All member reviews for Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Confusing mix of shocking, vulgar rap & radio-friendly pop.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 27 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byBirthdayCake22 April 13, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Nicki Minasty!

She speaks of genitals! WRONG-O!
Teen, 17 years old Written bybreatheSWScarolina April 29, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

explicit yet appropriate

I love Nicki Minaj and i know that majority of teenagers have heard of her and or listen to her. She, unlike most rappers, is less raunchy then other rappers such as Lil Wayne and Drake. Her album is very explicit, with curse words in almost every songs. Majority of these words are in a sexual way. If you don't want your teenager to listen to it, it is much understandable, but if you trust your teenager to not say the words, like my parents, you should let them listen to it, but it is your chocie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byThe Review Guy April 13, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Disappointing Album is even more shocking.Adults Only.

Parents need to know that this second album from Nicki Minaj is just as shocking as the already Crass Pink Friday.With tons of violence,sex,explict language,label-dropping,partying and drug use.All of this with little redeeming quality.There is an edited version,but this album is still better left off for the most mature teens. Messages:Negative 3/5 Not only does it have negative messgaes about partying and sex,it also has messages about fame,violence and being the best.Only a few songs like "Marilyn Monroe" and "Right by my Side" have any positive take-aways. Role Models:Negative 2/5 You do have to give Nicki Minaj Credit for being independent.But her raunchy and shocking lyrics make her outta the running for being a role model. Violence:3/5 Slightly less violence than the first one,but it's still violent here.The most violent song is "Roman Reloaded" with gun sounds that go from sex to violence."Bang my s**t bang.......got my middle finger on the trigger so that it mean f**k a n****r.",More mentions of guns in this album,however this is for the first part of the album. Sex:4/5 Plenty of Crude Sex Talk,sometimes very graphic when rapping."Sex in the lounge" is about having sex someone.The sex talk becomes less graphic and more playful in the second half of the album. Language:4/5 Plenty of swearing includes "f**k" it's brother "motherf****r","s**t","b*tches","P***y",The "N" word, and more.Edited version is available. Conusumerism:5/5 Constant Label Dropping,but never feels like a comercial.Name-Dropping includes Bud Light,Barbie,Grammy's,Maryilin Monroe,Nintedo,Air Jordans,Russell Simons,Angelina and Jennifer,Mattel,Patron and More. Drinking,Drugs and Smoking:3/5 Partying is a big part of the second half,With mentions of Partying,Drinking and Getting "high".Drugs are mentioned a few times. Is it any good:Fans and Critics of the Original PINK FRIDAY were disappointed by the fact that Nicki Minaj is trying to please everyone,this next album,she's not gonna please all types of people.Unfortuanly,this album is just more of a mess,rather than an improvement.In fact,the first half of Minaj's album is some of her worst songs she's done.Song's like "Roman Reloaded" and "Come on a cone" are just boring and forgetable.And ending the album with the truely stupid "Stupid H*e" wasn't the best idea(though it has the advantage of being funny.).Luckly the album is saved thanks to it's second half,though there's less variety,most of the songs are some of Minaj's Best Song's yet.Song's like the infectous "Starships" and the upbeat "Right by my side" are ready to be #1 Hits,and other songs like "Pound the alarm","Whip it",and "Automatic" are such good songs to have at parties.But it's still disappointing that it's only half great and half terrible.You're better off getting the singles only than the whole album,better luck next time,nicki.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byB.Diamond April 26, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Cool, Diverse and Clever But WAY Too Explicit!

Nicki Minaj channels her gay male alter ego roman for most of the album. I'm a big fan of this album and i've been a fan of nicki for a long time now but I have to say although this album does have some radio friendly hits with not a huge amount of cussing (starships, right by my side, whip it, automatic etc) most of the other songs are sexual, vulgar, controversial and i would say not an album you can let your under 16's listen too. She goes from chanting demonically in a 'hyperventilation' style to melodiously chanting 'd*ck in your face, put my d*ck in your face yeah' while the album features not particularly child friendly artists. The album goes from hardcore rap with a large amount of swearing to raunchy and dirty r&b songs to up-beat, techno-pop radio friendly songs to soft and girly ballads (including a reggae ballad featuring dance-hall king, beanie man) and finishes the 19 track album with a VERY explicit and controversial track "Stupid Hoe" which is supposedly a diss-song to an older female rapper. The 3 bonus deluxe edition tracks are again radio-friendly and dont include a huge amount of swearing (the first deluxe track includes no cussing, the second deluxe track, the word "sh*t" is said once and the third mild references to oral sex are made) but this album is altogether another VERY exlicit project (much more explicit then pink friday) done by miss minaj (by the way who's last name may be a reference to Ménage à trois meaning sex with three in french).
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bycinnagurl April 26, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

awesome pop songs! love the new nicki! but horrible rap songs

i think this album is really good and really horrible. i love her pop songs! my fave is automatic. there are some really bad songs on here as well. these include come on a cone. and roman holiday. they are crap. but songs like automatic va va voom whip it pound the alarm masquerade and young forever are worth a listen. these are by far the best of all of nickis songs. i think because of the pop as far as language goes is slightly cleaner than the last album but get clean versions and the songs listed above are great dance songs especially whip it and pound the alarm.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byTony632 April 11, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Roman reloaded

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written byscreambrentleyx3 April 27, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Nicki Minaj

This is a good song for teens around the age 15 and up because this song gives teens a point in life it tells about real life things happening in society that they might meet. And most teens this age look up to Nicki Minaj as a good role model because they can relate to her songs.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written bymasaxo April 27, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

older

I think that her songs are cool but have sometimes bad messages for younger kids who listen to it .
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byAceJournalist April 12, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Va Va Voom

I love this cd, especially Va Va Voom and Automatic, but it's really not for younger teens or kids.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old May 6, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Explict Version: 16 or Clean Version: 12

It has positive messages on some songs. It makes you want to dance. There is a lot of language. Some drinking,drugs,etc. It also depends on if you get the Explict/clean version.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 5, 9, 12, and 15 year old Written bypluggedinparent May 8, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

nicki hits a new low..

That's the word that surfaces as I try to get my mind around the songs of Trinidadian-born, Queens-raised singer Nicki Minaj. It's because her second album, Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded, feels a bit like a musical Frankenstein: an epic, 19-song effort cobbled together with a jarringly unlikely combination of parts. One minute, Nicki's singing from Eminem's Slim Shady songbook, stepping into her violent, mentally unstable and male alter ego, Roman Zolanski. Among other things, Roman likes to kidnap women who offend him and starve them to death in his basement. The next minute, Nicki's a straight-up gangsta rapper, proudly and filthily spitting some of the nastiest, most profane rhymes you've ever not wanted to hear about sex. And then something very strange happens: It's as if Nicki goes backstage and changes outfits. And personalities. Because when she comes out, she's demure and sad as she croons tunes of lost romance and broken hearts that would not sound at all out of place on a Rihanna release. Pro-Social Content "Champion" salutes impoverished, hardworking single mothers. On "Marilyn Monroe," Nicki admits, "I can be selfish," "I'm insecure" and "I make mistakes." Still, she longs for someone to love her despite her imperfections ("Take me or leave me/I'll never be perfect/Believe me, I'm worth it"). She also sings, "Truth is we mess up/Till we get it right/I don't want to end up losing my soul." The chorus of "Right by My Side" includes this romantic sentiment: "I'm not living life if you're not right by my side." Meanwhile, "Young Forever" daydreams fondly about a teenage boyfriend whom Nicki once hoped she'd marry ("I used to think that we'd reunite/I'd be your wife in the real life/I thought you'd come back for me"). And on reggae-tinged "Gun Shot," guest contributor Beenie Man talks about his love for a woman, saying, "You alone/ … You fulfill all of my desires." Objectionable Content The first six tracks, especially, find Nicki unleashing a manic stream of some of the foulest raps I've ever reviewed—a statement I suspect she would take as a compliment. F-words (often paired accusatorily with "mother") and s-words permeate line after line, and some of the songs' titles can't even be repeated here. The hit "Starships," to pick one example out of many, delivers this profane, suggestive phrase nine times: "We're higher than a m‑‑‑‑‑f‑‑‑er." She also appropriates male rappers' disturbing penchant for misogyny, repeatedly dismissing female critics and competitors as "b‑‑ches." And that's just the beginning of the album's problems. "Roman" raps proudly about the dying women in his basement: "This right here make a b‑‑ch die/ … But this what I do when a b‑‑ch breaks off/Ima put her in a dungeon under, under/No, those b‑‑ches ain't eating/They're dying of hunger" (on "Roman Holiday"). Multiple explicit (even pornographic) references to sex, oral sex and masturbation turn up as well. Nicki repeatedly talks about waving her "d‑‑k" in people's faces. Lil Wayne pairs an extraordinarily graphic depiction of oral sex with braggadocio about doing cocaine and smoking marijuana with two women in his bed at the same time. And on "Sex in the Lounge," there's more of the same from him, Nicki and Bobby V. "Beautiful Sinner" is utterly infatuated with a bad boy: "You're a cheat and a liar/But tonight you're everything I desire/You beautiful sinner/I love your wicked heart." Summary Advisory I'd like to be able to believe Nicki Minaj is sincere when she sings, "I don't want to end up losing my soul." But she makes it more than just difficult. It's a whole lot easier to believe her when she starts gushing about her attraction to wickedness. "Beautiful Sinner" goes so far as to compare an unrepentant cad's twisted heart to "a work of art." Then she adds, "I didn't know that bad could look so good/You are the type of bad that feels so good." Suffice it to say it's hard to find the light when you've dedicated your life to running toward night.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old June 3, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Disgusting

I did not listen to the whole album, but i listened to the beginning of roman reloaded and it was not only explicit, but horrible. Roman's revenge was the same, even with Eminem it was horrible.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old May 31, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Too Explicit.

I don't have the album itself but listening to songs from it, you can find a catchy beat but a horrible lyrics. It is not for kids. There are too much explicit words and raps including f*** , motherf***er , s***t , n****. It is the headache package. Don't buy.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byEmily Rubio May 30, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

awful

This is horrible don't bother listening.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bySkitelz June 5, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great Music, Bad Language

This is really good music. Yes, the lyrics are extremely explicit, but honestly it's nothing that someone that listens to this type of music or goes to public school hasn't heard. Catchy pop songs, and awesome rap songs. She's a great artist.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bycupcakelove321 May 30, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Love this album but not for 12 or under

I have this album and i am only 14 but i really love 95 % of this album. the songs are so catchy and "Marilyn Monroe" has a really great message. i would say ON for 16+ and iffy 13-15
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byxi love cod July 22, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

my review on pink friday 2

I like the folloing songs. pound the alarm. starships[clean] stupid stupid[clean] and i dont think pound the alarm dont need a clean vershin coz swering in tha song are 3 bi**h's
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Written byAnonymous March 22, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Not for Kids. This Whole Album is Rated NC-17.

The NC-17 Sex in the Whole Album.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byVanitasFajitas February 7, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

It's an average album.

I hate Nicki Minaj's personality. I wish I could slap her in the face erratically. I hate to admit, and I DON'T KNOW WHY, but for some reason I find her music very catchy. I prefer her songs that circulate more around the rap category than pop. She claims that she is still a rap artist, but CLEARLY she has changed to pop. I like the songs on this album such as "I Am Your Leader", "Beez in the Trap", "Champion", and ones that are like that. I do NOT like the ones such as "Whip It", "Pound the Alarm", "Automatic", etc. For some reason I just enjoy listening to rap music. The lyrics aren't appropriate for children; they include several obscenities and innuendo. If you buy the clean version, I'd say it's for ages 12 and up, but if you buy the explicit, I'd say about 15. It really depends on how much of an influence song lyrics have on you.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byiamacannibal May 22, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Not good.

Plenty of horrible language. Plenty of sex. Plenty of drugs and alcohol references. Plenty of violence. Plenty of consumerism. What a shame it doesn't have plenty of inspirational stuff. Her music is very confusing, especially when she mentions God. I don't mean to be judgemental, but she doesn't seem like a Christian, but claims to be.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages