All member reviews for 1000 Ways to Die

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Campy unscripted series is morbid and exploitative.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 67 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bymoviemaker201 January 16, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

pa'iowergfoqelainhgoiuehf09qerohf0oiwefyu9woeiu

I don't care. Things like this are crap. I don't even have to watch to know it's absolute tripe.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old August 5, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

GRRRRRR

This show is the worst show EVER. It is very graphic, and its its scary. I cant believe this show is rated 14A, it shouldn't even be on TV. It makes fun of the people who die, and on one episode, I gymnast LITERALLY became a human ca-bob. NEVER let your kids watch this show, and NEVER watch the show yourself. Besides who wants to sit around for a half hour watching people die. Cause that's basically all it is. I mean im sorry but the people who designed this show are NOT thinking straight.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old August 5, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Some more Language and Violence

On Pam Caked, Pamela has her spleen popped. There's also a story called Nun-F**ked.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byamy.marie April 12, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Not for under 12-13 year olds, but I love it :D

I love the show. But come on be honest, it is definetly not age appropriate and it really depends on the maturity of the kid. I think 12-13 would be okay, once again depending on maturity. Im 18 so I dont have a problem but I certainly wouldn't let a kid or if i had kids watch it under the age of around 13. These days most kids no about sex and drugs at a young age, if this just showed those death then yeh it would be easier to let them watch but it doesnt, if shows other deaths and although its somewhat educational, it simply has alot to do with ppl having no common sense or being plain stupid, or the fact that they have the worst luck in the world...I do believe that they should maybe say something for the ppl who died coz well they died and most had a family and were loved and now missed, so yeh as it is slightly comedic throughout the show they should respect the dead aswell. Anyways I still love it, im sure it makes alot of ppl change their ways. E.g for me, i chucked out the rusted shavers as one woman used one, cut herself with it and got a massive infection and died. Defo learnt my lesson from her..!
Kid, 12 years old March 4, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

You DID read the title, right? Are you sure? I just assumed...

What is the name of this show? Hmmm... A Thousand Ways to Die. Now, there are a lot of ways to die, and that title clearly indicates that they intend to tell you how. Let's pretend you were surfing the channels, and you see that title. Do fluffy bunnies and Teletubbies pop into your mind? No? Good. I was getting worried. Now, that aside, I consider this show very educational. There are several ways to die, and I would rather be safe than sorry. Still, I admit, this is not completly kid-friendly, but there is a reason. It was made for teens and grown-ups. Plain and simple. WAY 1000 TO DIE: Not reading this review! Thanks for reading!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 12 year old Written byXtian February 8, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Perfect For Older Kids, But Not For Tweens

If I had my way, my son wouldn't watch this but because his father is worried about alienating him from other children his age who are allowed to watch pretty much whatever they want, he's allowed to. I'm sure this show is funny and all, but not appropriate for a twelve-year-old boy (in my opinion). However, I really do tend to be quite conservative in these matters so perhaps my opinion isn't in line with the times.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 3 year old Written byReview Superman December 31, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Its Over 1000!!!

Three Words: It Is Violent!.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byPunkchic May 12, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
I absolutely hate this show!! It's offensive, and just plain sick! I find it sad that some people get a laugh of how people die. Personally, this show scares me! I could only get through have of it because I'm extremely scared of that kind of stuff. Though if you don't have those kind of scares, you should be able to handle this show. The show can get graphic: from one person getting bit by a snake, a girl getting smashed by an elevator, to one girl exploding. It's sick. I hate hearing of people die, much less see them die. The show has no respect of those deaths. Don't watch this, don't let your kids watch it! It can give you bad dreams, and just make you plain scared. The little ones won't like it AT ALL. Eeeeek, never watching this show again... Never. Ever.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byJulia Bradford February 5, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Perfect for older kids, but not for tweens

Upon hearing the title of the show, some people may think that it is filled with scenes that are gruesome and gory. Actually the show is not gruesome or gory at all. Its interesting stories of people dying in the most bizarre ways are attention grabbing and it keeps me asking questions even during some of the commercial breaks. 1000 Ways to Die is a good show that can teach people to use common sense and always expect the unexpected in the most simple of situations because anything can go wrong.
Teen, 17 years old Written byHorace Williams November 21, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great show.

1000 Ways to Die is one of the best shows. It's funny, interesting, and I love the intro. Why it got cancelled is beyond me.
Kid, 12 years old June 3, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

How do I say this?

I watched the first and second season of it, and it's pretty graphic. Now, I think some of these deaths are made up, as your head cannot explode from water pressure, your skull would still be left behind, Hello? Still, I think most of the deaths here are made up and fake, but it's still not for kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old June 1, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A decent show.

It's interesting to see all these strange ways to die. Obviously, it has lots of violence and sometimes lots of swearing. It also has a very small amount of sex (with clothes on) and all around disgusting things. Other than that, it's a decent show; people who aren't easily grossed out will be fine.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byDelia828 December 1, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Nightmares

My 9 year old saw this at a sleepover and now she is crying and can't sleep ... Nice!
Teen, 14 years old Written byJ.K. Rowling fan December 1, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

EXPLICIT VIOLENCE AND GORE. DO NOT LET KIDS WATCH

Gore and violence. Besides, who wants to see idiots and dumb blondes die. I'd rather watch South Park. Should be rated TV-MA
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 13, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Violent and Graphic

1000 Ways to die is very violent and graphic but is ok for tweens 12 and up . . . . .
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byTheTrillionaire January 1, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

On= 16+, Pause= 12-15, Off= 11 and Under

This is a horrible film for Viewers Under 15. One episode called "Wedding Crusher" a man was naked in front of a wedding. There is also some intentive sex and violence on this show.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byCTN December 16, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

My opinion

Okay, first of all the show isn 't ALL bad.. But in my own opinion, the show is actually a very frightening one. Mostly due to the fact that the events involved can actually happen to you.. But in terms of what family's should talk about.. Instead of going on about not put these events of tv.. Talk about something better, like how NOT to tempt the events shown, as said in the shows intro..
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bymrapu18257 December 7, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

1,000 Ways to Die, a interesting show

In my opinion, I actually love this show. I've seen pretty much all of the episodes. It's mostly about idiots or criminals trying to do things bad. But they eventually get caused to death. That's the main story that keeps repeating, and it works creepily yet epic. It's a show for teenagers, and maybe for 12 year old's. But under that will not do to parents. The one word that describes this show is interesting. Each episode tells separate parts of people doing bad things and how it causes them sudden death. I hope they make more episodes soon, because its too interesting.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 10, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Gory and Lots O' Blood

1000 ways to die, is a gory, creepy show where they show people different ways to die. Sure, everyone says it is scary and creepy and stuff, but in my opinion it kind of teaches you the dangers of the world. Ex: A Mad scientist eats gum and every 1hr or so, he dips it in citric acid for flavor, then he accidentally dips it in gunpowder, he bites, then his complete jaw falls of his head. Cause: He was rushing. Lesson: Don't rush and take your time. See what I mean? Though it does have uncensored bad words and most videos are related to sex so, it is obvious that it isn't for younger audiences.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byLevi2013 June 21, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Remember how your mom says that tv will rot your brain? With a show like this, I tend to agree.

I highly disapprove of this show In my opinion, this show is over-dramatized with lousy re-enactments and lousy acting, objectifying women as porn star sex addicts and depicting men as either beer-gutted sexist pigs or just as big of sex addicts as the women. Some of the deaths in the show seemed to take potshots at certain individuals or parties(ie- having Mel Gibson die in a hot tub by having his intestines ripped out by the water filter or having a feminist leader shock herself to death by her vibrator). I also wouldn't be suprised if this show is riding on the heels of the Spike TV show MANswers, another show I disapprove of. If you look close enough, you can see the similarities between the 2 shows through their content. I highly recommend this show to be for 17 and older, but it would be wonderful if Spike TV would remove it completely.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages