All member reviews for Monkey Business

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 30 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old December 29, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

"Let's use our singing skills to talk about iffy things!"

Here is a review of a couple individual songs: My Humps: Just from the title, you should realize the explict-ness of this song. Lyrics include: "I'm gonna make you work", "What'cha gonna do with that junk in your trunk", and obviously more explict stuff. "Lovely lady lumps" isn't the best thing for a 9-year-old. Don't Phunk With my Heart: "Phunk" is obviously used as a form of "f*ck". Lyrics include but are not limited to "I love you more than s*x appeal". Pump It: I didn't hear any explict material in this song. However, the tunes here are kind of catchy, so if lyrics are unaccounted for in your family, this should be just fine for you and your family.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old December 15, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

What a Waste.

I do not like this album. It is not kid-friendly, and I'm wondering why they sampled Misirlou in their song Pump It. It makes me sick, seeing an amazing song turned into dust. If you are going to sample the king of the surf guitar's music, you must do a good job with it, otherwise it saddens people.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bycinnagurl May 4, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

meant really for teens

i bought this cd when i was 12 and i think its a really good cd disco club and my humps are sexy but dum diddly is fun. it was my favorite song at the time. union is about coming together.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old April 23, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

What???????????? People listen to this???????

!!!TERRIBLE!!!!! This is a LOT worse than their other albums! TOO MANY BAD WORDS!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bymanay_4511 September 11, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
This album is like inappropriate, but ages 15 years and older may handle it, just like the THE END album.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old August 18, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Pump it was the only one ive heard, but its a mess! they say the s word once, the a word twice, and a good 30 seconds of nothing but d words.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old July 7, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

MAYBE for tweens

The CD is okay, but Pump It and Don't Phunk with my Heart are great.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old April 24, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Hmm...

I started loving this music when I was about 7. My sister later told me what the songs meant. I never listened to that album again. Not appropriate for kids under 12.
Kid, 9 years old March 26, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Is this good or not? I gave it one star because I did not know if it was good or not. So do not blame me for what i did.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old October 1, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good sounds but strong content

Good sounds, but lyrics aren't exactly appropriate for younger ones. Sex references are the same e.g PUMP IT. Some songs have good messages (eg. Where is the Love?) but there lacking in this particular album.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bysara4ever95 February 16, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

ok

its ok i but i think fergie's new album is way better
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written byfergieluver99 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

BEST BLACK EYED PEAS ALBUM EVER!!!!!!!

oh my god this is the best black eyed peas album ever. i think that sexuality in this album is a little iffy on the song "my humps" but it is still a good song. i think that this album is fine for 11 and up. yo the black eyed peas are the best! peace :)
Teen, 14 years old Written bystar April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Black eyed peas take music to another whole other level.

The Blacked Peas music does get a little bit borring after a while but they have about every tipe of music in there CD. Monkey business is definitly worth buying.
Teen, 17 years old Written byUlises6 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I loved it

i really love this album i think it is better than elephunk. the sexist song is my humps and the beets are better
Teen, 13 years old Written byfpsdude April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

good album

Good music, relatively clean and has gr8 rythm. Dont phunk with my heart especially good
Teen, 13 years old Written byMainEvent46 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written bybragoandcheri April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Not your mom's Elephunk

This album can never be compared to Elephunk. The beats are weak, the messages are bad for children and teens, and the lyrics get annoying.
Teen, 14 years old Written bycaelae April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Pages