Kid reviews for "Empire State of Mind" (CD single)

Common Sense says

Jay-Z's love letter to the Big Apple; some drug references.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 3 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 33 reviews
Kid, 12 years old December 10, 2020

"Baby I'm from New York!"

Parents need to know the following about Empire State of Mind:

1# The "N" word is used a few times throughout the song.

Now, that is all I know since I listen to the single by Alicia Keys.



Empire State of Mind: 10/10!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byspeyan727 September 11, 2018
Teen, 13 years old Written byBig Fan August 3, 2018

Great song, but not quite for kids or younger teens

I think this is a great song. Alicia Keys fits in nicely. But it is still best for older teens. It's mostly positive, but there is some questionable content. There is one mild sexual reference. Infrequent use of strong language includes the "N" word and "Jesus." Drugs are mentioned. Anyway, it's a really good song that I highly recommend for Jay-Z fans.
Kid, 11 years old April 30, 2016

Awesome song!

Despite the language, it's an awesome song!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byHorace Williams November 19, 2014

Cool.

I think Jay Z is a great rapper. This is one of his best songs. I'm black, and was born and raised in NYC. So I can kinda relate to this song. Also, the beat it really great. Great job, Jay Z
Kid, 11 years old July 23, 2012

Empire State of Mind

I'm a Jay-z fan, but he's not always appropriate. I like the song. It encourages kids to believe anything can happen in NY. Some lyrics are inappropriate.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byanders09ma May 27, 2012

Empire state of Mind :)

I Love this song! Alicia & Jay-Z are amazing :) Jay-Z is one of my favorite rappers :) Yayy! :)

This title contains:

Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 17, 2012

New York!

Yes, it has a few profanities. Yes, it has a verse about sex. However this verse is not supporting it, rather warning of it. Also this verse is delivered in lines that younger kids wont understand anyway. I think that it's a great song about Nyc and that the clean version is ok for young children.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old May 18, 2011

YEAA :)

I think it's awesome :)))

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bybpowerslol December 30, 2010
He worpships the devil i never listen to his music !!!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bydrizzle1251 December 14, 2010

not bad

if its bad jst buy the clean version.

This title contains:

Language
Positive Messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bygoodperson4 November 16, 2010

common sense media overrates once again

i like this song. There only 5 bad words for the whole song, and only these are enough to give it a 14+?

This title contains:

Language
Positive Messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byMASSIECLIKANDPE... September 18, 2010
Kid, 12 years old September 1, 2010
this song has s--t and n---a,but no f--k

This title contains:

Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old August 27, 2010
Everyone needs to know that this is normal jay z-whole song is about drugs with language splatterd around. So if your fine with young forever, be expecting something a little worse, this should be Ok too, but if youre not, dont look into this and further.

This title contains:

Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 25, 2010

Good Song

This song is so good. I only by clean songs so I can't really relate to what most people think about it.

This title contains:

Language
Kid, 12 years old June 6, 2010
love this song. if u like hip hop, you are most likely to like this song.

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bygbboone May 3, 2010

Better than other raps.

Get the censored version and it should be fine.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Positive Messages
Kid, 9 years old March 19, 2010
personally i just like alicia keys new york thing and the beat

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 11 years old February 20, 2010

i love jay z

i love jay z he has GREAT music but it can be quite inapropriate at times

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism

Pages