Common Sense Media says

Political, explicit, and absurdist.

Users say

(out of 49 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Adult Written byHot Fuss February 10, 2014

The mezmerizing downfall of SOAD.

Before this record, System made classics like their 1998 eponymous and 2001's Toxicity - even Steal This Album! was alright. But Mezmerize is full of weak filler tracks that were made to annoy the f*ck out of anyone. Even though their music is great, this album is not for kids. As a metal act, SOAD aren't going to give heed to parents. This album isn't as profane as Steal This Album! or the self-titled, but it isn't the clean Toxicity. F--k appears multiple times on the album, including in "B.Y.O.B" and "Violent Pornography", while "Cigaro" contains the use of the word s--t. The album is also filled with sexual references; however, they are used metaphorically. Lyrics like "My cock is much bigger than yours" and "Violent pornography, chokin' chicks and sodomy", along with references to gonnorhea, are incredibly sexual. With some anti-war tracks, the album does gleefully depict acts of violence without repercussion - all metaphorically. "This Cocaine..." is a godawful song about acid tripping, and the album shows the downfall of what was once a promising alt-metal act.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byrallos April 5, 2012

NOT 17+

Honestly in the entire album, there are only 7 different lines with swear words (although some are repeated) and they are: "Where the f**k are you?", "My c**k is much bigger than yours", "My s**t stinks much better than yours", "Everybody, everybody, everybody f**ks", "The kind of s**t you get on tv", "All you maggots smoking fags", and "All you bitches throw your hands in the air", so I don't think this is too bad. Most of the sex and violence is in the song "Violent Pornography" with a chorus that says, "It's a violent pornography, chokin' chicks and sodomy, the kind of s**t you get on your tv". However, there are positive messages, and this album doesn't have THAT bad of content - I've loved it since I was 10.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byidk lol August 11, 2011

Daron Malakian, I hate you!!!

First of all, this album is okay. Daron took on as a lead vocalist, and he is terrible. I recommend not buying this, because Malakian made it crap. It was better when serj tankian wrote the music, because it was more passionate and appropriate. That guy, Daron, made system of a down into a glorified mix of eminem and bieber, and its total crap!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bykururu June 25, 2011

AWWWWWWWWWWWW YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Every child needs some SOAD in their life
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byPongo February 26, 2011

Fine for anyone 13 or older.

Really, this site gives hypnotize a great review, and says that Mesmerize shouldn't be listened to by anyone under 17? Get real. No music is so bad that none under 17 should not listen to it. Curse words are herd by teenagers every day, I don't care how much they are sheltered by their parents. And to say this album has a bad message? Really? Weather you agree with them or not, System of a Down has political lyrics that get you to think. Also, why are people getting so worked up about BYOB? "Why don't presidents fight the war? Why do they always send the poor?" I don't know how you people parent, but I believe that it's good to get your kids to think about these things. The song only has one curse word, f***, which they only say once. Don't judge a song by how fast the tempo is and what genre of music it is. I bet if the same lyrics were in a slow pop song, none would have said a word.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byVolchitsa December 27, 2010

All-round amazing album! :D

I absolutely adore this album, as with all System of a Down's albums. I have been listening to System since I was about eight years old, as with other "inappropriate" bands/singers. None have encouraged me to curse or do anything "bad". Heck, I'm a fourteen year old girl and I can't recall a time I have lied or cursed, even with listening to music such as this. I know some parents might find System's lyrics distasteful, but hey, from the schools I've been to (public and private), I see fifth graders using worse words and talking about worse things than System does. The music is mostly political, or trying to open the listeners mind to new ideas, or steer them away from the commercialism and lies we face in our world/society. Don't be turned off by B.Y.O.B, it is the only song that is that "extreme" that System made. Any drugs that are in the songs are referred to in negative perspective, describing how they might ruin your life or alter your view on reality. The songs that use the worst language are "Cigaro" and "B.Y.O.B" (C**k, S**t, and f**k), but most teens hear these words daily, and much more of it in rap and hip-hop. The song "Violent Pornography" is basically about how the media portrays society on TV, and showing that the filth you find on TV now a days can be compared to a violent pornography, so if you were thinking this song was about sex, it's not. Much of the lyrics will probably sound like nonsense, but in order to understand all of their songs, you have to decipher the lyrics, so their songs also pose a mental challenge for the listener (that is if they care to know the meaning). The music itself mixes genres, but generally is rock/metal. In my opinion, this isn't their best album, but like all of System's albums, the music is poetic, entrancing, inspirational, eye-opening, VERY unique, political, and better than the usual stuff you hear. System also mixes some crude but funny humor in some of the songs. To put simply, if you don't want your kid to hear the reality of the world we are now facing, such as the degradation of American society and government, or don't want them listening to metal or a few bad words that they normally hear anyway, don't let them listen to the album. If all that is okay with you (which it should be), then go ahead and let your kid listen. ~Volchitsa
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byaahmadd December 15, 2010

Age rating too high.

