All member reviews for Party Rock

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Party songs send irresponsible messages about sex, drinking.
 

Users say

(out of 40 reviews)
age 12+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 November 13, 2012
age 17+
 

party rock

some popular artists such as LMFAO would have you believe? In the end, would a casual sex lifestyle be safe or fulfilling? Some groups glamorize the "playa" attitude, but what would happen if you tried to lead such a lifestyle? How can you separate bogus bragging from reality? Talk about gender stereotypes and the issues they present to both boys and girls. When women are portrayed as sex objects with extremely unrealistic proportions, what expectations does that set for both genders? What message does it send to boys when men are portrayed in the media as sex-crazed and desperate, willing to do anything to get a woman naked (including using alcohol to compromise a woman's judgment)?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent of a 4 and 9 year old Written byconnielove93 February 14, 2010
age 15+
 

Not okay for younger kids or tweens.

I wouldn't let my kids listen to it uless they were 15 years old or older. I have young kids and they would never listen to this, way too inappropriate for a 4 or 9 year old.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old November 23, 2014
age 10+
 

This is fine

When this song came out I was in fifth grade. Anyone who says this isn't for kids is either a) overanalyzing this WAY too much or b) seriously needs a reality check. I can see how you would want kids under ten to not listen to it, but overall it isn't all that bad.
Teen, 14 years old Written bywicked_njo July 26, 2014
age 9+
 

This song came out when i was much younger

Not for kids? In my elementary school talent show, 4 different groups of kids did a dance to it. Most people don't even realize what they're saying since they talk so fast.
Kid, 10 years old April 13, 2013
age 17+
 

R-rated, but awesome!!!

I love this album! But parents beware! This album would probably get rated R, because of LOADS of adult lyrics and strong language. But otherwise, I love this album! My favorite song is "I'm in Miami Trick". I just can't get the chorus out of my head!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byDaniBallerina March 3, 2013
age 13+
 

Party Rock overrules common sense media and takes the common sense out of common sense media

What the... it's just a PARTY song, Teaching you to have fun and dance! Sure there might be references about drinking and kissing, but it's all light and even the CHIPMUNKS sang it, so it might be ok. It's just a good dancing beat, just listen to the clean version, then you are better off! It even makes you want to learn the dance move! (Shuffling) Kids might not even GET the lyrics, so it's fine for me. Party on guys!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bymoviewannabe February 2, 2013
age 18+
 

COCKY SONS-OF-GUNS!!!!

Those freaks think pop music like this is cool!! I find this annoying! I don't want them in my sight! I despise LMFAO like the Sith hate the Jedi.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old January 2, 2013
age 2+
 

SHOTS!

HEY HEY HEY HEY HEY HEY LET ME SEE YOU DO IT!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byImnotateenbutgood October 3, 2012
age 18+
 

bad

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byMangoo-the-Monkey October 1, 2012
age 12+
 

Not for kids? RUBBISH!

The songs are awesome, You might want to watch out for the occasional 'B****' or 'A$$', but kids watch M+15 rated movies, and the song's are on mainstream radio, Chances are the kids are going to hear it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byBieberStyles1958 September 27, 2012
age 13+
 

This is Real Music, Too!

Adults THINK too much. They don't think Party Rock is "music" just because they don't play drums and cuss too much. NEWS FLASH: They cuss in old music, too. And they talk about drinking in old, "real" music, too. This music is good, and the song La La La is about falling in love, all you people who say this isn't "music." It's fine for teens but I wouldn't let little kids hear it. Honestly, if you are soooooo touchy about it, they have a clean version of this CD so don't waste your time hating on music that other people like.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byMoviedudde18 September 11, 2012
age 13+
 

Party rock is in da house

This is my songz
Teen, 17 years old Written bylmtrav May 29, 2012
age 9+
 

Get a grip please

Ok I really don't understand what the big deal. This song is a lot of fun, and half of the lyrics are "Party rock is in the house tonight. Everybody just have a good time." Not that bad, and the explicit parts aren't that bad. They are sung fast, and little kids actually listening to a song that hard will not understand a lot of the references.
Kid, 9 years old April 11, 2012
age 9+
 

awsome but gross song

sweet song, but gross. In one part it say's get naked now! Cool song though. It also has one lesson, PARTY!!!!!!!! ALWAYS!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old March 22, 2012
age 12+
 

Luv them with one tweek

Change the name i mean really laugh my f------ a-- off
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bymmorgan1998 March 19, 2012
age 11+
 

Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!

I don't care what other people say I think LMFAO is a awesome group.
Teen, 14 years old Written byLittleMinajWarrior February 27, 2012
age 13+
 

Ewwwww

Whoa! Dude, this album is just sad. I LOVE "Sexy And I Know It", and "Party Rock Anthem", but that's basically it for me. LMFAO cannot suck because of how awesomely epic those two songs are, but they're sad. This album is a failure, and it sucks big time. EPIC FAIL. It's nasty, and they're perverted! The only song I like on here is "I Am Not A W***e". Ugh. "Shots", I would like, but it's so gross!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old February 4, 2012
age 9+
 

weird

there is no such things as party rock only party rock anthem
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old May 25, 2011
age 18+
 

Stupid album explicit in all ways!

This may look like a silly kid album (also despiting the PA sticker is not visible) but it is so explicit NO ONE, even adults are suitable for this. Contains tons of strong language including genital slangs, and n***er, mentions lots of irresponsible stuff about drinking and marijuana abuse, and graphic sexual lyrics, sometimes both crossing together! Also, LMFAO stands for "Laughing My F***ing A** off!" to prove the last of how explicit this is. Don't be fooled.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 28, 2011
age 5+
 

GREAT MUSIC

i love LMFAO they are great my five year old sister listens to this i love rap and hiphop
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages