All member reviews for So Far Gone

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Hot MC's raps mix self-reflection with graphic sex talk.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 12 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written bybradley4846 March 13, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
First thing is this song is not good clean, way to much is edited out (especially 'I'm Goin In'). The cd is pretty slow and takes at least two times listening to it to appreciate it (which you cant do with the edited one (they annoyingly edit out things). The language is really smaller words (s-word, h*e, etc) but with some songs ('I'm Goin in', Best i ever had) there are repeated uses of the f-word. It is really tame for a rap cd. there are some minor sexual things in a few songs, but you really dont notice. There is one violent refrence ('blow your brains out") Explicit: R for language including some sexual refrences and a brief violent image Clean: PG for mild language
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bymoviemadness January 18, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
What a great hip-hop album; a breath of fresh air from the usual trash. Drake clearly has soul and isn't afraid to confront the toughest parts of life with his honest lyrics. There are fairly explicit mentions of sex, along with language that shouldn't be used. When you get past these, however, you see a level of honesty and worth to this CD.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old January 1, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great Hip Hop Album with Amazing Beats!

This is a great album for mature tweens and teens only. Has lots of swearing so let your tweens listen to the edited version only! Great Hip Hop Album.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bykayoh9 February 16, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

So far gone, not recommended for kids under the age of 14

I personally like some of the songs that Drake puts out. He doesn't use profanity very often, but i wouldn't allow my child to listen to his music. Only if I have previewed it to see if it projected a positive message. Drake's music is actually better than most of the other rappers that put out garbage about things that no one cares about.
Kid, 9 years old October 25, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Drake.

Of course it is Drake he is the best.
Parent of a 17 year old Written bylils.o.d November 9, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

so far gone

because ilike that song by drake and lil wayne
Teen, 15 years old Written bybrizzydvarsitycb August 4, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

listen

drakes thebest in the game right i luv his music he just 2 real if u like this listen to thank me later or u can go search up his underground shiiit,. its approiate for people tht know what hes tlkin about
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old August 9, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

big time PA

DONT BUY. BESIDES FIND YOUR LOVE, DRAKE HAS BEEN BANNED FROM OUR HOUSE COMPLETLEY. HE USES FILTHY LANGUAGE AND BAD CONTENT. AGAIN DO NOT BUY
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bygoodperson4 December 24, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

some iffy stuff

The most dirty song on the album, I'm Goin' In, begins like, "hello motherf----r, hey hi how you durn; it's Weezy F. baby come to take a s--t in urine, on the toilet bowl b--ches; p---y, a--, n---as". Best I Ever Had has graphic sexual lines, "Get it from the back and make your f--king bra strap pop, all up in ya slot 'til a n---a hit the jackpot." the album sounds great though.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old August 27, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Big time langauge, never get im goin in, fear or best i ever had if you dont like langauge, and drake is a bad role model.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bysimply42amazing September 25, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

this album is amazing :)

THE BEST ALBUM EVERRRRR! love it?
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 June 3, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

so far gone

What challenges might a young artist like Drake experience on entering the world of fame and fortune? As his career advances and his fame grows, how can Drake remain true to his roots?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking