All member reviews for Late Registration

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Social themes explored in this edited CD.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 13 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old July 17, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

8+

i like kanye west and i like this
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written bypreppypunk April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

An important Hip Hop album for teens

I was blown away by Kanye West's sophomore album, "Late Registration." Instead of promoting the usual product placement and bling bling that saturates Hip Hop, West confronts these issues head-on. His lyrics serve as a wake up call to African Americans to quit obsessing over material goods. In “Diamonds…” he addresses the topic of children enslaved in Sierra Leone, who are forced to mine the very diamonds that artists flaunt as signs of status in the Hip Hop community. “Late Registration” is truly one of the most important albums of this year and is worthy of critical discussion with your kids.
Adult Written byhappy77801 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A

I am so glad there is at least one rapper out there who talks about things other than jewelery, women, etc.. I allow my kids to listen to the edited version of this over songs by 50 Cent or Eminem because of what he has to say about important issues.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Good Messages, Fine for kids

This CD does contain some bad language, but he talks about more than just sex and fame, he talks about real problems he or other people have faced. This album is called "Late Registration" Because he is going back to finish college (even though he is already a succesful rapper) his new album (graduation) is celebrating his graduation and spreads good messages too. Kanye is great!!!!
Teen, 16 years old Written byPulp Exorcist February 6, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great Album!

A Great album that is high school plus.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old September 1, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
i love kanye wests cds they are awesome but some of them have a few swear words
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bystar April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Kayne West's CD is amazing and is probally the best in the rap game.

Kayne West delivers so many important messages in this great CD but warning this Cd is not for younger kids at all.
Teen, 15 years old Written byMedia45 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

good

i liked it it has good messages
Teen, 17 years old Written byBeekay4 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Kanye is the greatest rapper in hip-hop today. Period.

Adult Written bythetruthstrikes April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

flowtastic

Kanye has done it again. He intergrates the soulful tunes (Heard em say, touch the sky) with some of club poppin, show stoppin joints (Gold Digger, Diamonds). But I love how 'Ye raps about political and social issues within the context of every song. Great beats, lyrics, and overall production from the college dropout yet again.
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

pretty good

it was just okay. The best song on it was drive slow feat. Paul Wall. The songs weren't that good they were just okay. none of them were catchy except for drive slow and gold digger.