All teen and kid member reviews for City of Evil

Teen, 14 years old Written byfilm geek March 29, 2015
 

Too many doses and I'm starting to get an attraction

Personally, I love Avenged Sevenfold, I love their music, I love this album. Each song is anywhere between 5 mins and 8 mins long, and cover various different topics. Just putting it out there that the lyrics are full of profanity, violence (including suicide), and sexual innuendos. To be honest, it's not like you're going to listen to this album and suddenly want to jump off a bridge; you will probably just think about the lyrics and listen to some more Avenge Sevenfold (because they are awesome) and maybe have a slightly different outlook on life- but not negatively necessarily. Also, this band is very heavy and if you like quiet peaceful music, this may not be for you. In my opinion, just blast this album out of your speakers as loud as you can and enjoy it. Music saves lives.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byzombieslaya108 February 7, 2014
 

It should be ok for kids at least 12+

This album has a light Parental advisory on it. There is some violent lyrics but its not that explicit. Few references to rape, but its nothing graphic. The reason why it is Parental Advisory because F*ck and Sh*t is used a few times, but it is not used often. It should be ok for kids at age 11 or 12 if they are mature enough. But there is a clean version of the album if you don't feel comfortable for your kids listening to explicit lyrics.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byPercyjack September 29, 2013
 

City of awesomeness

A great album. If your in the military listen to track 11
Teen, 14 years old Written byDr. Zoigberg 97 August 8, 2013
 

Changes for the worse

Avenged sevenfold, the original album sounding the seventh trumpet was metalcore along with the second album waking the fallen. These 2 albums were some of my favorite metal albums.( nothing beats steal this album by system of a down though). Although city of evil ( their third album ) changed direction and lost their metal head fan base. Matt's voice is whinny and not unique throughout this album. Guitar solos can be expected and predictable. While guitar solos require A LOT of talent they are overdone and become to routine to be exciting. Now onto the content, language is there but occurs rarely. The most sexuall innuendo their is is the word "harlot and fornicating".
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byerica921 April 5, 2013
 

CSM SHUT UP ALREADY

A7X songs are popular like Unholy confessions and nightmare and bat country and fiction and afterlife and almost easy and so far away and buried alive and seize the day and critical accliam and carry on
Teen, 15 years old Written byCannibalClown96 July 28, 2012
 

Awesome

A fantastic album with a classic metal feel and awesome solos courtesy of Synyster Gates and Zacky Vengeance. Despite what the awful review above says, Matt Shadows, the lead vocalist has a great voice. Also, just ignore everything the 'Whats the story?' section says. 'Spanish style' refers to an acoustic solo at the end of ONE song, and the 'hit you over the head shock value' is also complete rubbish. The most shocking thing about this album was the bands change in musical direction, from metalcore/ post hardcore to hard rock. A fantastic album for rock fans, despite the review given.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bykiller425 April 10, 2012
 

It Isn't THAT bad

There is constant depictions of violence such as "I shot a mother right in front of her son". It also has about 10 uses of the word f*** (most of which are in Trashed and Scattered due to the fact that the song is about strong hatred for someone). Other than the language, there's not much wrong with it. The violent depictions may be pretty constant, but they're not exactly gruesome. I would say it's fine for a 13 year old depending on who they are (I'm 13 and I listen to this band quite a lot).
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byadtr_forever April 6, 2012
 

A7X = one of my favorite bands!

I personally love A7X!! :) Their music is amazing! Some songs use curse words, but what kid doesn't hear it daily now? But parents if you don't want your kids listening to this, don't let 'em.
Teen, 15 years old Written byMCRsaveslives November 22, 2011
 

Know your kid, A-OK past that hurdle.

A7X is where it gets tricky...you have to know your kid. If you've brought them up to like Iron Maiden and Slayer and Metallica, this CD is for them. If they can't handle the sheer awesomeness of this record...it's not for them. Get to know your kids before you get them this record.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byxXxWhiteNoisexXx July 21, 2011
 

best stay on the safe side

I'd say the age doesn't matter, as long as listeners are comfortable with the content, but I would recommend that children under 13 not listen to it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byheavymetalfanatic June 29, 2011
 

A7X rocks!

AWESOME BAND!! AWESOME MUSIC!!! KEEP UP THE AWESOME WORK AVENGED SEVENFOLD!! I LUV U!!!
Teen, 17 years old Written byyesman-1 June 10, 2011
 

awesome

Blinded in chains was my favorite song. I was also brought to A7X because of Need for Speed Most Wanted..
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byanime123rox May 18, 2011
 

Perfect for older teens (+14)

i love this album and artist but, has allot of violence and bad messages sometimes
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old March 4, 2011
 

awesome

This CD is the best one avenged sevenfold has done yet
Kid, 11 years old February 22, 2011
 

11+ if clean, 16+ if PA

I have listened to the CLEAN version of City of Evil and I love it. The guitar, bass and drums are amazing. All right the songs have swearing such as f**king parasite, f**king with me, don't mean s**t, god d*mn mother f**kers and god d*mn imposter and some of the subject matter is slightly dubious but there's nothing amazingly bad for the PA (parental advisory) sticker on the front of the album cover. Some of the songs like Seize the Day have good messages in. However there are clean versions of all the tracks and if you ignore the swearing it is really impressive music. Not for you if you don't like gruff singing and the sound of muted swearing or actual swearing. Great if you like hard rock with strong guitar and powerful vocals. To all the A7X haters out there: "You goddamn motherf**kers always wasting my time!"
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byFiction.Shadows February 5, 2011
 

A7X For Life

With a title like 'City of Evil' of course it doesn't scream kid and family friendly. Though my parents let me get it at the age of twelve I have come to appriciate music a lot more than I did. Synyster and Zacky do an amazing job on the guitar, Johnny is an awesome bassist, The Rev (foREVer Fiction lives) is the god of drummers and M.Shadows Vocals just add to it all. Amazing CD for anyone who likes 'hard rock' Highly recomend it. =)
Kid, 9 years old January 23, 2011
 

It is good enough to be on GH2

Beast and the Harlot is a good song
Teen, 15 years old Written byInk_Punk January 20, 2011
 

Oh yeah

This is a great CD to really rock out to but you need to be aware of what it is before you let your kids listen to it
Teen, 16 years old Written byZhael November 14, 2010
 

Avenged Sevenfold's Best

I've been a huge fan of Avenged Sevenfold as far back as Waking the Fallen, even as a kid. This is, in comparison, a much more tame album put beside WtF and Sounding the Seventh Trumpet, at least melodically. The main problem with the music is the language. The f bomb isn't the most common of words, but it's present. The lyrical content (sexual, for example) is most notably found in The Beast and the Harlot. However, being as this is referenced very closely to the Bible, isn't a problem, as banning the album for that reason might as well be banning the bible. As for the positive messages, if taken loosely, they can be found loosely in songs like "Betrayed," where the band memorializes the late "Dimebag" Darrell. Another song, arguably their largest, is "Bat Country," where the band speaks against the lavish, indulging lifestyle of drinking and sex. Of course, the references are more implied then said explicitly, so, once again, it isn't a problem. Language is the only issue. Great album,
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bydicapriofreak94 September 14, 2010
 
This is definitely one of my more favorite albums out there. I love anythying by Avenged Sevenfold anyways, but this one has a lot of songs on here that I really like. They do say the f word quite a bit in this cd, and do talk about some disturbing things, but definitely worth it :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages