All parent member reviews for Recovery

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 13 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 13 year old Written by......... January 30, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Its Eminem what can one expect?

its eminem not some disney "role model". what were you expecting? honestly if you expecting a positive role model who supports charity. i pity you. look elsewere for a rolemodel. the lyrics arent that bad some do have redeeming quailites...
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byFiggy66 August 23, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

good album

Im 11 and I listen to it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 12 year old Written byeelee February 10, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

I agree with everyone else...

Really? This site should really review the EDITED version of this, too. I got it at Walmart, the CLEAN version. Eminem rocks! Plus, people really need to lighten up. I've seen how easy it is for kids to have access to this content nowadays. Note: I give a 12-and-up rating for the EDITED version, 16-and-up for the unedited.
Parent of a 15 year old Written bynonagontecnodon May 11, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

I've heard fans of Eminem complain because hes cleaner...

1st. Its Eminem, the man who made the murder ballad "Kim" on "The Marshall Mathers LP" did you honestly think him of all people would ever be this clean? I've actually heard people claim that he's too clean and it's not the same listening to him anymore. 2nd. If you must have a scapegoat for why your child shouldn't hear this then here: "Cold Wind Blows", "Seduction", and "So Bad" are the only songs you could possibly not approve.. and "So Bad" isn't even that bad its like a tame song from "The Eminem Show" or something -.- 3rd. The Message is one of the most positive messages expressed in mainstream rap nowadays.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Educator Written byMychemicalstinkpants April 16, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 14 year old Written byTheGman447 January 10, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

WOW LOTTA SWEARS!!!!!!!!!

Got this album for my 14 year old and there is more swears than i can count in it..... he had a rough life.........
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 17 year old Written byAGBaby December 15, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

It's for 15 and older and not for kids under 15

I think this album is great because it has many good songs. Eminem is the Best Rapper Alive and he is a lyrical genius. I think kids under 15 shouldn't hear his music because it uses curse words but i thik 15 and older kids can listen to his music because kids should be more mature and tough listening to rap. Of course rap music is going to have swearing, drug and alcohol use, smokin', and sex and violence but rap can be a good music genre if you view it and take it positively. I give it 5 stars cuz this album is great and Eminem made a great comeback. Word
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 10 year old Written byineedhelp4621 October 24, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

perfect for everyone

love it i think it is the best
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bychangster.eminem July 31, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Excellent for all

I loved it. It is simply the true story of EMIN?M's recovery from drugs. It has the message that everyone should know. Whether it be to quit or never to start, the message still stands. Drugs are bad. This is something even our future generations should know.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byninja master July 25, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

its alright

enmin a good arit he doesnt mean that the talk of that is respect not the dirty words its alright for teens but bad for youger ages
Adult Written bydudeman123 July 18, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Eminems comeback that everyone has waited for is finally here. Recovery is one of his best albums and it deff. reasures Eminems dominance over rappers these days. It is simply the best rap album I have heard in years. Superb lyrics, sick flows, and vivid storytelling make Eminem one of the greatest rappers of all time and he show it in Recovery
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byJitty July 18, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

This is by far Eminem's best album to date.

Again Miss Rupp, you are entirely out of your element when speaking about rap. Especially this song. He never talks about laying his hands on any women. I would personally love it if you pointed out examples to your claims. Like names of songs or verses. Yeah there is bad stuff on this album. However, the messages on this album out way the bad stuff. He has some very positive messages especially about drug use. Songs such as "Love The Way You Lie", "Not Afraid" and "Won't Back Down" are all amazing.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models