Kid reviews for City of Evil

Common Sense says

Amazing guitar, troubling lyrics. For mature teens.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 11 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 53 reviews
Teen, 17 years old Written byTylerTheWolfxc December 30, 2015

Music shouldn't be rated

Words are a sword that can be used for good or evil. Music shouldn't have a rating on it because people listen to music to be inspired and to enjoy and swearing are just words after all and really shouldn't be considered offensive Same thing with Sexually enuedos it's like hey let's not let are kid find out what made them in tell they are 13 no that is BS a 5 year old isn't gonna hear this music and think I wanna go murder rape and burn down cities there gonna think I like the sound of this or I don't like the sound of it and I am only adding a age because Common sense media is making me
Teen, 14 years old Written byfilm geek March 29, 2015

Too many doses and I'm starting to get an attraction

Personally, I love Avenged Sevenfold, I love their music, I love this album. Each song is anywhere between 5 mins and 8 mins long, and cover various different topics. Just putting it out there that the lyrics are full of profanity, violence (including suicide), and sexual innuendos. To be honest, it's not like you're going to listen to this album and suddenly want to jump off a bridge; you will probably just think about the lyrics and listen to some more Avenge Sevenfold (because they are awesome) and maybe have a slightly different outlook on life- but not negatively necessarily. Also, this band is very heavy and if you like quiet peaceful music, this may not be for you. In my opinion, just blast this album out of your speakers as loud as you can and enjoy it. Music saves lives.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 15 years old Written byNathanB685 June 20, 2016

PLEASE DONT LISTEN TO COMMON SENSE

The first time I listened to this album in its entirety was just about a year ago. I was very intrigued with the lyrics, and as a guitarist of five years at that time, the guitar was very pleasing. The content of the lyrics are meaningful and full of emotion. Please ignore the part of the Common Sense's review that mentions lyrical content. Many of the lyrics have Biblical content. Some examples of songs are Beast and the Harlot, whos lyrics are inspired by chapter 7 of Revelations, and The Wicked End, which talks about the Bibles prediction for the end of the world. Matt Shadows is an amazing vocalist who possesses a wide vocal range. Brian Haner Jr. and Zacky Vengeance are two examples of outstanding guitarists. The reason I put 12 as the age limit is because there are sexual references (which also happen to be Biblical references) and drugs are mentioned in Bat Country, but that is quoting a book, "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas." Overall, as the title says, don't listen to Common Sense. They put little research in their music reviews and I feel some of the authors are biased. Listen to a true fan who knows this band better than most people.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bya7xdeathbat December 22, 2016

Kids do not pay attention to lyrics

Children will not pay attention to the lyrics and will pay attention to M Shadows wonderful vocal range and the fantastic instrumentals.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byzombieslaya108 February 7, 2014

It should be ok for kids at least 12+

This album has a light Parental advisory on it. There is some violent lyrics but its not that explicit. Few references to rape, but its nothing graphic. The reason why it is Parental Advisory because F*ck and Sh*t is used a few times, but it is not used often. It should be ok for kids at age 11 or 12 if they are mature enough. But there is a clean version of the album if you don't feel comfortable for your kids listening to explicit lyrics.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byPercyjack September 29, 2013

City of awesomeness

A great album. If your in the military listen to track 11
Teen, 14 years old Written byDr. Zoigberg 97 August 8, 2013

Changes for the worse

Avenged sevenfold, the original album sounding the seventh trumpet was metalcore along with the second album waking the fallen. These 2 albums were some of my favorite metal albums.( nothing beats steal this album by system of a down though). Although city of evil ( their third album ) changed direction and lost their metal head fan base. Matt's voice is whinny and not unique throughout this album. Guitar solos can be expected and predictable. While guitar solos require A LOT of talent they are overdone and become to routine to be exciting. Now onto the content, language is there but occurs rarely. The most sexuall innuendo their is is the word "harlot and fornicating".

