All member reviews for Alright, Still

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Brit singer's sharp tongue brings honesty and fun.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 22 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byjazzyjammrz April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Parents.... 17+? Are you SERIOUS?

Wow, there's one mention of F**k. and a couple S**Ts too. BIG deal. not. really, really good album. parents, 17+ is a huge overstatement. In my opinion, it is just fine for most girls 11 or 12+. I'm 14 and there's nothing wrong with it for me, and my sis is 11 and she loves it too! Please note: Just because there is swearing or adult material in songs does NOT mean your kid will start doing the things suggested, or saying the things suggested. Trust me! :)
Teen, 14 years old Written bygrindhouse April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

very good

This is a great album for a new artist good songs she swears in a few all of the songs are very catchy and it's just a good album.
Adult Written byandthentherewere4 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Not so much for the kids...

As an adult, I loved this CD, however, I don't think I would give it to a child to listen to. Teens and up.
Teen, 13 years old Written by######## April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

i love this album!

some of her songs make me laugh like knock 'em out. I think this is a good album and you should buy it.
Teen, 14 years old Written bythecatempire April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Lily is awesome! I LOVE THIS CD!

I love the way that Lily mixes her witty lyrics with a sing-song-y light hearted tune, even then, you get the message loud and clear.
Teen, 13 years old Written byluv2sing0723 July 29, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Clean Versions Are Fine For 13+

I am 13 and I listen to Lily Allen songs but the only way my mom lets me listen is if they are the Clean version. I agree with Common Sense, 16+ if they listen to the explicit version but most songs like Littlest Things (which is perfectly clean), Smile, and The Fear are fine. I find Alfie very catchy but it mentions drugs and smoking a lot so that one is a bit iffy. But otherwise, if you listen to the clean versions of her songs it's fine for 13+!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bySynchronicity April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great album! May become a classic!

Lily Allen has a great voice and very tongue-in-cheek lyrics. The songs make you laugh (Smile, Knock 'em Out, Nan You're A Window Shopper) while at least one (Littlest Things) makes you cry, and other songs show that Lily is not afraid to turn down a boyfriend for whatever reason (Not Big, Smile, Shame For You) and that not all girls are friendly (Friday Night, Friend Of Mine). There are probably around nine or ten f-bombs, one use of the British profanity c-nt (censored), a few s-bombs (including s#!t and s#!te), and one use each of arse, hell, tw@t, slapper, and crack whore. Sometimes the songs talk about drug use (but it's always portrayed negatively) and alcohol. "Not Big" talks about a boyfriend that a girl turns down because they didn't have good, well, you know, and she uses the word c-m in that song. Even though there's quite a bit of cursing and mature themes, Lily Allen tells it like it is, and you can barely hear the curse words! Highly recommended for 12+.
Kid, 12 years old October 1, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Great music by Lily Allen. Content is innapropriate for younger ones, but the clean versions will have them singing along. The messages aren't at all nice, and each song has a dark theme. What amuses me is how she can change a nice happy song into a piece revolving around sex, drugs, and other non kid friendly subjects. Overall, an excellent album.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byqtpiekira April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I loved every song!

It is rare that an album comes along that is catchy enough to keep my attention through the entire set. However, it's not all fun and games; if you get this for your kid, they may ask "Mommy, what is THC?" Besides that, the album is great fun and easy to sing along to after a few listens.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

addicting

the songs are really addicting you want to listen to them over and over again. anyway lily allen has a really good voice. There are a few curses (for example she says 'but you were f***ing that girl next door) but to tell you the truth other than that there arent really that many bad curses. i really really like this cd, and I think anyone my age or older would like it too :)
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written bysuitelife April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great!

I love this CD so much! Alfie makes me laugh so much! I also like Smile (everyone does) and Nan You're a Window Shopper and LND and Knock Em Out. Okay I like them all! Lily Allen has such a great voice! I'm addicted to the Alfie music video. It's so funny. Okay for probably 12 and up.
Teen, 13 years old Written bymistermeaner77 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written bydr duck April 6, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Lilly's clever lyrics bold through the explicity

Messages: Mostly positive Violence: None Sexy Stuff: Only in "not big" Language: Frequent F words, but not used in a bad way Consumerism: None Drinking, drugs, & smoking: Yes but in a good way
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Parent of a 9, 12, and 18 year old Written byrainrider778 January 5, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

explicit mania

its almost creepy how much she says 4 letter words
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

EVERYONE NEEDS A LITTLE LILY ALLEN

PARENTS: do not worry!~ some cussing not much inapropriate refrences thats it! Its an awesome CD! That crazy british girl can sing! Buy tha CD!
Kid, 12 years old December 12, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Darkly original songs are masked with light, boppy music... very clever but maybe too rude for under 12..

this is a greaaaaaat CD with some wonderfully catchy but blatantly truthful songs. Lily is a very upfront, cut-the-crap person I think, and this shows in her music. Her songs reflect her attitude towards society, which is sometimes quite bad, but is sometimes very funny. Her songs are littered with swear words in abundance such as f__k, sh_t, b_tch, wh_re, tw_t and one bleeped out c_nt (in the song Friday Night.) Her sexual and drug references are also quite obvious. She makes references to pornographic magazines, having sex with people other than your partner, and there is references to smoking weed, and drinking alcohol, getting into fights et al. Therefore, the dark and innapropriate themes in her songs are masked by a light bubbly pop song music, which makes her misleading towards children and their parents. Be warned, some of her stuff may not be suitable for under 12, so you might like to discuss the issues in these songs with your child/ren, but if they are mature enough to understand, then by all means get the CD, it's great! :)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bylilyallen101 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

The best CD I have ever come across-also the most dirrtiest!

This is a terrific CD with alot of potential. Top tracks are the hit "Smile", "Knock em Out", "Everythings just wonderful", "Friday Night", and "Alfie". Give this CD a listen-you won't regret it! On the US version there is: Language: 9 f-bombs, 2+ w----, 1 s---, 1 t---, and 2 h--l Lots of talk about drugs however mostly anti-drug. Not Big is not appropriate for someone under 14. She is very negative.
Teen, 14 years old Written byAustinA123 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Superb CD, mixed in with curse words = One of my favourite Artists

A great CD by Lily Allen. I gave most of the content a pause. Language/Sexual Content: (Smile) F***ing (Everything's Just Wonderful) F***ing(LDN) Pimp, whore, slapper (british whore) (Not Big) The song is talking about an ex-lover, so it disses him quite a bit in many areas. (Take What You Take) F*ck (Nan, You're A Window Shopper) F*ck (about 5 + times) I say, buy it, but only if you are mature enough to handle the content!
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

kate nash is a bit more subtle

It depends on what song your listning to. most of them are kind of explicit, except the song LDN.

Pages