All member reviews for Loud

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

RiRi sheds her darker tone, but not the sex and drinking.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 13 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bySalimullah January 31, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Love it~!

Love it....this is real music! <3
Kid, 11 years old January 14, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good, but not Great

I love Rihanna but most of the songs get old after you listen to them alot. Only Girl is probably my favorite track
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old December 26, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Some of these songs i'm addicted to like "What's my name?" and "Only girl"
Parent Written bydavidrox February 10, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great Talent! but too sexy

great album, really catchy, lots of talent, but lots of dark songs, including F-bombs, and lots of sexual violence,(S&M, What's My name, ect...) good for kids over thirteen
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLittleMinajWarrior December 19, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Awesome album!!!

I love this album. The sex theme is toned down on this, although some suggestive lyrics, S&M, Skin, and Only Girl (In The World) are a bit risque, but the only one I don't listen to is Skin. Only Girl (In The World) isn't that bad, it's an awesome song. Skin is dirty. S&M is about sexual abuse, I don't know what it stands for, though. I got the clean version, but the words on here are "b*stard", "f**k", and "n***a". This is a great album, with powerful message in the songs, and fun. Some songs like Cheers (Drink To That) are more upbeat and wild, but some songs, like California King Bed, are slow and sad; with a meaning as well. This is a great album, I wouldn't recommend it for younger kids, but it's not too bad, not the worst. Love it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old August 29, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

From DJ Turn The Music Up to Mama I Just Shot A Man Down Its A NoNo :(

whhhyyy! riri u were fine with pon de replay! Of course the last couple albums have shown Rihannas darker side. (especially Rated R staying true to its name). Some songs are fine in this album but not all. One song talks about beating as pleasure and another is based around killing a man. So parents be warned if your kids like riri because she went from music of the sun to beating for fun. I <3 U riri but try to make more kid friendly songs as well :)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byimjustwondering March 27, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

older teen no lil teens or tween or babies

i let anyone 16+ older listen to this album only because here song is about sex and her the bf treats her right during these sexual acts the explict album goes into more detail then the normal album the songs are good the only song i deem apporiate for younger kids to hear is Only Girl(in the world) and thats it
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byKonichiwa March 14, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

rihanna is the r&b commander

Number 2 rihanna album. Its iffy for kids 20 beacause of the sex in S&M and raining men (and there still great songs) and the drink song cheers (drink to that). Pop lovers will like only girl (in the world).
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byThatsSoMe March 7, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
I really love this CD. I find myself blaring it in the car all the time. It has some great tracks to dance to and most of the songs are pretty catchy. Songs like Cheers and S&M are a bit suggestive which is why i wouldn't recommend this for anyone under 13.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byMiJus0 January 27, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Rihanna...fav!

Love It!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byMy-nose-in-a-book January 20, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good album, Sex songs frequent

I love these songs, although they are quite sexual.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 13 year old Written byzinger55 December 27, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Some of her songs, including S&M, are not for younger kids. Her hits "Only Girl" and "What's my Name?" are great but get boring after a while. Try her new cd.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old December 3, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Not the best out of Rihanna's mouth

Starting with "Rated-R", she curses a few too many times, which makes "What's My Name" and "Only Girl" the only tracks containing some s**.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing