All member reviews for My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 17 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byPulp Exorcist February 6, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byHiphophead123 November 9, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

MBDTF Is a Masterpiece!

My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is Kanye West's 5th album. It was released to high expectations and a ton of hype due to Kanye's previous albums being so excellent and successful. Did this one match the hype? Heck yeah. MBDTF (acronym for the album name) is an album full of interesting subject matter about Kanye's life and where he's been, and brilliant production. The featured artists were chosen perfectly for the right tracks. Kanye's lyricism and flow were top notch. Overall the album was a classic. The album is broken up into three parts: The "beautiful", the "dark" and the "twisted". Which songs go into those categories is for you to figure out. I don't want to spoil this album too much. The content on this album may be too profane and explicit for some. The profanity is very common, with many uses of "f--k", "s--t", "p---y", "b-tch", the "N" word, "a-s", etc.. The sexual content is rather common too, with many references to having sex, getting/receiving oral sex, "falling in love with a porn star", etc.. The violence is present at some parts, but there isn't any notable violence. Some drug content but it is hard to remember. Overall, I'd recommend it for 15+ for the language and sexual content on here.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bynatedogg360 August 10, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Thought provoking, but explicit.

The best album in a long time! Highlights are Power, Runaway, Monster, and All of the Lights.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLuke J November 26, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

The title says it all.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old June 7, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

More explicit than his other albums. Still very interesting music but dark. The beats and instruments are awesome. I loved the song gorgeous because of the guitar instrumental after the song was over. Get the edited version
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byBestPicture1996 November 16, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Landmark rap masterpiece

Kanye brings out his best material in years into a deep record, effortlessly combining catchy radio hits with philosophical thoughts. I've listened to "Lost in the World" and "Monster" so many times you would think I'd get sick of it. But the magic of "Fantasy" is that you can listen to it several times and still hear something new.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bycinnagurl June 2, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

i think it swears a lot but other than that i think it's ok

i love the songs power and monster. all of the lights is my favorite song. it says its bad i listened to it and it really isnt. just 1 n word in the beginning of the song.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byImSoRegal March 7, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Beatiful is Right, Mr. West!

The language is nothing worse than what an average kid would hear at school. This is one of Kanye's best albums yet. LOVE IT
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byKiPunk11 February 16, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

It's been called the "Sgt. Peppers of Rap", and I may have to agree.

Kanye's lyrics are deep, somewhat morose, and bleak. But not everything's light-cherry soda and all-day lollies. There is a great deal of language and moderately explicit references to sex. He also tends to say "the N word" (goddang filter) a lot, but that's the entire rap scene for you. This is a great album, with it's deep lyrics and trippy beats. Don't miss out on it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byeliman3 January 31, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Very Catchy

I used to think Kanye West was just okay but after hearing this album I would now consider him in my top 3. Kanye is an amazing rapper and has plenty of other great artists featuring throughout the album. There is plenty of cussing and the end of the song blame game is just plain explicit but the actual music is great and very catchy.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written bySynchronicity January 21, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Separate the art from the artist, or so I've heard...Beautiful, but dark and twisted; not for young ears

In just a year, Kanye went from "YO TAYLOR, I'M REALLY HAPPY FOR YOU, AND I'MMA LET YOU FINISH..." to "You've been putting up with my s**t for way too long..." Despite the fact that he should NEVER be considered a role model, his latest album, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, should be considered his masterpiece. It not only culminates the indie-hip-hop sensibilities of The College Dropout and Late Registration with the egoism of Graduation and the raw emotion of 808s and Heartbreak, it goes well beyond that, and into the realm of commercial success (close to a Platinum in sales terms as of yet) and critical acclaim (average score of 93 on Metacritic, with notoriously harsh reviewers like Pitchfork and Rolling Stone giving it 5 stars). But it's not just Kanye that makes the album great; it's the massive list of guests, like a private party for both elite rappers and up-and-comers. From Nicki Minaj and Kid Cudi to Jay-Z, The RZA and Raekwon, this is an endearing blend of old and new - and that's why some have called MBDTF "the Sgt. Pepper of rap records" and "this generation's Illmatic". Kids shouldn't listen to this, however. Sex is a rampant topic of discussion. If you've seen the original cover of the album, which shows a naked man being straddled by an equally naked angel, you could probably guess so. Blame Game, the most explicit track, has a graphic (albeit hilarious) voiceover of Chris Rock as a new lover for Kanye's woman; I can't even put a single quote from that song here...Other, slightly less explicit references are quite frequent. Language is very raw; F-bombs and n-words fly fast and hit hard, while other, milder profanities can be heard in spades. There are some tracks that talk of pill-popping, but nothing too serious in the drug department. Overall, though at times explicit and very demanding, this album will be cherished for generations to come. I also highly recommend watching Kanye's short film Runaway, which uses music from the album in a brilliant way. It can be found on the 'net or on the Deluxe Edition of the album.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old January 18, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

One of Kanye West's Best CDs

I really, really, really, really, really like this CD. If you like Kanye West you will like it too. It wasn't just rap. It was Hip-Hop, Pop, and Rap. Everything was over cool beats that were very catchy. You should get it if you are interested.
Kid, 12 years old January 9, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

"Aviso"

You are warned
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byButterflyNM14 December 31, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Very good album, teens can handle edited version.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bySLUMDOG December 7, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

kanye's best album

let me explain commonsense coud not be more wrong 3 it deserves 5 it's nealry perfect on every level i'm still enthralled by this amazing album it's striking beauty introspective rapping on top of some of the most memoralbe verse in ages such as nicki minaj on monster or jay-z on so appalled or rick ross on devil in a new dress everyone is at the top of their game plus it's topped of by some of the greatest instumentals of all time i mean the music is just as good as the rapping yeah it is explict but it's also amazing put it this way if you don't buy this album your missing one og the greatest albums of the last 20 30 years Grade A+ download these dark fantasy all of the lights lost in the world
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bySubterranianHom... December 2, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

A fantastic, yet very dark album that suits high school, no younger.

This is a very dark and brooding album that goes to the very heart of Kanye's dark psyche. It looks inward at all of the problems he faces, including fame, sex, and self-acceptance. What he finds is sometimes downright twisted, and if you've seen the actual album cover for this cover, that should be immediately apparent. I would not get this for anyone under 15, but with all the trash on the radio (Lady Gaga, Ke$ha) the majority of this is no worse than popular music; some of it has much more truth and good messages for those willing to listen. The only ridiculous aspect of the commonsense review of three stars. This is a downright BRILLIANT album (rolling stone gave it a rare 5/5 stars.) And it has often be proclaimed as the best rap record since Nas's Illmatic, as I saw HyperBully mentioned. So if you're an adult looking at this album or have a high schooler who's into music, this album is a must.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byHyperBully December 1, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Kanye may have a massive ego, but he sure makes great music

First of all, this is perhaps the best album of 2010. There's no denying that. The Common Sense review was also a little too rough on the album. This is one of the best hip hop albums since the greats like "Illmatic," and easily Kanye's best, so if you're old enough to listen, i highly recommend it. However, I do agree that there is a lot of profanity and sexual slang that younger kids probably shouldn't listen to, though they will anyway if they've listened to Kanye's past albums. There's also no denying that Kanye isn't exactly the best of role models. Nonetheless, this is a mind blowing, incredibly well produced, thought provoking album that's great for mature teens and adults. That's all coming from someone who doesn't even care much for (the majority of) rap.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing