All parent member reviews for "Starships" (CD Single)

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 8 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent Written bydavidrox January 30, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Very Good, but not for kids

A great song with lots of catchy lyrics, but filled with sex references, and strong language in the chorus. bad role models, and not for kids. Lots F-bombs, and B words, plus some S words as well.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byShugocharafan88 January 7, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Ok haaallp tho! plzplzplzplz! ok but i rly like him my desktop is him

OMG SO CUTTEEEEEEE *faints into germany's arms*
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written byMsMeep August 22, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Know Your Child!

Defiantly know your child before you let them listen to this music! Are the the type who repeats cuss words? Are they influenced to do what singers do or say? In my opinion as an 18 year old this song is great but as a babysitter, I would not allow for anyone under 14 to listen to it! Hope this helps!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 July 23, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

starships cd single

Do you think her bad-girl image is appealing to audiences? Why or why not? How do you think she compares to other known "bad girls" like Madonna and Lady Gaga? Nicki Minaj is controversial because she uses profanity and raps about sex, yet men do this all the time and don't get called out for it. Is this a double standard? Can you think of other examples in music where men are allowed to be "bad" but women are criticized for doing the same? Would Minaj be as popular if she sang less edgy songs? Can you picture her singing a sweet ballad or romantic love song?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byAbigail1975000 July 15, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Starships

Sex- f--- who you want and f---- who you like Language- f bomb is dropped, mother----- 6 times (hidden behind the beat) b------ & s---- used once (clean version takes out all the bad words) Drinking- bud light Basically, get the clean version, or you could get Megan Nicole and Lindsey Stirlings clean version (unless you just hate violin!) changes the f who you want line to "do what you want and do what you like" bad b------ like me to "bad girls like me is hard to come by, don't give two s---- to don't give to shhh...... I would say that is okay for 10 & up because the implied cuss word at "shhh" and mention of bud light, not really a big deal considering kids know what beer is and see it all the time... P.S. (can't stop cause were so high doesn't mean drug high, it means she is like on the top of the charts)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byshanerocks June 6, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great song!

If you get the clean version, then it is definetely okay. It depends if your parent lets you get the bad version. It says several time though, "We're higher than a motherf****r but that is blanked in the clean version. Also says, "But f--k who you want and f--k who you like." In the beginning, Bad b---hes like me is hard to combine," I'm gonna blow all my money and don"t give two s--ts." But once again clean version blanks them out.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bymusic fan2.0 May 19, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

well done miss minaj

well i personaly do not like most rap or most of nkies songs no offence to nickie fans but how ever i love this somg but i only have one problem WAY TOO MUTCH swearing fro my personal taste but other than that i love it keep it up nicki and you just may have a new fan but please adults and older children only with this one trust me
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byTony632 April 2, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

probably one of her best :)

a few swears but other than that a very fun catchy pop crossover :)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing