All member reviews for Recovery

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Despite Em's new sobriety, CD is still too intense for kids.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 94 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byHethurrr May 6, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Mature teens only.

Last year pretty much right after my 13th birthday, I started listening to "bad music". Secretly of course. My mother would never in a zillion years let me listen to this. But I love Eminem. I got t church and my youth pasted was talking about Eminem and how you shouldn't listen to his songs because it would encourage people to act like him and do what he says. And sure, maybe people do look to Eminem for ideas and stuff. But really, who is that stupid. "Oh, I did dope because Eminem says it's okay" No one would ever say that! So, I say if you are mature enough to handle it, then I don't see a problem.
Parent of a 13 year old Written by......... January 30, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Its Eminem what can one expect?

its eminem not some disney "role model". what were you expecting? honestly if you expecting a positive role model who supports charity. i pity you. look elsewere for a rolemodel. the lyrics arent that bad some do have redeeming quailites...
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byiw945 April 3, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

VERY GOOD

The song cold wind blows is 1) terrible and disgusting and 2) the reason this album is not for kids, but nothing we haven't heard before. The rest of the album is gold, though.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byteamjacobgirl2.0 December 22, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

bye bye Slim Shady an d hello Eminem

I don't like Eminem's music and I haven't listened to the whole album but, what CSM says about him is taking it too far. I agree with them on his older music but, reality is Eminem has changed and has become a good role model and now he's someone you shouldn't hide your kids away from anymore. He's overcome drug addiction and came out of it sounding the best he ever has and to not call him a good role model is insane. He's one of the only rappers who can totally change his/her image and come out stronger then ever. CSM, give him some credit.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byFiggy66 August 23, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

good album

Im 11 and I listen to it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old August 19, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Disapponting

I'm not a fan of the new eminem i think he hasn't made a good album since The Eminem Show. Recovery (This) was better than relapse which was terrible and a bit better than encore. I don't like his new beats but i guess you gotta make your music the way it is TODAY or else people wont listen or buy the music. And why did he go from working to mainstream artists (pink, rihanna) sure he still makes fun of some people out there but come on making fun of american idol? Go hardcore, Marshall! The only good songs on here that i found that made this worthy of 3 stars are: Cold Wind Blows, Not Afraid and You're Never Over. I Want eminem to go back to the way he was in the slim shady LP and Marshall mathers LP, thats when he was the best. Why has he changed so much, his beats are different, the song with pink was AWFUL. it just feels different. it doesn't feel like the eminem i know. and i don't know what to rate this for age because there are lots of people out there who have different opinions on what they should listen too but in my case i give it iffy for 13.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byrappingballer June 29, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

eminem is a great role model

eminem gets a lot of hate for some of the language he uses in his lyrics. I believe that eminem is one of the realest people out there because he went through a very tough childhood. his mom did drugs and he was exposed to a lot of things. In the song "not afraid" eminem talks about how he became sober. I feel like all you old fashioned rednecks just hate rap because it's primarily black. so stop hating and if you actually paid attention to the lyrics you'd find that they have very deep meaning
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byAwesomeness142 May 9, 2015
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great album

Best album extremely explicit
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byBadBoys4Life April 21, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

One of his best

In my opinion this album is pretty amazing. It's defiantly one of his best albums. I've heard many other people say the same thing. Eminem is amazing and he proves it in this album. There's obviously the occasional f*** and s***. Nothing that will surprise you if you've heard him before. It's not really that violent but there's the odd line where he is. There's also some songs that involve sex but nothing bad at all. But there is a couple uses of c***. But Eminem is one of the greatest role models out there now and he also produces some of the most inspirational messages that people that have anger issues like me should hear.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byPompeyman7 August 12, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Pile of rubbish

Don't listen to it. If you want some proper Slim listen to Mathers LP, Shady LP and Eminem Show. Stupid collaborations with rubbish pop artists like Lil' Wayne, Rihanna and Pink makes for a forgettable album that sold out to 14 year old girls who love Justin bieber.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bywicked_njo July 26, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great Music!

While the music is a little adulty at times, it's fine for some 12 year olds and everyone else. I love the song "Spacebound". These songs aren't misogynistic at all, just violent and filled with his problems with girls. In spacebound, he kills himself and his girlfriend, but that's about as violent as it gets (to me). And yes, there's a lot of swearing, but it's not really important to me and my family as long as I only use the words in conversation that my parents approve of. If that does matter to you, just buy the clean version!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old May 27, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Wierd

The language is way to intense for young kids including rape sex talk oral sex having sex sexual assault and sexual abuse
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent Written byJared Galczynski May 21, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

I just like that Red there on the age

This album isn't Sexual at all, Common Sense Media!
Kid, 10 years old May 7, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Eminem is my hero because he suffers from depression and suicide too.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byCFP2016 April 14, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Mr. Mathers is the man

Eminem is the best artist you will hear... Nothing your kids won't hear at school
Teen, 13 years old Written byEminemHopsin123.J April 13, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Best Eminem album yet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I love this album soooooooooo much but if you wanna get your kids this album be very careful with what you're getting them. Every single song has 1 or many more uses of the word f-ck. The least is 3 in the song "Love the way you lie." The word c-nt is used 3 times. the song "Cold wind blows" has 1 and the song "Untitled" has 2. And they are the 2 songs that you should be careful about. There is also plenty of hardcore sex talk here. Oral and anal and somehow more. But no matter how explicit Eminem gets he's still a Rap God
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byeliy.k February 20, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written by80sfan8 September 11, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

CSM is really overreacting.

It had a not for kids rating?!? This is not on the same level as The Marshall Mathers LP! Besides, kids at least 12-17 listen to this music anyways. This isn't Eminem's best album, but it's MUCH better than Relapse.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byryder3x3 July 24, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great music, better messages

Really optimistic album with supportive lyrics while still keeping the fantastic music Eminem know best. Language and other things might be a small concern, but it's overall a good thing to listen to.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bymusicforver April 13, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Awesome Album

Although all of the profanity, violence and sexual lyrics, it's one of the best albums I've ever heard. As far as profanity goes, it's actually hard to find a profanity that's not on this album. But I think your teenager should be allowed to listen to this album. Explicit: 13 & up Clean: Pretty much anybody
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism

Pages