All member reviews for American Horror Story

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 92 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byalexman774 October 11, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing but may be disturbing for some.

Ok so I am 14 years old and my da found out this show was TVMA one day before it came out. He knew how excited I was to see the show so he decided to let me watch with his supervision. First of all the show is not quite as bloody as you may expect but it does contain disturbing and frightening images which may scar younger children. The show also contains some strong language including s*** and c***sucker which may not be a good thing if kids repeat what they hear. There is also a large focus on sex. The show tries to use sex as one of it's elements to scare. There are james bond style sex scenes (cant see bad parts but you can tell what they are doing) but you never see any nudity except for butt. There are also messages about how much pain and suffering is in the world which may be sad for young children. In conclusion this show may be good for mature 14 year olds but my dad will continue to watch each upcoming episode with me to be safe and I recommend you do that to.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bykamiekirk November 8, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Sexual perversion, adultery, and gore is too much for television, let alone children.

I've been very critical of sexuality in media, and after the seeing the first few episodes, it seemed that the sexual perversion was too much for basic cable. The maid/husband masturbation thing was too much for ANY television in general. Whether full nudity was shown or not, it was way too much. I would never allow siblings to watch it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old February 1, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Amazing and insane Drama. But not for kids. At ALL.

SEASON 1: Amazing show about a family who moves from Boston to L.A., to escape their troubled past. They move into L.A.'s infamous "Murder House". The show is full of sex, rape, violence, vulgar uncensored language, smoking by teens, and of course, a horror themed tone. (SPOILER ALERT FOR PARENTS) A woman dies in graphic child birth, a woman is raped (graphically) by a man in a rubber suit (partially on screen. No genitalia or breasts shown), Every episode starts with an opening, explaining the past, which then relates to what happens during the episode, a girl with down syndrome gets hit by a car (and is revealed dead), the nurse gives two blow jobs in the first season, a man cheats on his wife and she walks in on him, then slices him with a knife. The show focuses on sexual violence. NOT FOR KIDS. I am a child, and I feel others around my age would be scared, or "scarred for life" after watching this. (Horror and "adult themes" don't bother me or really effect me. Many children would be confused while watching this.)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bymulbytime October 13, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Creepy Show Revolves Around Sex

I am a huge horror movie fan, and my favorite type of horror movie is the creepy, eerie, supernatural movies. (paranormal activity, the shining, etc.) This show is right up my alley. It's creepy, scary, gory (but not too) and very mysterious. However, there is a lot of sex in the show. Nothing is explicit, but the male lead has a history of adultery, committed with a 16 year old girl. Lots of sexual content revolves around Ben (Dylan McDermott). Also, I don't want to spoil anything, so all I can say is that some of the sex (not all) is crucial to the story. All in all, I would recommend this show. But be careful who you show it to. Probably around 13 is a reasonable age to watch this show, but until they're around 14, i recommend watching it with them just to censor anything out. I can only suspect that there will be more sex and violence in future episodes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byghs1441 October 26, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Graphic and Great

This show is graphic in pretty much everything it does. If there's language, it will be strong and audible (exluding c**t and f**k.) If there is violence it will be graphic and scary. If there is sex, it will be under serious circumstances, and it will be minimally censored. Mature 14 year olds and even 13 year olds can watch this as long as they have no problem with dark, disturbing violence and sex, and strong language. Now that that's out of the way, i think this is one of the best shows on television. Its filled with dark (really, really, really dark) humor, suspense and gore. But I think the most interesting and different part of the show is that it gives the audience close to no insight as to any of the secrets behind the house, only revealing a portion of what is sure to be a huge reveal at the end of the series each episode. This is an amazing show with even greater potential, but it is not for the faint of heart.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byOnlyForForever January 4, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Disturbing

The title of "horror" makes you think of blood and probably some sex appeal. That is honestly an understatement. In the first episode, a man masturbates after walking in on a woman masturbating this was after the wife caught him in bed with one of his students and cuts his arm with a knife and then the daughter is shown smoking and the wife is haunted by two dead kids. The smoking gets the girl in a cat fight which leads to them torturing the girl who started it. The girl is shown cutting right as one of her dad's mental patients walks in and tells her how to kill herself instead of cutting across her wrists. all in the first episode. But You don't see much in the sex scenes, you hear it and then only see them naked from their backside. I would honestly advise you to keep children and most teens away from this show.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bysmouse March 22, 2014
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Watch out

I am 17 years old an have just started watching the second season after finishing the first. I don't usually watch thing sort of genre but Netflix had uploaded it so i thought i'd give it a try. I find that i sometimes had to look away as some bits were scary/gory, but if you're a seasoned horror-goer then you would probably be fine! I think people should note that this programme is shocking/disturbing and everything that mankind should hate about the world, it sends wrong messages and it shows scenes of sexual violence and torture frequently. HOWEVER this show is a genius work of art that needs to be understood and appreciated by a mature person who can see that it is a work of fiction. Yes, sex does play a large role in the storyline but nudity is not a problem, most sex scenes are implied instead of seen. I would say that gore/violence is a concern if you aren't keen on this but this programme doesn't tend to dwell on these scenes, this is usually because they need to move on quickly as the next death is coming soon(i speak the truth). overall, if you like horror and know what you're in for then give it a shot but if you don't like it then thats also all right, dont lose sleep over this programme. If you do watch and are a little nervous then i would suggest that you read the episode synopsis on wikipedia, that will let you know what's coming/it will help you understand the show as its quite complex. Just remember this show is a work of art and show not be watched if things play on your mind because this WILL. I'm not joking when i say this, the first night i watched it i struggled to sleep. Watch this if you like horror, dont watch if you are easily scared.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byjose Angel13yrs November 8, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Mature but not at the same time.

PARENTS should know many teens hve seen much worse. Many people at my school (whitch is a very proper but not a rich school) haved described and bragged about watching porn. This show is extemley more appropriete than what they describe. yes,there is violence,sex,drugs,smoking,and drinking. but there are some good role models in season 1 the mother was. in season 2 the fasley acccused lesbian reporter was. in season 3 the swamp witch was. and in season 4 the three breasted hermaphrodite was. PLUS, PARENTS this show is never boring because every season is radically diffrent tha the other and the only thing truly scary about this show is the intro. TRULY, YOUR CHILD CAN WATCH SEASON 1 AND 3 BY THEMSELVES ONLY SEASON 4 AND 2 SHOULD BE WATCHED WITH AN ADULT FIGURE BECAUSE OF SOME OF THE WAY PEOPLE ARE KILLED.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byJeffery Jenkins July 15, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byPart IV October 17, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Wow, televison now days is disturbing and sick!

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byXXima_dinosaurXX December 12, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

wonderfully shocking show puts you on edge

Stumbling upon this show, i was sucked in from the very start. American Horror Story is however disturbing and creepy, and if you like that stuff as much as i do, you'll fall in love with it. The plot is complex and dark, in itself it is quite creative. For those age 16 and up I think this show would be one you would not want to miss out on. So many twists and turns, you never know what is going to happen next. You will be on the edge of your seat. However this is a show you do not want children to watch due to mature content, i would say 15 and under should NOT watch this show. Sexual scenes, violence, language and adult themes and much more. But other than that its a lovely show, for those of you who can handle it, check it out, you won't be disappointed (:
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byCharisLia April 20, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

American Horror Story

I loved this TV show, I have just started on series two and it's one of the best programmes I've seen in a while. I think most teens would be fine watching this on their own, I watch it on my own. Then again, I have grown up watching suspense filled horror films and gory police dramas (Silent Witness, ect...) but my younger sister watched a few episodes with me and she was fine.
Teen, 14 years old Written bySpielberg00 November 14, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Especially for the horror genre, violence is the least concern. It's still quite a mature show, but the TV-MA rating is mostly unnecessary.

This review is regarding the pilot episode. Violence: The visuals are edited to make it look twisted and creepy. We also hear the usual, sudden horror movie music when something shocking comes up. All we really SEE, though, is scars on a teenager's wrist and light gashes on faces. Sex: We see a man naked from behind. He stands in front of a window, and we hear groaning, allowing us to assume he is "pleasing himself". There is also discussion among teens. Profanity refers to genitalia. Language: LOTS. Various forms of "s--t". Nothing "f--k" or stronger, surprisingly. Drugs: We see tobacco cigarettes, and we hear mentions of cocaine.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byjustoneofthosegirls May 4, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Its soo addicting yet its not good for kids 14 and under

So at first I was iffy about this show, I went on common sense media and looked at the reviews that scared me a lot. But I ignored the reviews and decided to see for myself. So here is my true review for you all who are looking to see if your child is watching an age appropriate show or if A teen needs some insigt about this show. Well first, horror is my least favorite genre. Yet, this is my favorite show. It is highly addicting and I got through the first season in three days. The seasons differ. I think that it will "scar' kids under the age of 13, but thats all. it has some swearing, a bit of sexual content, (but get past it) and its really gory. so if you hate Gore then DO NOT watch this show. A misunderstood girl cuts herself in the first season, but a ghost gets her to stop which sends a good message. I think. Anyway, from the point of view of a 15-16 year old I think that this show is fantastic and you should absolutely watch it, THE THEME SONG IS SCARIER THEN THE ACTUAL SHOW enjoy :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byAnaconda3611 October 13, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

American Horror Story is NOT represented fairly here!

Now I am aware that the show is not for children of any age, but not many of the reviews are fair. Every storyline (and the content in that storyline) is very different because each season is a new chapter in an anthology series. Season 1 is the Murder House story, and is the only one reviewed here, and is risqué at first on purpose to attract an audience that can withstand the content, but the horror leaves and the drama starts about halfway through the season, and it does start to calm down. However season 2 Asylum only gets more twisted and horrific as it goes on, but it does calm down near the end, and to spite being the hardest to watch, it is the best quality wise. It does contain graphic, but nudity free, depictions of sickening sexual violence such as rape, necrophilia, tourture, and kidnapping and worse until it gets better when everyone gets what they deserve, and the heroic characters do suffer the worst fates, but it is also genius when you are not throwing up from the rape and necrophilia, and season 2 is not suitable for most adults, so stay far away from Asylum until you pre watch it and can keep your lunch down. Coven however is the third season and should have been TV-14. It still has much of the disturbing content, such as mothers tourtureing and raping their sons, and then sodomizing them with hoses of hot water before killing them, but even though this is part of the season, it is only implied and off screen, but still disturbing, but it is not nearly as bad as The Walking Dead. Season 4, called Freakshow has barely started, but seems like it is going to be in the 15-16 year old age demographic. Asylum is an iffy 18, coven is okay for 14-15 year olds, and season one is okay for 15-16 year olds. This is all depending on the person though, and a mature 15 year old should be able to handle it all. Compared to Game Of Thrones, it is not as adult as that, but is older than what a walking dead watcher should see. So I think if you can see walking dead, but not game of thrones, then this is perfect. And even though it is hard to watch, it does give out give messages of equality, acceptance, and love.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byThe Movie Watcher May 28, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

American Horror Story

Even though it might be shocking for most young teens, this Tv Series delivers a graphic and false extreme violence and excesive use of drugs.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bytylerkippert June 11, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

A Quality Thriller That May Offend Some

AMERICAN HORROR STORY: This is a really creepy (but amazing) show. I'm 16 years old, and there were a few things in the show that even disturbed me (and it takes a lot). This show is on the verge of pushing limits with television. The violence is more graphic that what you would see on a TV show on a network. There is gore. Guts spilling out of someone, teenagers cutting themselves. One character goes mad and shoots thirteen teenagers at his school. The sexual content is a little more frequent. One character was caught having an affair (which prompted them to move), A couple scenes show characters "playing with themselves". There is sex off screen and on screen. One scene even shows a rape. There is only a little nudity. Buttocks are mainly shown and sometimes the side of a woman's breasts. The language is strong. Basically, every word is uttered except for the "F" word. Although it's not as big, there are some drugs in the show. A teenager smokes. One did coke before shooting kids. This show may be incredibly disturbing to most people, but it's an interesting and cool TV show. When they say viewer discretion is advised.. they mean it. AMERICAN HORROR STORY: ASYLUM: The sophomore season (which takes place in an asylum in the 60's) is more graphic than the first season. In literally every episode, there is (not-so-graphic) nudity. Their form of punishment is spanking patients, so there are a lot of bare buttocks. There is also sex. The modern day couple talk sexy and the woman performs oral on the male while he sticks his arm in a room. As a reason, his arm gets torn off. The violence is much more graphic than the previous season. A doctor hammers a patient's eye out to replace their brain, the same doctor experiments with the patients and dumps their remains off into the woods for a hungry creature. A nymphomaniac got her legs cut off. The serial killer "bloody face" skins woman and makes masks and furniture out of it. The killer also holds a woman hostage in his basement. Language is about the same since last season. The only drug viewers see is marijuana, which is smoked in the first episode for a brief moment. Overall, this season is disturbing, sexy, and scarier than the last season. AMERICAN HORROR STORY: COVEN- Not as dark as the previous season, but still with plenty of shock factor. Violence is in every episode (torture, slavery, burnings, and one witch's power is killing people through sex) and it gets graphic each time. The scenes in Madame LaLaurie's basement are particularly graphic (face peeled back, eyes and mouth sewed, cutting open stomach for organs). The sex this season is probably the most graphic and vivid as the others. Of course, there's rape; and new this season- bestiality, incest and implied necrophilia. As usual, only buttocks are shown. Language this season is same as others (along with drug content). Overall, the third season is fantastic! Highly recommended.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bytbhlana June 17, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Very good show, but very violent and sexual

American Horror Story is a show that revolves around sex and violence. So kids that are still in middle school SHOULDN'T be watching this show. The violence in this show is very bloody and can be disturbing (especially in season 2) and the sex in this show is very graphic and shows some nudity (butts and breasts) Bottom line: this show is not made for the younger crowd.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byNivek May 4, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Cool

Very cool but is inappropriate for children under 12.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byCWG1 October 7, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Disturbing, and Grisly

Rough violence, and graphic sex. It contains dark and disturbing images as well as strong violence that usually contains blood and/or gore. Graphic sex is shown and implyed, and there will sometimes be nudity usually butts, but the sex can be graphic. Milder language never any F words. Some alcohol use, and maybe a few drug references. Only worry is sex and violence as well as disturbing images. Suggested MPAA-R: Strong Disturbing Horror Violence and Gore, Strong Sexual Content including Graphic Nudity, Grisly and Shocking Images, and some Language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages