All member reviews for "Counting Stars" (CD Single)

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Clean, folky track urges listeners to skip material things.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 8 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old November 9, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Catchy, but sort of long.

I think this is a catchy song, but it is kind of long. When listening to it on my iPad, I thought, "This song is so long!" I think the message is good, because it teaches kids to put nature first.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old November 29, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This song is awesome! I think this song would be good for 7 and 8 year olds but they might not get it. But 9 and up will probaly get it. Plus it is clean, catchy, and awesome!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Written byAnonymous November 12, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

This song is Rated G.

Good Song for kids. I also love this song. On 6+
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byrebma97 November 1, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Catchy Single

It took time to grow on me, but now I really like "Counting Stars". It's so catchy. There's nothing inappropriate in this as far as I know.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 17 years old Written byWRESTLINGFOREVER103 March 17, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

This song is awesome

Counting Stars by One Rupublic will be my first ever Common Sense Media review, Counting Stars is a cool tune to listen to even though I prefer late 90s and early 20s music One Rupublic are a boy band I like because they are better than a stupid band like One Direction because One Republic have done good songs that people like, One Direction suck because they are for girls, I will give One Rupublic and their song Counting Stars 100/100 because I am doing scores for my reviews, 10, 20, 30 and 40 are Bad, 50 and 60 are ok, 70, 80, 90 and 100 are good, I love this tune.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byHightech Redneck April 22, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Catchy song with terrible message

This is not a good song for kids because this song is clearly about suicide, some examples below. "In my face is flashing signs." "Everything that kills me makes me feel alive." "Everything that drowns me makes me wanna fly." And more examples in the song. The video is more offensive than the song by showing a pastor stealing money. This song is very catchy and gets stuck in my head but is also a message that isn't good for anybody.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byBlake_Slaughter January 10, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Very catchy song by OneRepublic

Fun, catchy, and clean song. The only thing I don't like about it is that it's overplayed on the radio, other than that, it's a great song.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bymunoru December 21, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Good

It is non-materialistic, which makes a refreshing change from rap's materialism.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written bybscgirl October 12, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Counting Stars

this song is fine please dont worry
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models