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 15 years old Written byCannibalClown96 July 28, 2012

Awesome

A fantastic album with a classic metal feel and awesome solos courtesy of Synyster Gates and Zacky Vengeance. Despite what the awful review above says, Matt Shadows, the lead vocalist has a great voice. Also, just ignore everything the 'Whats the story?' section says. 'Spanish style' refers to an acoustic solo at the end of ONE song, and the 'hit you over the head shock value' is also complete rubbish. The most shocking thing about this album was the bands change in musical direction, from metalcore/ post hardcore to hard rock. A fantastic album for rock fans, despite the review given.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bykiller425 April 10, 2012

It Isn't THAT bad

There is constant depictions of violence such as "I shot a mother right in front of her son". It also has about 10 uses of the word f*** (most of which are in Trashed and Scattered due to the fact that the song is about strong hatred for someone). Other than the language, there's not much wrong with it. The violent depictions may be pretty constant, but they're not exactly gruesome. I would say it's fine for a 13 year old depending on who they are (I'm 13 and I listen to this band quite a lot).

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written byadtr_forever April 6, 2012

A7X = one of my favorite bands!

I personally love A7X!! :) Their music is amazing! Some songs use curse words, but what kid doesn't hear it daily now? But parents if you don't want your kids listening to this, don't let 'em.
Teen, 15 years old Written byMCRsaveslives November 22, 2011

Know your kid, A-OK past that hurdle.

A7X is where it gets tricky...you have to know your kid. If you've brought them up to like Iron Maiden and Slayer and Metallica, this CD is for them. If they can't handle the sheer awesomeness of this record...it's not for them. Get to know your kids before you get them this record.

This title contains:

Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byxXxWhiteNoisexXx July 21, 2011

best stay on the safe side

I'd say the age doesn't matter, as long as listeners are comfortable with the content, but I would recommend that children under 13 not listen to it.

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byheavymetalfanatic June 29, 2011

A7X rocks!

AWESOME BAND!! AWESOME MUSIC!!! KEEP UP THE AWESOME WORK AVENGED SEVENFOLD!! I LUV U!!!
Teen, 17 years old Written byyesman-1 June 10, 2011

awesome

Blinded in chains was my favorite song. I was also brought to A7X because of Need for Speed Most Wanted..

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 16 years old Written byanime123rox May 18, 2011

Perfect for older teens (+14)

i love this album and artist but, has allot of violence and bad messages sometimes

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Positive Messages
Teen, 15 years old Written bynathanmonester April 26, 2017

Dont listen to the overly protective parents

i feel i must start this review by saying that i am a devote christian however i hate that recently christians have tried to censor all violence and language in the media for any ages. I am an extreme fan of avenged sevenfold and this is possibly their best album. This however should only be for ages 11 and up do to many F bombs. This also has violent imagery however it is not explained too graphically.
Teen, 14 years old Written bySilent_Assassin721 March 29, 2019

Don’t listen to CSM!

This is a great album. 16+ is ridiculous. If your kid is mature, then you should defintely let them listen to this if they like it. The only overtly explicit song is Trashed and Scattered. The music is a little bit violent at some points, but you need to remember that this is just music. Music doesn’t cause kids to murder people. My personal favorite song in this is M.I.A. That song doesn’t get enough credit. But anyway, this is great music and you shouldnmt listen to CSM because this is good music.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 14 years old Written byHolben2005 October 4, 2018

16+ is a little too high for A7X

Music shouldn’t be rated. If it says it’s EXPLICIT then just be careful. This album is one of my favourites of all time, and it’s not that bad. Only 3/11 songs contain EXPLICIT lyrics (and they don’t even curse that much in those 3 songs) and like 2/11 have some slight inappropriate lyrics, but they aren’t even that bad. 16+ is wayyy to high, rap albums should be rated that much, not A7X
Teen, 13 years old Written byVicarious May 8, 2018

Great album

This is one of the best A7X albums and first to be more heavy metal then metal core Should give it a listen if you don’t mind some language and some disturbing lyrics

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 17 years old Written byEvannnnn April 2, 2018

Amazing

Favorite album of all time. Nothing will ever get me more hyped than the intro and main riff of Beast and the Harlot. Whoever reviewed this album...

Pages