I think that the age given for System of a Down ''Mezmerize'' is up way too high. Sure, it may contain some sexual references and strong and suggestive language, but the songs themselves I feel can have more of a positive impact of people, especially those of the young age. This is because for many people, it introduces a new way to look at the politics and the world we live in, and whether its a good thing or a bad thing, it all depends on where you stand when it comes to such matters. For many, I think it might be better to expose younger people at a younger, to music such as System of a Down, because of the new perspective it could give them. But its not all about the politics, the sexual references, and the messages the band is sending out, it also has an uplifting feel to their music that I think many people could relate to also in the lyrics. So personally, if I was a parent, I would definetly not rate this album at such an older age, for it could be better to let kids this age to explore and find the music they like and can relate to, and the album ''Mezmerize'' by System of a Down could be a great start to that.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byangelabovedemonbelow November 1, 2010

An awesome CD

The only real thing that bothers me is the language, but it doesn't swear as much as other bands. The CD is just amazing.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byA Dandelion October 14, 2010

A stunning masterpiece of metal that happens to be innropriate for most tweens and some teens.

This album has every curse in the book, sexual references galore, violence. It's also absurdly well-written, with lyrics that are nothing short of visionary poetry and complex, sophisticated instrumental arrangements that draw from every genre you can think of. Mesmerize is funny, smart, beautifully executed and raises your IQ another few points with every listen. Having said that, it's also inappropriate for tweens and kids you can't take lyrics with a grain of salt. Some 12-year-olds will be able to handle it, while some 18-year-olds won't be able to get through the first track. You need to decide weather your child is precocious enough to deal with the music and understand its content to its full extent. If they are, then the album is a great listen that the parents will probably enjoy as well, given time; my dad was the one who got me into System of a Down.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byuvkitty September 26, 2010

wow...

User: sanddude stole the words out of my mouth. "Off for 12 and under. Iffy for 13-14. On for 15+"
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Parent of a 1, 10, 14, and 17 year old Written bySystemOfANintendo September 2, 2010

Sure, it's gleefully explicit, but CSM is being crazy and over-protective again.

The messages ARE good. Although it's gleefully explicit, CSM is absolutely over-exaggerating the content. Iffy for 17+? Mature 13 and 14 year olds should be allowed to listen to this. My 14 year old loves this album, and I am fine with that. And I don't have any good reason why my 17-year-old can't listen to it. Once you're 15, this stuff is anything but news and perfectly acceptable. And saying that 17 year old's can't listen to this is is absolutely positively crap. It's like saying a grown man can't listen to Eminem. And the lyrics are hilarious, and it's a great listen. Off for 12 and under. Iffy for 13-14. On for 15+ Buy this album for your teen today!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written bytsever02 April 29, 2010

Very catchy album (except for the language and political messages)

Awesome CD. BYOB is great except for the language. I dislike Violent Pornography (Language and whatnot) and Old School Hollywood (sounds lame, haven't even listened to the whole song.. Cigaro is rought too. But other than that, the CD is pretty good. Lost in Hollywood has a little bit of language but not too bad. The rest of the CD is amazing. Daron Malakian does a lot of singing in this CD which is pretty cool, cause he doesn't do that a whole lot in the other albums so much. Pretty intense, but I love it. I think it's my fav CD by them, besides "Steal this Album". It's a really political CD and I dislike their messages, but this CD is just too darn catchy (BYOB) lol.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bytwilightkilla March 19, 2010
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byPlague March 2, 2010

Mezmerize (SOAD)

One of my favorite albums of System of a Down (next to Toxicity). The album speaks about politics mainy, and has sick guitar riffs. BYOB is my personal favorite from the album.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byeXtremeXD101 August 9, 2009

SOAD , FTW.

Ahh.. SOAD , i don't see anything wrong , game's , movies , and other bands are more raw.
Teen, 14 years old Written byIronZombie75 August 9, 2009

Teens and up

I love system of a down. Here are the most iffy lyrics: "my c**k is much bigger than yours and can walk right through the door" and "Where the f*** are you!?"
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 9 year old Written byChickasaw3 July 25, 2009

Perfect for enyone grown up enough to not care about bad words

I love it ITs awsome perfect for enyone that knows not say bad words
Teen, 16 years old Written byzysilveria April 22, 2009

16+ ? you people misunderstand SOAD

Look, this stuff is sending a good message. Just look at Serj Tankian helping out with Stopping the Killing in Darfur and recognizing the Armenian Genocide. All the swearing has no meaning unless you adults GIVE IT MEANING! Kids can give it a possitive meaning. It is bad if you say F*** YOU ALL!. But it is not if you say SAVE THE F***ING EARTH, GO GREEN!!!. It is all about perception. I'm only 13 and i understand that. It's not about what you say, its about what others hear. I think kids can hear a good message from this. (also these songs can be really funny)
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpecialNeedsDolphin December 30, 2008

Good mesege

There is nothing wrong with the messege. In all honesty words like f**k dont mean any thing. The only reason why they do is because you let it mean something. I think that if the language is being used to give a messege its ok.
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008

always a good message.

its always got a good message behind the abrasive lyrics. its personaly my favorite band. for bad lyrics you can just buy a clean version.

Pages