All member reviews for "The Monster (ft. Rihanna)" (CD Single)

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 15 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byUnicornOnFire November 21, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Meh.

A disapointing RIhanna collaboration.
Kid, 11 years old November 24, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Okay song.

I can hardly understand what Eminem raps. Though this is an okay song, they reference to monsters which scare many young kids. So I would recommend this to ages 12 and up who like rap music.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bymusicforver November 21, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Borderline Track

The Monster is definitely a new radio smash. It is only explicit because it uses f--k and s--t once each in the third verse. Good track, if you're a fan of Eminem or Rihanna (or mainstream music), you will probably like this track. Mostly for 12 and up.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bytwistedlover123 November 29, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
The song itself is about fighting inner demons. Or in his case, his fame demons. It has some positive things about, besides the cursing it's overall and interesting song for older kids.
Kid, 10 years old November 29, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

TWO LETTERS: NO

THIS IS THE MOST INNAPPROPRIATE SONG EVER WRITTEN! THE SANG PART IS FINE, BUT THE RAP IS THE WORST! PARENTS, DONT EVEN THINK ABOUT LETTING YOUR KID LISTEN TO THIS SONG!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byitsthecodysseus862 September 27, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Review

Good Song but remember that rap has well, rap language
Kid, 12 years old April 26, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Cool Song

This song has a good beat, good rapping and good lyrics. Some minor swearing otherwise cool song!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byEminemHopsin123.J April 12, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Amazing song. Fine for everyone

I think this song is appropriate for everyone. There is only one use of f-ck and sh-t and that's all parents should be cautioned about. The music video is also kinda dark looking but that's it. There is also an inspirational message in the song about there being a monster inside you. Eminem is also a very good role model.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old March 14, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

F Word!!!

It's like I'm here to save the f**king children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bymovie man 15 March 6, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

come on

ok just get edited version theres one f@#king and one s#@t but 7 no not to say those words by now and compared to some other em songs this is nothing but his old ones like without me are the best
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byBoyOfDestiny55 February 4, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

The Monster Actually isn't Such a Monster CSM...

This song is the first Eminem title I actually listened to. Although CSM does have a point with the swearing and "Violent" section, I don't agree. I mean sure, I would have if it was in the slower pop section. But it's not. Its in the heavy rap section. Eminem's raps, unlike Macklemore, are extraordinarily fast and hard, to the point where it would make no difference if he was singing about how care bears would fail in a 1 on 1 match against rainbow dash. It is so fast, I TRIED listening to the explicit version and couldn't hear the swear words OR the violent section. Only about15 percent of his words are understandable, and they are squeaky clean. Common sense has a point, but you just can't hear it! Its an awesome song, especially for people getting in to Em, so don't restrict it from your child because of 2 profanities lost in a raging sea of words...
Kid, 12 years old February 3, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Inspirational Song

Honestly I think that common Sense media is WAY to harsh and i spucking up all of the bad things about this song. I started listening to eminem when I was 10 and you just have to be mature about the bad language. I understand how eminem's music can be explicit and violent but this song is actually very clean there are only 3 bad words. This song is inspirational and has a good message. It helps promote self confidence and says that you can face anything. The entire concept about Monsters might be a little scary but i am sure with all of the violent things happening today children might be more mature. I would not say Eminem is a good role model because of the fact that he has been to jail 3 times and harassed h is mother. In all, if you stop your kids from listening to this song they will be missing out on a really good song with a positive message.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byBlake_Slaughter January 18, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good song, though Eminem isn't clean and is annoying

The only reason kind of I like this song is because of Rihanna. Eminem is swearing, and most of all, YELLING at you for NO reason. If I could listen to a version without Eminem, trust me, I would!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old December 16, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Surprisingly appropriate content from master rapper eminem

The only bad stuff i heard which gave this review its pause for 12 is one f word.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bybscgirl November 30, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

The Monster (ft. Rihanna)

i think its good that the song is expressing the truth and can help kids with a similar problem so i think its fine
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking