All member reviews for Mezmerize

Kids say

(out of 37 reviews)
age 13+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byerica921 April 5, 2013
age 16+
 

Don't listen to csm

SOAD for a song we love a lot called B.Y.O.B
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byrallos April 5, 2012
age 14+
 

NOT 17+

Honestly in the entire album, there are only 7 different lines with swear words (although some are repeated) and they are: "Where the f**k are you?", "My c**k is much bigger than yours", "My s**t stinks much better than yours", "Everybody, everybody, everybody f**ks", "The kind of s**t you get on tv", "All you maggots smoking fags", and "All you bitches throw your hands in the air", so I don't think this is too bad. Most of the sex and violence is in the song "Violent Pornography" with a chorus that says, "It's a violent pornography, chokin' chicks and sodomy, the kind of s**t you get on your tv". However, there are positive messages, and this album doesn't have THAT bad of content - I've loved it since I was 10.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bykururu June 25, 2011
age 10+
 

AWWWWWWWWWWWW YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Every child needs some SOAD in their life
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byPongo February 26, 2011
age 13+
 

Fine for anyone 13 or older.

Really, this site gives hypnotize a great review, and says that Mesmerize shouldn't be listened to by anyone under 17? Get real. No music is so bad that none under 17 should not listen to it. Curse words are herd by teenagers every day, I don't care how much they are sheltered by their parents. And to say this album has a bad message? Really? Weather you agree with them or not, System of a Down has political lyrics that get you to think. Also, why are people getting so worked up about BYOB? "Why don't presidents fight the war? Why do they always send the poor?" I don't know how you people parent, but I believe that it's good to get your kids to think about these things. The song only has one curse word, f***, which they only say once. Don't judge a song by how fast the tempo is and what genre of music it is. I bet if the same lyrics were in a slow pop song, none would have said a word.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byVolchitsa December 27, 2010
age 11+
 

All-round amazing album! :D

I absolutely adore this album, as with all System of a Down's albums. I have been listening to System since I was about eight years old, as with other "inappropriate" bands/singers. None have encouraged me to curse or do anything "bad". Heck, I'm a fourteen year old girl and I can't recall a time I have lied or cursed, even with listening to music such as this. I know some parents might find System's lyrics distasteful, but hey, from the schools I've been to (public and private), I see fifth graders using worse words and talking about worse things than System does. The music is mostly political, or trying to open the listeners mind to new ideas, or steer them away from the commercialism and lies we face in our world/society. Don't be turned off by B.Y.O.B, it is the only song that is that "extreme" that System made. Any drugs that are in the songs are referred to in negative perspective, describing how they might ruin your life or alter your view on reality. The songs that use the worst language are "Cigaro" and "B.Y.O.B" (C**k, S**t, and f**k), but most teens hear these words daily, and much more of it in rap and hip-hop. The song "Violent Pornography" is basically about how the media portrays society on TV, and showing that the filth you find on TV now a days can be compared to a violent pornography, so if you were thinking this song was about sex, it's not. Much of the lyrics will probably sound like nonsense, but in order to understand all of their songs, you have to decipher the lyrics, so their songs also pose a mental challenge for the listener (that is if they care to know the meaning). The music itself mixes genres, but generally is rock/metal. In my opinion, this isn't their best album, but like all of System's albums, the music is poetic, entrancing, inspirational, eye-opening, VERY unique, political, and better than the usual stuff you hear. System also mixes some crude but funny humor in some of the songs. To put simply, if you don't want your kid to hear the reality of the world we are now facing, such as the degradation of American society and government, or don't want them listening to metal or a few bad words that they normally hear anyway, don't let them listen to the album. If all that is okay with you (which it should be), then go ahead and let your kid listen. ~Volchitsa
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byaahmadd December 15, 2010
age 14+
 

Age rating too high.

I think that the age given for System of a Down ''Mezmerize'' is up way too high. Sure, it may contain some sexual references and strong and suggestive language, but the songs themselves I feel can have more of a positive impact of people, especially those of the young age. This is because for many people, it introduces a new way to look at the politics and the world we live in, and whether its a good thing or a bad thing, it all depends on where you stand when it comes to such matters. For many, I think it might be better to expose younger people at a younger, to music such as System of a Down, because of the new perspective it could give them. But its not all about the politics, the sexual references, and the messages the band is sending out, it also has an uplifting feel to their music that I think many people could relate to also in the lyrics. So personally, if I was a parent, I would definetly not rate this album at such an older age, for it could be better to let kids this age to explore and find the music they like and can relate to, and the album ''Mezmerize'' by System of a Down could be a great start to that.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byangelabovedemonbelow November 1, 2010
age 14+
 

An awesome CD

The only real thing that bothers me is the language, but it doesn't swear as much as other bands. The CD is just amazing.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byA Dandelion October 14, 2010
age 15+
 

A stunning masterpiece of metal that happens to be innropriate for most tweens and some teens.

This album has every curse in the book, sexual references galore, violence. It's also absurdly well-written, with lyrics that are nothing short of visionary poetry and complex, sophisticated instrumental arrangements that draw from every genre you can think of. Mesmerize is funny, smart, beautifully executed and raises your IQ another few points with every listen. Having said that, it's also inappropriate for tweens and kids you can't take lyrics with a grain of salt. Some 12-year-olds will be able to handle it, while some 18-year-olds won't be able to get through the first track. You need to decide weather your child is precocious enough to deal with the music and understand its content to its full extent. If they are, then the album is a great listen that the parents will probably enjoy as well, given time; my dad was the one who got me into System of a Down.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byuvkitty September 26, 2010
age 14+
 

wow...

User: sanddude stole the words out of my mouth. "Off for 12 and under. Iffy for 13-14. On for 15+"
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written bytsever02 April 29, 2010
age 16+
 

Very catchy album (except for the language and political messages)

Awesome CD. BYOB is great except for the language. I dislike Violent Pornography (Language and whatnot) and Old School Hollywood (sounds lame, haven't even listened to the whole song.. Cigaro is rought too. But other than that, the CD is pretty good. Lost in Hollywood has a little bit of language but not too bad. The rest of the CD is amazing. Daron Malakian does a lot of singing in this CD which is pretty cool, cause he doesn't do that a whole lot in the other albums so much. Pretty intense, but I love it. I think it's my fav CD by them, besides "Steal this Album". It's a really political CD and I dislike their messages, but this CD is just too darn catchy (BYOB) lol.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byeXtremeXD101 August 9, 2009
age 12+
 

SOAD , FTW.

Ahh.. SOAD , i don't see anything wrong , game's , movies , and other bands are more raw.
Teen, 14 years old Written byIronZombie75 August 9, 2009
age 13+
 

Teens and up

I love system of a down. Here are the most iffy lyrics: "my c**k is much bigger than yours and can walk right through the door" and "Where the f*** are you!?"
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byzysilveria April 22, 2009
age 10+
 

16+ ? you people misunderstand SOAD

Look, this stuff is sending a good message. Just look at Serj Tankian helping out with Stopping the Killing in Darfur and recognizing the Armenian Genocide. All the swearing has no meaning unless you adults GIVE IT MEANING! Kids can give it a possitive meaning. It is bad if you say F*** YOU ALL!. But it is not if you say SAVE THE F***ING EARTH, GO GREEN!!!. It is all about perception. I'm only 13 and i understand that. It's not about what you say, its about what others hear. I think kids can hear a good message from this. (also these songs can be really funny)
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpecialNeedsDolphin December 30, 2008
age 10+
 

Good mesege

There is nothing wrong with the messege. In all honesty words like f**k dont mean any thing. The only reason why they do is because you let it mean something. I think that if the language is being used to give a messege its ok.
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

always a good message.

its always got a good message behind the abrasive lyrics. its personaly my favorite band. for bad lyrics you can just buy a clean version.
Teen, 14 years old Written bynewguineafan April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

It's Okay

Not as bad as some people say it is.
Teen, 16 years old Written bymrwonka02 April 9, 2008
age 0+
 
the lyrics are sexual, funny, and uses innapropiate language, but overall, people who like this band will like it, i recomend it for people 15 and up, it all depends by their parents
Teen, 17 years old Written byFilmfanatic64 April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Excellent! new System of a Down

some language is really bad, and the song "Violent Pornography" is....well figure it out. "BYOB" is my favorite metal song of 2005, so far. bloody good!
Teen, 17 years old Written byitisme April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Intresting to hear

This is not a typical CD. It has lots of tempo changes, and almost opera like vocals in some parts. Unless you have heard another SOAD CD, it will be like nothing you have ever heard before. It's worth giving a chance because it is completely unique and interesting to listen to.
Teen, 14 years old Written byfootballtime56 April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Awsome CD for a metal fan

If you like metal or alternative, rockish kinda music, this is the perfect CD. Awsoem songs from System of a Down, you gotta check it out.

Pages