Parents say

(out of 13 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Adult Written byHot Fuss February 10, 2014

The mezmerizing downfall of SOAD.

Before this record, System made classics like their 1998 eponymous and 2001's Toxicity - even Steal This Album! was alright. But Mezmerize is full of weak filler tracks that were made to annoy the f*ck out of anyone. Even though their music is great, this album is not for kids. As a metal act, SOAD aren't going to give heed to parents. This album isn't as profane as Steal This Album! or the self-titled, but it isn't the clean Toxicity. F--k appears multiple times on the album, including in "B.Y.O.B" and "Violent Pornography", while "Cigaro" contains the use of the word s--t. The album is also filled with sexual references; however, they are used metaphorically. Lyrics like "My cock is much bigger than yours" and "Violent pornography, chokin' chicks and sodomy", along with references to gonnorhea, are incredibly sexual. With some anti-war tracks, the album does gleefully depict acts of violence without repercussion - all metaphorically. "This Cocaine..." is a godawful song about acid tripping, and the album shows the downfall of what was once a promising alt-metal act.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byidk lol August 11, 2011

Daron Malakian, I hate you!!!

First of all, this album is okay. Daron took on as a lead vocalist, and he is terrible. I recommend not buying this, because Malakian made it crap. It was better when serj tankian wrote the music, because it was more passionate and appropriate. That guy, Daron, made system of a down into a glorified mix of eminem and bieber, and its total crap!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 1, 10, 14, and 17 year old Written bySystemOfANintendo September 2, 2010

Sure, it's gleefully explicit, but CSM is being crazy and over-protective again.

The messages ARE good. Although it's gleefully explicit, CSM is absolutely over-exaggerating the content. Iffy for 17+? Mature 13 and 14 year olds should be allowed to listen to this. My 14 year old loves this album, and I am fine with that. And I don't have any good reason why my 17-year-old can't listen to it. Once you're 15, this stuff is anything but news and perfectly acceptable. And saying that 17 year old's can't listen to this is is absolutely positively crap. It's like saying a grown man can't listen to Eminem. And the lyrics are hilarious, and it's a great listen. Off for 12 and under. Iffy for 13-14. On for 15+ Buy this album for your teen today!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Adult Written bytwilightkilla March 19, 2010
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byPlague March 2, 2010

Mezmerize (SOAD)

One of my favorite albums of System of a Down (next to Toxicity). The album speaks about politics mainy, and has sick guitar riffs. BYOB is my personal favorite from the album.
What other families should know
Great role models
Parent of a 9 year old Written byChickasaw3 July 25, 2009

Perfect for enyone grown up enough to not care about bad words

I love it ITs awsome perfect for enyone that knows not say bad words
Adult Written byqueenofthesaxs April 9, 2008

kick a** bet one yet

it an great cd everyone should listen to it
Adult Written bydoublebarrel April 9, 2008

Equal if not better than previous outings

This record is the best sound in the industry right now. I believe that the content is good and powerful enough to consider letting a kid around 15 and older to own. This stuff is very conversational and a great buy.
Adult Written byCol. Sanders April 9, 2008
Adult Written bygreenhighway April 9, 2008

Bad for Kids

This cd has a warning label for a reason. In System of a Down's usual way, they mix politics, sex, drugs, and rock and roll. The problem is, most of their listeners will just like the guitar hooks and end up absorbing SD's overly political and sociological messages..both of which are not for kids of any age. This is an adult album. Lots of F bombs along with a pro-drug message....parents beware
Parent of a 13 year old Written byMr. Boxbox April 9, 2008

WHY does everybody like this band?????????

I do not get why everybody likes this band. The songs' tune is usually bad. But the lyrics are hilarious and so are some of the songs. (The song "Psycho" sings about how cocaine makes you high lol). It has some sexual and drug content but it should be ok for 13+.
Adult Written bytennizplayer44 April 9, 2008

Best CD Ever Made

I believe that this is quite likely the best CD ever made. It has intense guitars, drums, and great songs. It also has a very good message about anti-violence, and to solve problems. There is very strong language, but it is used for a good purpose. Overall, if you can get past the language, it is fantastic!
Adult Written bysusan_p April 9, 2008

Why not? This is good for the whole family!

I have four great kids ages 2, 4, 6, and 12 and they just love listening to this cd whenever we're in the car. My kids' favorite song on "Mezmerize" is of course, "Violent Pornography". I'd have to agree with them, it is one amazing song! Who cares about a little dirty talk? Its a beautiful cd! We can't wait for SOAD's next cd. Maybe we can even see them in concert in the future! That would be amazing!! -Susan Patterson