All member reviews for "If I Die Young" (CD Single)

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Death is topic of clean but mature country song.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 18 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old October 15, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

steve is hot

this song is so innapropriate its about dying seriously it would give my kids fears about dying young i would rather let them listen to slim shady if i had kidz oh and steve is sssssoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo hot
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 7, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Such a beautiful song

I love it! It's so beautiful! The Band Perry has to be one of my favorite bands!
Teen, 14 years old Written byrebma97 December 13, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

3.5/4 stars

The music is nice (as well as the singing), but the song is about death-which is kind of dark. It's not innapropriate except for that part. I think it's okay for kids 11+.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old November 13, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great song.

Nothing really bad about this song. I usually don't like country, but this song I really love. :/ Strange. Try it.
Adult Written by 775 January 26, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byUseursense August 16, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

OK I guess

This is a very catchy song. I think it is OK for older Tweens. It has the topic of death, that's the problem
Kid, 11 years old February 20, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Nice

This is a good song.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written byabbacus June 20, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Love it!

Very pretty song. My favorite Band Perry song!
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 June 1, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

if i die young cd single

Families can talk about why young teen artists -- like The Band Perry -- would create a song like "If I Die Young." As a young person with a long life in front of you, how can you remind yourself to make the most of every day? Families might want to discuss their values and beliefs when it comes to death and burial.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent Written byMJMom4 May 30, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Despair not necessary

A song that essentially glorifies one's death above one's life is tragic, especially when I remember so often wondering about the purpose of my own life during my teen years. Songs should celebrate that those difficult teen years pass and offer the opportunity for SUCH better things if one will just hold on... Such a shame that it's such a catchy, sweet tune!
Teen, 16 years old Written byprincessA95 May 2, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Wonderful Song!!!!

I love this song. Yes, they are obviously talking about death, but Kim (the female singer) is saying if she happens to die young for her family not to cry over her too much because she lived a good life. Also, when she says "I've never known the lovin' of a man" she goes on to talk about him holding her hand. What's sexual about him holding her hand? I said it's fine for ages 11 and up because by that age the kid could probably understand that concept of death.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byleftbehindcrazed8 December 22, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

emotional:)

This song is so sweet and really emotional, as well. It makes my mom cry whenever I play and sing it! Her voice is also very beautiful. The reason I put violence is it because, well, it's about death. One specific line is, "The sharp knife of a short life." But really, it's an amazing song and even talks about going to God's Kingdom after death which you are gonna do if you are a Christian! Great choice for tweens and up!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old September 23, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Good but Sad

The only bad thing I have to say about this song, is that the message is sad. "If I die young, bury me in satin, sink me in the river at dawn." That's the only sad part.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educator and Parent of a 11 year old Written bywillowfaierie August 26, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Alive

This song is really sad :( but i love it ! THE BAND PERRY FTW
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old August 22, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Depressing

Depressing and i hate country
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byLizzie future Bieber August 11, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Awesome.

I LOVE this song. It's such a good song perfectly fine song for kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Parent of a 12 year old Written bybobsax August 7, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

The whole album rocks

Check out the whole album. The songs are very well written and fun for the whole family.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bystripesanddots August 4, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Beautiful Song

This song is really good. I've loved it since it was first released. The message about death is a little mature and may be too much for younger kids. I think it's okay for 10+.