All member reviews for American Horror Story

Common Sense Media says

Dark, twisted adult drama is designed to shock and disturb.

Users say

(out of 176 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Adult Written bylmtrav January 9, 2015

SO GOOD but not for kids

Honestly, the appropriate age for this show is hard to determine because it really depends on the person. My sister who is 15 loves this show and can handle it just fine, but my mom can't even watch it for a minute. I know 15-year-olds who couldn't watch this and parents who love it. I don't normally like horror movies, but I love this show. Every season is different always keeping it fresh and interesting. The acting is amazing for television, and it is so original. The sexual content is pretty heavy, but a lot of teenagers have seen this stuff before and should be able to handle it if they are mature. Seasons 1 and 2 are a bit darker than 3 in my opinion so 3 may be the best to start with if you are unsure.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byAnaconda3611 October 13, 2014

American Horror Story is NOT represented fairly here!

Now I am aware that the show is not for children of any age, but not many of the reviews are fair. Every storyline (and the content in that storyline) is very different because each season is a new chapter in an anthology series. Season 1 is the Murder House story, and is the only one reviewed here, and is risqué at first on purpose to attract an audience that can withstand the content, but the horror leaves and the drama starts about halfway through the season, and it does start to calm down. However season 2 Asylum only gets more twisted and horrific as it goes on, but it does calm down near the end, and to spite being the hardest to watch, it is the best quality wise. It does contain graphic, but nudity free, depictions of sickening sexual violence such as rape, necrophilia, tourture, and kidnapping and worse until it gets better when everyone gets what they deserve, and the heroic characters do suffer the worst fates, but it is also genius when you are not throwing up from the rape and necrophilia, and season 2 is not suitable for most adults, so stay far away from Asylum until you pre watch it and can keep your lunch down. Coven however is the third season and should have been TV-14. It still has much of the disturbing content, such as mothers tourtureing and raping their sons, and then sodomizing them with hoses of hot water before killing them, but even though this is part of the season, it is only implied and off screen, but still disturbing, but it is not nearly as bad as The Walking Dead. Season 4, called Freakshow has barely started, but seems like it is going to be in the 15-16 year old age demographic. Asylum is an iffy 18, coven is okay for 14-15 year olds, and season one is okay for 15-16 year olds. This is all depending on the person though, and a mature 15 year old should be able to handle it all. Compared to Game Of Thrones, it is not as adult as that, but is older than what a walking dead watcher should see. So I think if you can see walking dead, but not game of thrones, then this is perfect. And even though it is hard to watch, it does give out give messages of equality, acceptance, and love.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byXXima_dinosaurXX December 12, 2011

wonderfully shocking show puts you on edge

Stumbling upon this show, i was sucked in from the very start. American Horror Story is however disturbing and creepy, and if you like that stuff as much as i do, you'll fall in love with it. The plot is complex and dark, in itself it is quite creative. For those age 16 and up I think this show would be one you would not want to miss out on. So many twists and turns, you never know what is going to happen next. You will be on the edge of your seat. However this is a show you do not want children to watch due to mature content, i would say 15 and under should NOT watch this show. Sexual scenes, violence, language and adult themes and much more. But other than that its a lovely show, for those of you who can handle it, check it out, you won't be disappointed (:
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bySpielberg00 November 14, 2011

Especially for the horror genre, violence is the least concern. It's still quite a mature show, but the TV-MA rating is mostly unnecessary.

This review is regarding the pilot episode. Violence: The visuals are edited to make it look twisted and creepy. We also hear the usual, sudden horror movie music when something shocking comes up. All we really SEE, though, is scars on a teenager's wrist and light gashes on faces. Sex: We see a man naked from behind. He stands in front of a window, and we hear groaning, allowing us to assume he is "pleasing himself". There is also discussion among teens. Profanity refers to genitalia. Language: LOTS. Various forms of "s--t". Nothing "f--k" or stronger, surprisingly. Drugs: We see tobacco cigarettes, and we hear mentions of cocaine.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byNikhilb_123 March 13, 2016

American Horror Story

American horror story is a good show but some series are better than others. Every season contains quite a bit of sex, partial nudity, bloody violence and language. Here is an overview of each season: Season 1 - a mixed season, some episodes are better than others. Quite a lot of sex and violence. 7/10. Season 2 (Asylum) - the best season. This season is more disturbing and the first and has more sex and violence. A very good season. 9/10. Season 3(Coven) - Starts off not so good but then improves. Tamer than the other seasons, much more light hearted. Still quite a lot of bloody violence, some sex and nudity, language and disturbing scenes. A good season. 8/10. Season 4(Freak Show) - A very mixed season. Overall quite disappointing. Has the most bizarre sex scenes but not a lot of nudity. Strong violence and language. This season probably has the best episode of the show which is episode 10(orphans) that really impresses because it is incredibly moving and proves that the show doesn't need sex. The finale is completely disappointing and clichéd. 6/10. Season 5(Hotel) - The worst season so far. Has the most sex and quite a lot of female nudity which is unnecessary. Lady Gaga as the lead just doesn't work and nearly every episode is just boring. A lot of violence and some language as usually. The first episode contains an extremely explicit rape scene which is disturbing and totally not needed. This season has made me wonder if this show has lost its touch. 4/10. Overall American horror story is good but the later seasons aren't so much and the show contains strong violence and sex which is not needed.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byteodorar September 1, 2015

I have 12 years and really enjoyded it

i loved it and watch all the seasons in like 2 weeks it is such a good show it doesn't have that much jumpscares but in some of the seasons the story is just scary but deffenetly recomend it for teens
Adult Written byTecFan09 March 29, 2013

Spooky, Crazy, Dramatic Fun. For the Grown-Ups Eyes Only.

A great, very well made, twisted horror and drama series, great for adults. Acting is incredible, characters are extremely flawed but likable, and the story is addicting and fun to follow. Not for children, or even some teens, I'd say 14-15 at the youngest, and that's if they're mature enough to handle it. There are explicit sex scenes, teens and adults using drugs and alcohol, violence, gore, self-mutilation, extremely poor role-models, and lots of murder.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byAndersenMurray12 January 22, 2016

Honestly built up too much.

You can read the IMDb parents guide and see many themes of rape and child molestation, but that is only a small part. This show is meant for a mature audience who understands the difference between consensual sex and rape, and that nothing shown in this program is meant to be performed in reality. You may see the TV-MA rating and immediately put it down, but give it a shot. Season one has one to 2 scenes of nudity, only showing male buttocks. This is nothing your child hasn't been introduced to. I would say season 2 is a bit more sexual with themes of homosexual discrimination and sexual remarks. On the other hand, violence is definitely distributed throughout and may be disturbing to some viewers. If your child has nightmares over any horror movie, I do not recommend this show. Language is a very small part of the show but it is put in there from Tim to time. I would say a very mature 13 year old could watch this show with no influence what so ever.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byjustoneofthosegirls May 4, 2015

Its soo addicting yet its not good for kids 14 and under

So at first I was iffy about this show, I went on common sense media and looked at the reviews that scared me a lot. But I ignored the reviews and decided to see for myself. So here is my true review for you all who are looking to see if your child is watching an age appropriate show or if A teen needs some insigt about this show. Well first, horror is my least favorite genre. Yet, this is my favorite show. It is highly addicting and I got through the first season in three days. The seasons differ. I think that it will "scar' kids under the age of 13, but thats all. it has some swearing, a bit of sexual content, (but get past it) and its really gory. so if you hate Gore then DO NOT watch this show. A misunderstood girl cuts herself in the first season, but a ghost gets her to stop which sends a good message. I think. Anyway, from the point of view of a 15-16 year old I think that this show is fantastic and you should absolutely watch it, THE THEME SONG IS SCARIER THEN THE ACTUAL SHOW enjoy :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byCharisLia April 20, 2014

American Horror Story

I loved this TV show, I have just started on series two and it's one of the best programmes I've seen in a while. I think most teens would be fine watching this on their own, I watch it on my own. Then again, I have grown up watching suspense filled horror films and gory police dramas (Silent Witness, ect...) but my younger sister watched a few episodes with me and she was fine.
Teen, 15 years old Written byThe Movie Watcher May 28, 2013

American Horror Story

Even though it might be shocking for most young teens, this Tv Series delivers a graphic and false extreme violence and excesive use of drugs.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byhannahbananna85 May 24, 2013

I'm almost hooked, but...

This show captures you, but in the first episode, the sexuality is overwhelming. I wouldn't even want my husband to see this!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written bytylerkippert June 11, 2012

A Quality Thriller That May Offend Some

AMERICAN HORROR STORY: This is a really creepy (but amazing) show. I'm 16 years old, and there were a few things in the show that even disturbed me (and it takes a lot). This show is on the verge of pushing limits with television. The violence is more graphic that what you would see on a TV show on a network. There is gore. Guts spilling out of someone, teenagers cutting themselves. One character goes mad and shoots thirteen teenagers at his school. The sexual content is a little more frequent. One character was caught having an affair (which prompted them to move), A couple scenes show characters "playing with themselves". There is sex off screen and on screen. One scene even shows a rape. There is only a little nudity. Buttocks are mainly shown and sometimes the side of a woman's breasts. The language is strong. Basically, every word is uttered except for the "F" word. Although it's not as big, there are some drugs in the show. A teenager smokes. One did coke before shooting kids. This show may be incredibly disturbing to most people, but it's an interesting and cool TV show. When they say viewer discretion is advised.. they mean it. AMERICAN HORROR STORY: ASYLUM: The sophomore season (which takes place in an asylum in the 60's) is more graphic than the first season. In literally every episode, there is (not-so-graphic) nudity. Their form of punishment is spanking patients, so there are a lot of bare buttocks. There is also sex. The modern day couple talk sexy and the woman performs oral on the male while he sticks his arm in a room. As a reason, his arm gets torn off. The violence is much more graphic than the previous season. A doctor hammers a patient's eye out to replace their brain, the same doctor experiments with the patients and dumps their remains off into the woods for a hungry creature. A nymphomaniac got her legs cut off. The serial killer "bloody face" skins woman and makes masks and furniture out of it. The killer also holds a woman hostage in his basement. Language is about the same since last season. The only drug viewers see is marijuana, which is smoked in the first episode for a brief moment. Overall, this season is disturbing, sexy, and scarier than the last season. AMERICAN HORROR STORY: COVEN- Not as dark as the previous season, but still with plenty of shock factor. Violence is in every episode (torture, slavery, burnings, and one witch's power is killing people through sex) and it gets graphic each time. The scenes in Madame LaLaurie's basement are particularly graphic (face peeled back, eyes and mouth sewed, cutting open stomach for organs). The sex this season is probably the most graphic and vivid as the others. Of course, there's rape; and new this season- bestiality, incest and implied necrophilia. As usual, only buttocks are shown. Language this season is same as others (along with drug content). Overall, the third season is fantastic! Highly recommended.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old March 19, 2016

Really good

12 and up should watch it because it gives them a sense to the world and shows that life could be worse.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byisabellerose1104 November 29, 2015

Depends

I think for this show it all depends on how easily scared or disturbed your children gets. There a lot of sexual content and swearing along with teens doing drugs and lots of gore and blood so it really just depends on how easily scared you are. Theres not too many jump scares in season 1 (I'm not sure about the rest of them) but I would start off watching season 1 (Murder House), then season 3 (Coven), and if you are scared of clown, watch season 4 (Freak Show) last and season 2 (Asylum) third. But watching them all in order doesn't matter since every season follows a different story line, and some seasons (such as season 2) is much more scary then season 1 or 3.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byollybitchhh August 6, 2015

Suitable for teenagers.

I'm a huge American Horror Story fan. However, I believe ages ratings for the show depend on seasons. Murder House, the first season, I think should be a 15+; the same for Asylum, the second season; and Freakshow, the fourth season. The third season, Coven is extremely mild and doesn't show much extreme horror elements however it stills shows sexual content along with cuss words. Parents need to know that some kids these days watch pornography at the age of 9 or something and kids nowadays can cope with horror elements. If you're a young teenager or parent who has a young teenager, I recommend American Horror Story Coven (Season Three) for it is the most weakest in horror, sex, violence and cuss words.
Teen, 16 years old Written byMegH01 October 8, 2014

Please Read!!!

People on here are saying that it's for "adults only" and that's honestly not true. The show is inappropriate in a lot of ways, and I agree that it is most definitely NOT for children. But it is okay for most teenagers. If you could hear what kids talk about in school and what they watch at home behind their parents backs, then this would be absolutely NO PROBLEM.
Teen, 14 years old Written bytbhlana June 17, 2014

Very good show, but very violent and sexual

American Horror Story is a show that revolves around sex and violence. So kids that are still in middle school SHOULDN'T be watching this show. The violence in this show is very bloody and can be disturbing (especially in season 2) and the sex in this show is very graphic and shows some nudity (butts and breasts) Bottom line: this show is not made for the younger crowd.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byNivek May 4, 2014

Cool

Very cool but is inappropriate for children under 12.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byaryenne December 13, 2013

Mature audience only

This is not for children. If your teen is mature and interested in viewing, it should be ok. But there is nothing about this show that improves your life or makes it worth watching.
What other families should know
Too much sex

Pages