All member reviews for "Live While We're Young" (CD Single)

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Brit boy band shows a cheeky side; know your tweens.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 21 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 11 and 17 year old Written byHeartandSoul5 October 13, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great Job Boys!

It's very clean and all, but the song meaning is totally not good for our kids to know. The song has a catchy tune, but it's not the greatest message in life. Live While We're Young is basically just telling everyone that they should do anything that might not seem right before you're an adult, even though the boys of One Direction are already Young Adults, and therefore making the music for people who are mature enough, like tweens & teens.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written byRosebud95 October 11, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Catchy :)

It's sort of like a mix of 'Up All Night', musically, and 'What Makes You Beautiful', in that it's catchier (like it's more likely to get stuck in your head than "Up All Night"). The iffy lines in this song are: "I know we only met, but let's pretend it's love", "Tonight let's get some", and "Don't let the pictures leave your phone".
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Parent of a 13 and 18 year old Written byYoung@heart October 10, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Almost appropriate, but beware.

This song is really fun but there are some sexual innuendos like, "I know we've just met, but let's pretend it's love." The chorus says, "Tonight, let's get some! And live while we're young." The video is really fun and clean.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bywicked_njo August 7, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Really parents? Iffy for 17?

No young kids pick up on the "innuendo". It's just about having fun while still young.
Kid, 11 years old February 27, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great song

I love the song although it has got a lot of dark lyrics. Teenage girls usually don't look at that they just think the song is catchy.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Written byAnonymous August 26, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Off for anyone 18 & Under TV-MA Under Iffy for 19- 24 and On the 25+

WOW! A One Direction Song that's Not for Kids. No this it's no error nether. This is a Sex Song. About Teen Sex. Not for Kids/ Teens at all.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old April 2, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Best Song Ever!!! 1d!!!

One Direction are the most positive amazing boys ever! They send positive messages to everyone. The only thing is they steal our hearts and sweep us off our feet!!! Great hair! Live While Were Young has positive message pretty much all the way through the song. These British/Irish boys definatley steal tweens hearts and their cute looks help!! Theyre talented cut funny sweet and just plain out extrodinHARRY!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old March 31, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

ewww

Oh my God. I hate one direction. If you like one direction you're wasting you're precious lifetime in daydream world because all they care about is cash and sex. They all look creepy and ugly and their song lyrics are weird. Oh and directioners bitching about Taylor Swift shut the hell up because Harry broke up with Taylor Swift for not having sex with him. Also if you want to be dating one of them not a chance because their are a lot of fans and all of them say the same thing. Also famous people date famous people. One direction is making people waste their lives and hate Taylor Swift who is amazing. She wrote a song dedicated to a little boy who died of cancer, and gives some money to charities. I would love to see 1D do that.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byIsabel14 March 8, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Good song by One Direction

I really like this song. Common sense is way off
Teen, 13 years old Written byLightLittleLamb March 5, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Not my kind of music, but I have to admit it's catchy. Go for it, Directioners!

I know what you're thinking "Oh god, how irresponsable to let a 2-year-old child listen to this! It's full of sexual references!". Yeah, calm down parents. First of all, by "full of sexual references" you mean two, right? I don't consider "don't let the pictures leave your phone" something dirty. Teenagers love taking silly pictures. Seeing this line as if they were pornographic of something is a really perverted way to look at things. With that being said, let's move to the actual "problems". I don't know if any of you know Kids React, but they had an episode where the Fine bros showed this song to the kids. At some point of the video, they asked them about what those lyrics were really saying. Only two 13-year-old and a 11-year-old could get the actual meaning, which I think is old enough to handle it. The thing is that since there's nothing too explicit, young kids won't find anything mature in the song. Maybe you don't won't your 6-year-old daughter to be singing that she'll hook up with a bunch of guys in the street and if that's the problem I can get your point. At the end of it all, it's really up to you, parents! But if your child likes One Direction I don't see why you wouldn't let him/her listen to this track.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old January 5, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

I like the song a lot

I love the song a lot! I haven't stopped boat paddling ever since I saw the video! It's a great song, very carefree!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old December 22, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Live While We're Young!

This song is quite upbeat and easy to sing along to, though maybe some parents will get the wrong impression at the first line "hey girl I'm waitin' on ya, so come and let me sneak you out". The music video is quite okay though, unlike WMYB. This one is about being fun and crazy. I didn't even think about the 'lets go get some' lyric.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byThey call me Bexter November 20, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

British Boy Band, One Direction, let out another upbeat Single.

"Live While We're Young" is the latest single from British Boy Band, One Direction. The message this song lets out is to live your life to the fullest while you're still young and because One Direction has over 3,000,000 fans in Britain and America these fans can hear this message and spread it possibly around the world. I would recommend this song to anyone over the age of 10.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bymrstomdaley November 17, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

HARMLESS! AMAZING song about having a good time

I LOVE one direction. They are probably the best role models out there for tweens and teens right now. A lot of people are complaining about the "Tonight let's get some, and live while we're young" but Liam (of one direction) jokes about it saying, "PUPPIES! I SWEAR WE'RE TALKING ABOUT PUPPIES!" It's fun and only a song. Zayn sings "and if we get together, don't let the pictures leave your phone"... People my age take pictures with their friends and boyfriends/girlfriends all the time, completely harmless, and post them on instagram or facebook! The song is not talking about inappropriate photos. The song is just about living life to the fullest, not anything inappropriate. If your kid is young enough, they won't even understand the "tonight let's get some" part. if they are old enough that they do understand it, then they should also be old enough to realize that it's just a song and the boys aren't trying to set a bad example. The "I know we only met but let's pretend it's love" is totally harmless too. In all of their songs, they sing about being in love. In this one, Harry is just singing that he met a girl that he really likes and thinks he loves her but knows that he doesn't know her well enough to actually love her. I get this, because it has happened to me too. Stop judging the boys until you actually understand the teenager references in it.. They're not trying to connect with parents, they're connecting with the teenagers. Zayn has even said in an interview, "I'm a bit scared of the press because I don't want people to think i'm a bad person."
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byNoJimmyProtested November 7, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

A Review From Their Biggest Fan

I am a huge Directioner and love this song. There are references to "getting some" but it goes over my 10 year old sister's head. Overall it is a catchy song with a message about living life at the fullest while we can.
Teen, 14 years old Written byAnimeGirl8 October 28, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Great Song!

I'm a total Directioner and I was VERY satisfied with this single! Although the boys say "Tonight Lets Get Some, and live while were young," I don't think young Directioners will understands what this means.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byrebma97 October 26, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Slightly edgy 1D song

This is a really catchy song! It's like a fun song to dance to. This song is mostly okay for kids, but there is some innuendo/double entendres ("I know we only met but let's pretend it's love", "Tonight let's get some", and, "Don't let the pictures leave your phone"). I highly doubt that kids will pick up on this, though, so it's fine for them.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bybscgirl October 25, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

lwwy

yall need to chill out one direction wasn't trying to get little kids there 5 guys there just growing up a little also most people don't think much of the lyrics
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Adult Written byParamayerswift October 17, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Direction Disappoints...Unsurprising. "A Good Life is a Racy Life"

Fun song by young boys, some of them not old enough to club. It's a blatant song about a party-guided one night stand. "I know we only met but let's pretend it's LOVE. We'll never, ever stop for anyone! Let's get some!" Throw in lyrics about sneaking the prey out, and pics on the phone, you've got an awful song for young girls. NOT for kids, NOT for young girls. Don't want these boys playing models for boyfriends. I'd be damned if any girl I know ended up with one of these tattooed, drunk-in-the-studio, one night stand boys. TERRIBLE role models. If your kid's into them, check out their blogs. You'll be surprised they're not the darling British princes Cowell marketed them to be. Can we get one song that doesn't put Life and Acceptance on the same plate?
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byDMfanCassy October 16, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

It really just depends your perspective on it...

I really love One Direction with all my heart, but I am going to think twice before buying this for my iPod. The only problem I have with it is: "Tonight let's get some.. and live while we're young." and "And if we get together don't let the pictures leave your phone." Most people will get the wrong idea, I personally think the song truly is just about having a great time with friends and a special someone and making the most of your teenage life! When Zayn sings: If we get together don't let the pictures leave your phone.." People think he's singing about sending dirty pictures, but that's really not what I think... Us teenagers like to take funny, "stupid", pictures for fun! Sometimes they end up embarressing, so that's sorta what I thought when I listened to it a few times... But other than that the song is really great and I really love it a lot! :)
What other families should know
Too much sex

Pages