd realy violence i realy wouldent worry about if you have kids just language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byMarilynMansonFan August 7, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great album in every way

I tried to publish my review but CSM said it couldn't because it contained "language". IT WAS COMPLETLEY CLEAN!! What the hell?!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 16 year old Written bydido6661 August 6, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

slipknot isnt about sex and drugs. like most new music is

slipknot is okay for teens. it doesnt say lick me like a lollipop
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written byPosionblood August 5, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

This is crap

Alright listen. I LOVE metal-All That Remains, Chimaira, Atreyu, As I Lay Dying and the like. But this is just crap. Reason 1. This guy isn't good at screaming. It sounds more like he's yelled too long in a football game and his voice is raspy. 2. There's a freakin pentagram on the cover! A Satanic symbol! Even an Atheist could agree people who use those are NOT good role models. 3. They bash Bush as much as they can. 4. Buy Swan Songs by Hollywood Undead-It's much better
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byCheesebutt34 July 22, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great Album!

I love this album! There is almost nothing wrong with this album! Only four songs out of twelve on it have any language whatsoever! And who cares if it's angry or not?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!
What other families should know
Too much swearing

Pages