All member reviews for American Horror Story

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Dark, twisted adult drama is designed to shock and disturb.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 107 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bySarahH 4 January 4, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

It's really good, BUT really bad.

If you can't handle extremely disturbing things, such as rape (yes you actually see people being raped), murder, chopping body parts, demons etc. Do not watch American Horror Story. The story lines can be very enticing and very dramatic, the acting is absolutely fantastic, but the material is very disturbing. I had weird dreams for days from some of the episodes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bysusanna December 31, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written bylucy11110 December 30, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Depends on the child

American Horror Story- my favorite TV series of all time. That being said, I would like to make my point that whether or not a child should watch this series is very dependent on the child. I'm saying this should be watched from about 15+ but I'm being a hypocrite because I first watched this when I was 13. This series does contain violence, course language, mature themes, drugs, alcohol etc. And people often criticize it for it's sexual content but, honestly, sexual activity has never really affected me simply because it's a part of life. Most (if not all) people in the world will have sex, have fantasies or have feelings for somebody else. But, as already stated, whether or not to watch this depends on the child. I started watching when I was 13, my brother saw the first season when he was 12, my 43 year old mother loves it but my 52 year old father doesn't. This series is very hit-and-miss and depends heavily on the person.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bymolamola1 December 25, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
You will either love it or hate it. Depends on your reaction to other horror stuff. My parents are always incredibly strict on R-rated movies and shows and similarily when I was little they were prickly on PG-13 movies and shows. I was a little shocked during some of the scenes and frightned because of the graphic sex and violence. (Do not watch eposoide 2 Season 1 alone). I'm quite mature so it didn't take that long to get used to the gore and shock quality but definatley not appropriate for anyone in middle school or 14 for that matter.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bylinas101 December 22, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Mature But Masterpiece

this show to me (and im 15 years old) is truly at first glance a creepy perverted blood show but there not completly right this show includes incredable storylines plot twists and cast a must see/try/ tv masterpiece!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bygmvyoshi December 18, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Prepare To Be Scared!

"American Horror Story" is a great show, but it is for adults only. (The only reason I watch it is because I'm a curious person. I have only watched the first two episodes of Season 1:Murder House, but as I watch more, I'll keep this updated.) There is absolutely nothing positive about this show, so....(The following contains spoilers) Sex/Nudity-Ben had an affair with one of his students, a young fresh-out-of-college girl(who eventually gets pregnant), after his wife, Vivien, had a miscarriage. A man in a black suit has sex with Vivien and lays on top of her, thrusting(this is not a rape). The maid, Moira, is shown going from being an elder lady to a 21 year old. Everyone, except Ben, sees her as an elder. Ben sees her as a 21 year old who is trying to have sex with him. Ben walks into a room and sees young Moira masturbating. Her shirt is unbuttoned and cleavage is revealed, as it is most of the time when she is shown young. Each episode begins with something that happened in the Murder House. The second episode begins with young Moira being raped by her father(both shown in their underwear) and her mother walks in and kills them both. In another past part of the show, a girl is forced to change in front of an adult man. She is shown in a bra. (This review isn't finished yet. I will finish it soon.)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bybookfangirl8 December 13, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great for older kids

I just started watching this show about 2 months ago and... it surprised me. The language and content was intriguing and it left me wanting more. It really isn't that scary but it has a lot of language and sexual scenes. Season 1 was fantastic, season 2 was great but I hated the aliens. I'm not done with season 3 or 4 yet. I hope that this is helpful!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byElperriti December 9, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Sex based

It amazes me how many parents let their kids watch sex based tv shows when the kids are only 14. I am 14 and I am not allowed (nor do I want to) to watch things like this that are all sex and cussing. Please do not let your kid watch this because it'll get their minds in the gutter and psychology says that even though it doesn't affect them immediately, watching enough episodes will give an imprint of sex in their minds.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byhaylam December 7, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing

This show is amazing, but not usually appropriate
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old November 21, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Great show for very mature audiences

I know what you are thinking... Why is a 13 year old rating this show for 16 year olds? Well I am very mature for my age meaning I can understand adult content and not freak out about it.... But most kids would not. My parents understand this and there for let me watch it but I have to warn you that there is a lot of masturbation, mild nudity, sex, and gore. The fire is not as bad, however there are lots of scary scene to stick with you through the night. All I'm saying is : Be prepared!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byHorace Williams November 21, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Really cool.

American Horror Story is one great show. Interesting plot, great acting, and it's fun to watch.
Teen, 13 years old Written byGeorgia1dx November 20, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Amazing show, disturbing

Okay so I started watching this by myself, my dad was interested and after my 3rd episode watched it with me, he strongly disagreed with some of the content. I didn't find it disturbing and have watched up to season 3. I guess it really depends on the person, when you let your child watches it you should watch it first, if you think your child can cope obviously it's okay, but everyone is different. When you are young your brain is still developing, this means if you see an abusive relationship in a movie/tv show, when you grow up you might subconsciously think it's normal and let your partner abuse you or abuse your partner. I will write a review on each season up to 3. CONTAINS SPOILERS! Season 1: Murder house 16+ Sexual content can be strong, however it is generally brief and non-explicit. There are a few rape scenes and scenes of sexual threat during the season, however they are non-explicit and generally quite brief. These include a man trying to rape his maid before being interrupted, a man raping an unconscious woman, a man forcing a woman to undress for him(nothing sexual comes from this), and a woman being raped by a teenage boy wearing a rubber suit (she believes him to be her husband). Rape is often an important plot point. That said, there are also several nude scenes, mostly male butts. The rest of the season contains cigarettes, self mutilation, some more mild sex and alcohol, language consists of bitch, cocksucker, and shit. Dirty talk such as, "Don't you wanna know what I'd do to her? I'd lay her down on the bed and carress her soft skin.. Make her purr like a little kitten. She's a virgin. They get wet so easily."-Tate Langdon. Season 2: Asylum 17+ features more frequent and more explicit sex scenes. Some of these show brief nudity. Sex scenes have included strong oral sex scenes. Male and female masturbation is portrayed graphically in several scenes, without nudity. Nudity is quite frequent, but generally brief, however a few scenes can be quite extended. Male and female buttocks are clearly seen several times, and obscured or blurry views of female breasts and genitals can be seen. There are a few scenes depicting rape or sexual abuse, including a woman being forced to fondle a nude man whilst masturbating, a nude man violently raping a woman, a woman recalls being raped by her father, a man removing his shirt and caressing a nude female corpse, a man forcibly sucking a woman's breast, a woman being forced to kiss a corpse, a man attempting to rape a screaming woman, a woman raping a man, and a man having intercourse with a dead body. Some rape scenes include nudity. Very disturbing scene of a lesbian woman being forced to masturbate to naked men to 'cure' her. A man is diagnosed as a chronic masturbator and we see him violently masturbating in a few scenes. However, his genitals are not shown. This is more comedic than anything else. Profanity and hand gestures are used This season is the worse of the three. Season 3: coven Is supposedly aimed for teens, but includes fertility, threesomes, cunnilingus, oral sex, incest, rape, necrophilia, bestiality, sexually-based punishments. A mother sexually abuses her son for the first 2 episodes however it is just two scenes, including her touching him under a blanket and grinding a little on him while fully clothed, he does not accept, and looks thoroughly uncomfortable. There is a gang rape scene including a protagonist, Madison Motgomery, and a group of frat boys, she is drugged and taken to a room where no nudity is shown but they record it. The season consists of two graphic sex scenes one includes a young girl walking in on a boy and girl having inter course against a wardrobe only boys butt is shown, There is a disturbing violent sex scene involving a ritual for fertility. A woman and a man cut their fingers and spread blood around them. They get nude and begin having sex. The man's buttocks are shown as well as her bare legs, his legs and his chest, and an extremely quick glimpse of her chest. When he climaxes, there is a loud, echoed moan from both of them. Crude gestures are made and talk of sex is occasional. The threesome is suggestive and shot from under the bed a towel drops from around the girl and the two girls one boys feet are pulled up, after suggesting the girls share him, scene ends. Frequent use of whore slut and shit. But is less frightening then the other seasons. Horrific torture scenes are included but not sexual. Also drugs such as cocaine cigarettes and alcohol. Season 4: freak show I have not seen this but based on what I've heard it is extremely violent, and sexual. I would suggest 18+ and haven't even watched it yet. I hope this helps remember if you are a parent watch first and decide on how your child will cope. You know yourself and your child more then any expert!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byToph November 18, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
American Horror Story is a great show but it does have some inappropriate and 'scary' content. The "gore" scenes are not that graphic either. You just need to know your child before letting them watch this, ask yourself if they get scared by these things and if they are mature enough. I would recommend this show for kids around the ages of 14-17 because this show is trending in that age area because many children that age enjoy it and are mature enough for it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Adult Written byfayellen November 16, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Let's just say I wouldn't let my 13 sister watch this. Way too much sex lol...but overall it's a good show.

Don't let your kids watch this...just don't.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byenjolras November 12, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

suitable for wiser kids

Me as a 13 yr old would've been fine watching this. The only disturbing detail are the sexual assault and rape scenes The violation, smoking, swearing and even the sex is suitable for teenagers these days
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byjose Angel13yrs November 8, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Mature but not at the same time.

PARENTS should know many teens hve seen much worse. Many people at my school (whitch is a very proper but not a rich school) haved described and bragged about watching porn. This show is extemley more appropriete than what they describe. yes,there is violence,sex,drugs,smoking,and drinking. but there are some good role models in season 1 the mother was. in season 2 the fasley acccused lesbian reporter was. in season 3 the swamp witch was. and in season 4 the three breasted hermaphrodite was. PLUS, PARENTS this show is never boring because every season is radically diffrent tha the other and the only thing truly scary about this show is the intro. TRULY, YOUR CHILD CAN WATCH SEASON 1 AND 3 BY THEMSELVES ONLY SEASON 4 AND 2 SHOULD BE WATCHED WITH AN ADULT FIGURE BECAUSE OF SOME OF THE WAY PEOPLE ARE KILLED.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byAlly Yasmin November 7, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Creepy, Dark and Twisted but one of the best TV shows out there.

American Horror Story has everything from from sex to violence however it is a very calculated, intelligent horror series that draws viewers in and makes them think about the darkness in the world,especially season 4,and how it affects people which I think is a good thing as it gives you an insight to the real world and not everything is fine and peachy therefore because of this I think 15 is the minimum age dependent upon how mature you think your child can handle certain situations such as death and graphic violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written by_charle_s November 1, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

It's a great show...

I'm 13, and from all the posts on instagram and people keep on say "DO YOU WATCH IT! YOU NEED TO WATCH IT" so I thought i'd give it a try. So from the first episode i knew what i was in for... It is not appropriate for kids under 13. There is alot of subtle nudity and alot of sex but it shows nothing. There is alot of swearing and alot of violence and alot of drinking and smoking. I can see why parents can think that it is so inappropriate but they have to understand that we have seen worse.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bymarc1 October 17, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great show, TV-MA for a reason.

Great show, with shocking twist, but you do not want your kids in the room watching this adult drama. Gore, and scary images may be surprising, and strong sexual content, including maturbation is seen.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written bykjhebb October 16, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Gets more disturbing in later seasons

The first season "Murder House" does show a fair amount of sexual content however it generally is shown fairly mildly with limited nudity - the only scene that is sexually disturbing to me is the rape scene about halfway through the season. Violence is extremely prevalent with a lot of death, in particular the school shooting is emotionally upsetting even though you don't see much violence. There is also lots of swearing. In my opinion, season one is fine for 14-15 year olds but parents should check it out first. In this season all the violence and sex is relevant to the plot - which I think is an important element in whether it's "okay". There are some bad role models and imagery parents may want to consider, for example Violet smokes and Tate takes drugs. After season one, I believe the series becomes a lot less appropriate. Season 2 keeps most of the violence and sex plot-relevant however it's a lot more frequent. There are many disturbing scenes such as a woman aborting her own baby, a mental patient subject to medical experiments, a rapist Santa Claus and "Bloodyface" - a serial killer with horrific torture methods and a awful rape scene. I think this season is 15/16+. If your family is particularly religious this is another important aspect to consider - the mental asylum is run by nuns and one gets possessed by the devil along with lots more religious-related imagery. I haven't seen season 3, but I get the feeling that it follows the same pattern. I have been watching Season 4, the current season, and I think it's the most depraved so far. There's a lot cruelty shown, mild sex scenes and lots of death. The worst bit is a film clip shown of a opium-fueled orgy which is pretty strong but other than that there isn't any strong sexual content yet. The only "scary" bits are the scenes with Twisty the clown who is more unsettling than overly violent. For sure unsuitable for under-15's and even that may be a little young. I'm not scared easily - and this season is pretty disturbing and freaky even for me. Overall, I think Season One is okay for slightly younger viewers but after that parents should watch the show first to make sure they're okay with it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages