All member reviews for "Firework" (CD single)

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Unusually clean Perry song emphasizes self-esteem.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 133 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byנαηє December 1, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Postive Messages - Negative?

It's a little suggestive, the music video. The song is clean, and tells you to show the world how you are, and shine as YOU are, not what others expect you to be. Although, there is a situation of a gay boy sitting around - angry with himself - and kisses the other boy. I really don't think little kids should be exposed to being gay at such a young age - they should stay straight. Another situation in the video, a girl is ashamed to join in the pool party because of her large breasts. She finally comes out and shows the others at the party that she doesn't care and shows them who she is.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Parent of a 3, 6, 11, 13, 14, and 16 year old Written by2manykids November 30, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Good for no one

This terrible attempt at music actually hurts my ears. When my daughter Zoey turned it on I though we were listening to Cinemax on tape. Perry's lyrics emphazies SEX SEX SEX. In one song she sings about how girls in California love to have sex on a beach and are pretty much open for bussiness sluts. This sterotype is not acceptable by anyone, no matter how famous. Bottom line it is very inapproprite.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 3, 4, 7, 10, 16, and 19 year old Written bySupreme_OverLor... November 30, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Ke$ha in disguise

Actually, this is a terrible CD. All of Perry's songs have underlinging messages about drugs and sex. She is just a diguised Ke$ha
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 year old Written byejkdmom November 28, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great song with a great message

I love it. The song's meaning is about being yourself and it is positive. Great dialogue and the older your kid is the more they will understand, the younger will love the tune and get it eventually.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old November 27, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old November 25, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Unlike any of her songs.

This sond is compleatly different from all of Katy's, and it's awesome! It's very catchy (to me at least), and has a positive message. Nothing to worry about!.... Unless you see the music video (in the music video strange things happen. Fireworks came out of a very odd place too.)
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byxAndreax November 22, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Katy Perry's songs are AMAZING.Plus the song tell kids to feel good about themselves and boost their self-esteem
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymanay_4511 November 17, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
BEST SONG EVER!! KATY PERRY RULES!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byteamjacobgirl2.0 November 16, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great Song

Like almost every Katy Perry song, this song ROCKS!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byFireworkFanatic November 14, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Perfect For Almost Everyone

Usually Katy Perry sings about terrible topics but it's nice to see her have concern for peoples self esteem. In this song i can listen without worrying what i'm listening to.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old November 14, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great song

I love this song it's so good!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byBook Hugger November 10, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
LOVE it! Everyone, please log on to youtube.com to listen!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Educator and Parent of a 10 year old Written bywillowfaierie November 10, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

awesome (and inspirational)

we jam to it all the time! nothing to worry about!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages