All member reviews for 7th Heaven

Common Sense Media says

This uplifting family drama keeps the faith.
 

Users say

(out of 42 reviews)
age 10+
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

It's Gone Downhill

There's no way 7th Heaven should be TV-G anymore. The last 4 weeks have been about sex, and it is irresponsible to leave it as G rated and in the primetime TV slot. We used to watch it as a family, but not anymore. I watch it alone now, as an evening soap opera.
Adult Written bydancingbrady April 9, 2008
age 5+
 

Great for kids

This show helps kids realize right from wrong....it shows them the consequences for bad judgments and decisions. I let my siblings and child watch this show all the time.
Adult Written bywahoosigma April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Not the tame show it once was

The 2005 fall season is much racier than years past and the topics being handled are much more sophisticated. It's as if the whole Camden clan when on summer vacation and got wild. While the show does attempt to focus on the real issues faced by families, it has become nothing more than a soap opera with fashionably dressed teens making lots of life mistakes and then going to church on sunday.
Teen, 14 years old Written byIvoryNeptune December 21, 2012
age 8+
 

Plus

7th Heaven was one of the last "family shows" of its time. Parents should be warned that sex is a topic. This is also based on a Christian pastor’s family, so kids of other religions will have an opportunity to see a different religion.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old November 7, 2012
age 18+
 

Warning!

This show is not for kids. There is a lot of sex and it is not good for little kids to watch. There is also some drinking and smoking. Seriously, don't let kids watch this.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bybkid June 25, 2010
age 12+
 

Good for teens, questionable for tweens

There is almost always a problem in every episode that deals with sex, drugs, or violence (and some language). But with the Christian faith in the show, it has good role models (Eric Camden) and positive messages.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 4 and 8 year old Written bylcdm April 11, 2010
age 8+
 

Not for tweens, unless you are prepared to explain

We've really enjoyed watching the show together on DVD, but the episodes we've come to are now discussing more information about sex than I would like my 8 year old thinking about right now. I had to tun one episode off. I know it goes back to good in the end, but the discussions wer too much for my 8 yr. old right now
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byForknose April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

NO

The most boring show on TV. It is like trying to make the Brady Bunch wholesome and having everyday clothes and troubles. So bad and so corny (corniness works for 50's shows but not here).
Adult Written byAlis20 April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

not for kids

I like this show, it is good. But it is not for kids at all. It talks about way too much sex,drugs, etc. no one under 16 should watch it
Adult Written byskvc April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Caution --

NOT a very realistic portrayal of a minister's family -- or any Christian family.
Adult Written byEthan511 July 14, 2014
age 12+
 

not for younger kids

I really don't like this show. It's corny and unrealistic, like when the dad freaked out when he found out the mom smoked pot in college. (This was an episode all about pot, by the way) To many episodes deal with sex or alcohol/drugs. It will lead viewers who don't know any better that heavy petting and making out never leads to sex. It also leads viewers to believe that smokers and drinkers are very bad people and to stay away from them. This show is complete crap. Only watch if you want to laugh your ass off.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 3 and 9 year old Written bymoviemum July 24, 2009
age 13+
 

FUNNY!

This show tackles some very not appropriate issues, (and there is soup product placement in later episodes) For adults, I'm sorry but I found this show pure hilarity.Watch any episode where Annie is crazy, the twins have one name, Lucy in the elevator, Eric homeschooling, the pot episode. Hilarious! but A LOT of episodes are one big commercial for not doing drugs, joining gangs etc. So kinda preachy
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written bycauseimspeical@... April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

I enjoy every minute of 7th Heaven!!!

7th Heaven is my absolute favorite show! I smile everytime I watch it because it really draws me in. Evan my family agrees with me that I'm obsesed. I record all my favorite episodes and watch them over and over! I love chatting to peaple who love 7th Heaven as much as I do. The guys are cute and the women are clever, especiallly little Ruthie! I don't just reccomend it, I insist that you start watching 7th Heaven!
Adult Written byjohnnydogmatic April 9, 2008
age 8+
 

Perfect for preteens and early teens

What I like about this program is that for my 12-year old daughter, we have the cute guys and admirable girls that she is interested in, but in a (more-or-less) normal family with normal issues -but lots and lots of positive social messages. Great!
Teen, 16 years old Written bydancer917 April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

LIKE, TOTALLY THE BEST SHOW EVER!!!

I love this show!! It's a great drama/comedy show for families to watch together. It's about how life is with 7 kids growing up and the things they, the kids and parents, go through. It has funny moments, sad moments, suspicious moments,and everything in between. The Camden Family consists of the parents Eric and Annie trying to raise their 7 kids: Matt, Mary, Lucy, Simon, Ruthie, Sam, and David. The show is now on its 9th season on THE WB and reruns from the 3-9 season currently air on ABC FAMILY. Season 1 is now on DVD. I really think that 7th heaven is a great family show.
Adult Written bydjb952 April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

The rare exception

This is truly a rare show. NO sex, graphic violence or foul language. It is excellent family entertainment. The spiritual message is definitly a step in the right direction.
Educator and Parent Written byCommonSenseChristian June 1, 2015
age 8+
 

Heavenly at Times--Sometimes Not So Much

7th Heaven is one of those tricky shows you want to like, but can't wholly endorse. Everyone will have his or her own reasons for this; here are a few of mine. The Camden family is a close-knit, warm clan. Parents Eric and Annie want their kids to grow up to be good, well-adjusted people. For the most part, they succeed. All seven kids have human foibles, but are mostly sympathetic and relatable. (Favorite and disliked characters vary according to viewer). Especially in the early seasons, 7th Heaven deals well with universal issues such as friendship, love, death, the consequences of negative choices, and more. Many episodes are specifically issue-driven and include characters such as abused spouses, teen gang members, Holocaust survivors, unwed parents, drug users, and more. The episodes center on how the Camdens help each person in their lives negotiate problems. The show gets sticky when it comes to the Camden family's own problems. For example, oldest daughter Mary gets thrown out of the house in Season 5 for drinking, bouncing from job to job, refusing to attend college, and behaving selfishly toward her family. Whether Mary's punishment is deserved is arguable, but the family's blindness toward the problem leading up to it is disturbing. Later on in the series, Simon gives away his virginity and has a string of questionable girlfriends. Lucy and Annie become whiny and melodramatic, a turn-off to many viewers. Eric, a minister, writes a racy book and seems to lose or ignore his former moral compass. In general, whether your family settles in with the Camdens is an individual decision. What you like or don't like will influence whether you keep watching. The only solid recommendation I can make here is, because some issues discussed are serious and potentially graphic, wait until the kids are about eight before letting them watch.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bytimrindone April 6, 2014
age 14+
 
The show tells many stories that can help benefit your children, I would just reccomend this show for 14 and up considering all of the dialouge, the show really goes deep in mature issues. Great show in all!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byTimmy2shoe July 3, 2013
age 12+
 

7th Heaven

I think this family drama is terrific for children 12 and up because at this age children can finally communicate with the morals in the show. The Dialogue can be rough but they can take it! The family talks about teen pregnancy, drugs, and what some words mean. GREAT SHOW!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent Written bychristian-witness June 28, 2012
age 6+
 

awesome

A wonderful Christian show Episodes have dealt directly and admirably with issues of tolerance. Characters have been beaten up at school (off-screen) bullying.
What other families should know
Great role models

Pages